We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Intimate Rock Resort In the Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smith Fork Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crawford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smith Fork Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An Intimate Rock Resort In the Rockies”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent a few days this spring at the Smith Fork while at a conference. It was superb in every way - the staff, the owners !, the cuisine, the furnishings, architecture, setting. quietude, locals. What an owner-operated mountain hideaway should be - but seldom is. To put it in perspective - it was as if RockResorts (remember them ?) had done a secluded Rocky Mountain retreat - and Lawrence Rockefeller was the on-site host. Get the picture ?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

One of the best family vacations we have ever taken with our 3 teenage boys! Smith Fork Ranch is more than could ever be written in a review. The staff is what makes it perfect. They are knowledgeable, caring and creative. A small, intimate setting, yet never lonely. Activities were always available but there was never any pressure. We did horseback riding, fly fishing, lasso lessons, and sleigh rides to name a few. Our boys were even able to help care for the visiting mules and play with the ranch dogs. The food was excellent and creative. We had quail, pork cheeks, homemade soups, full course breakfasts and there was always a "kid friendly" choice. They would even pack some food for us to bring back to the cabin for our boys' midnight forage... I walk with a cane, and they were always offering to drive me to my cabin and accommodate the activities for me. We are already planning on returning next year (if not sooner)!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swoozequooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Spent Christmas Eve & Day at the Ranch & had a magical experience. Staff continues to excel at customer service. Accommodations were “Five Star” and the food was “out of this world!” Even with 17 inches of snow on the ground, we were able to enjoy two spectacular horse rides & enjoyed snow shoeing around the ranch grounds. We could have fished if we would have been hardy enough! Everything about this Ranch is First Class. Remains our favorite vacation spot; we will return again & again.

Room Tip: Select a suite or a cabin for extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Superior lacation, accomodations & staff!

Horseback Riding & Fly Fishing is amazing. Thier website does not do they justice.

Instruction for riding & fishing is superior & focused on guest. Personal touch in everything.

Accomodations are exceptional; roomy & comfortable.

Food is exceptional & service is world class!

Limited internet & NO cell service. It was heaven!

Managment is excellent & responsive to every guest needs.

Will return again, again & again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I are always looking for new places to explore in Colorado. This time, we decided to spend a long weekend at a guest ranch. However, we didn't want to rough it; we wanted "rustic luxury" with excellent cuisine and wine. Our search led us to Smith Fork Ranch in the western Colorado Rocky Mountains. Although the ranch is secluded, we were impressed with the up-to-date rooms with private baths and modern amenities, as well as the high-speed wireless internet. The only thing one does need to know is that cell phone service at the ranch is close to non-existent.

The staff, however, is SFR's greatest asset. General Manager Jim Nielsen shared his passion for fly-fishing with us. Rachel, KT, and Ciara matched us up with horses for a day-long trail ride on the ranch, into the neighboring national forest and along the streams. Jess made arrangements with Gunnison River Expeditions for us to go white water rafting on the Gunnison River.

Dinner was a relaxing four course meal on the porch, with Chef Seth introducing us to his creations. SFR prides itself on working with local producers, so everything was fresh. Cheeses come from a local goat farm. Cider is provided by a local merchant. They have their own garden, but it was too early in the season to yield any produce, so local organic farms filled in. Holly introduced us to the wineries. We discovered that they are the best kept secret in Colorado, since the vineyards are small and the wines stay local.

We expected our stay at SFR to be "Old West." What we got was an adventure, an education, and a gourmet experience all rolled into one. It's a discovery we would like to share.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yijiuwuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview Hills, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the ranch...came from KY, CA, FL, and CO. The instruction for horseback riding, archery, and fly fishing was excellent. We felt very comfortable trying each new activity. The food was delicious...game hen, trout, cooked to order breakfast, and fabulous picnic lunches. We had the perfect place to stay. We each had our own room in the guest house and were able to share great times around the fireplace or rocking on our porch. The scenery around the ranch is breathtaking. We would all recommend SFR to all your readers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was our first experience at a guest ranch. What a way to start! The ranch is nestled in a wonderful little canyon where you feel completely isolated from the rest of the world. The only sound you hear is the wind blowing through the trees. We were lucky enough to be there just as the aspen and cottonwoods were turning gold. It is a truly serene and majestic location.
I would be happy in a tent and cooking on a campfire in such a location, but that would be roughing-it. There is no roughing-it at this ranch, not for the guests anyway. The food was way beyond our expectations and I loved the wine. The cabins were charming but the furniture was a bit uncomfortable.
The truly remarkable thing about the ranch is the people that work there. They seem to truly care about what they are doing and are very good at it. I don’t think I have ever felt more welcomed and attended to. My wife was a little ill one day and the staff looked in on her while I was away for the day. I didn’t ask them to do it, they just wanted to.
My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Smith Fork. They set the standard very high for any other guest ranch that we might go to. I look forward to going back to Smith Fork.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20thAnivRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smith Fork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith Fork Ranch

Property: Smith Fork Ranch
Address: 45362 Needle Rock Rd, Crawford, CO 81415-9114
Location: United States > Colorado > Crawford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Crawford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smith Fork luxury ranch is located on Colorado's Western Slope, approximately 7 1/2 miles east of the town of Crawford at an elevation of 7200'. The Ranch is nestled within the beautiful Gunnison National Forest adjoining the wild, untamed West Elk Wilderness Area. The luxury ranch and its surrounding areas are home to stunning mountains, abundant rivers, high altitude streams and lakes, and breathtaking views. The Ranch itself has three miles of frontage along the Smith Fork of the Gunnison River and seven trout ponds. Intimate Colorado ranch offering rustic luxury in the Rockies. Customize your unique family adventure. You can enjoy horseback riding, fishing and hiking the same land that the Ute Indians, Teddy Roosevelt and John Muir fell in love with. Experience a horseback riding vacation in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Discover our special part of Colorado where generations of western ranch culture blend with exceptional artists, craftsmen and artisanal makers of Colorado's best foods and wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smith Fork Ranch Hotel Crawford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing