We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Far Dog - CLOSED

The Far Dog
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I had the Short Ribs, some of the best I have ever had. My wife had the steak salad, also very good. Service is prompt, friendly, and knowledgable. It is a very small place, but there is food service at the bar. We will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surpise”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having tickets at the theater, we had intended to eat at another of the recommended restaurants in town, but a local resident told us this was the best place in Creede, and boy was she right on that! Service was most friendly and fast enough to not be late for the musical. It's a small place with only a handful of tables (plus a bar), but the food is delicious--the turkey sandwich was the best I've ever had--and the portions are huge--my wife and I could have easily split it to leave room for dessert. Our only complaint (if you could call it that) is they didn't stay open until after the show, so we missed out on what were obviously delicious desserts--next time we'll know better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug_K17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummmm”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Such a cute, fun place with a great menu. Don't miss it while visiting Creede, Co. The grilled cheese, tomato basil soup and cobbler for dessert were fantastic and so many more things I wanted to try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gusngirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall GREAT!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Super friendly staff. Excellent service and food quality. We stopped by for lunch. Had the barbacoa tacos + black bean soup. The habanero relish on the side is a must. We were on a 7 day journet through CO, and this was one of our favorites.

The owner even ran outside to thank us for visiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rikenjaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A shining star of a dining experience.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We loved Far Dog and its owners and wait staff. We ate there twice and would have gone again if we had been in Creede longer. Food was amazing, right down to the blackberry cobbler. Ben was a great server with great suggestions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jshmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing