We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun,Fun,Fun”

Tommyknocker Tavern
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Creede
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Tommyknocker Tavern was established in 1999 by a group of locals in the historic mining town of Creede, Colorado. Over the last thirteen years, it has grown to be a popular spot for locals and tourists alike, featuring great live music all summer and fun local events throughout the winter! The Tavern's restaurant (The BBQ Bistro) serves great food in the casual setting of this historic Creede building with a spacious back patio. Delicious sandwiches, salads and our famous BBQ Ribs go great with our selection of both locally and globally brewed beers.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fun,Fun,Fun”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Tommyknocker has the BEST sandwiches! I had the Turkey, Avocado, cucumber, swiss cheese with a side of chicken noodle soup. EXCELLENT!! The ambiance is a rustic bar feeling with friends all around. Restrooms are super clean. Staff is wonderful. Very reasonably priced!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great brisket and ribs”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for a late lunch. Ribs were on the daily menu so we ordered those with a brisket sandwich. Both were very good as was the service. We will go back when in Creede.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karli036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious brisket”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The food was delicious. But, the wait was one hour. We can't imagine what too an hour to pile brisket on a bun and scoop potato salad into a bowl. It was admittedly packed but we did not have a complicated order. Perhaps other groups who came in at the same time had their orders taken first and ours was buried? That was just very disappointing because we only had three hours left of our day before having to depart and one was spent waiting. Disappointing. Thankfully, the brisket was honestly the best we'd ever had. Ever. I had the pork and my husband had the beef. Both very lean and had excellent bar-b-que sauce.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creede, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The best BBQ in the area. Local watering hole as well and a great place too meet some of the locals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great bar - friendly people - Relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Didn't have time to stay for a meal - but this is a comfortable bar with very friendly people. I would be comfortable going there by myself (a woman on my own). So if you are bored in Creede - this might be someplace to head to. The good news is that it is open all year. Most of the places in Creede are not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tommyknocker Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing