We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on 27 day tour”
Review of Elk Run Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elk Run Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Craig
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place on 27 day tour”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were taking an auto tour to visit friends and family and this was a 4 day stay near the end of the trip. After 5,700 miles, this was the very best place we stayed at, and the price was less than all the others (16) . I had to change arrival and departure dates and there was no problem whatsoever. We had 2 queen size beds, 2 rooms, 2 TVs with CD decks , a full sized kitchen with an oven, cook top, sink with garbage disposer, full sized refrigerator with ice cubes, a quite air conditioner and all in Arts and Crafts decor. Our suite was decorated in a fisherman's format. I just cannot say enough to rate the excellent and enjoyable experience we had at this place, and it is all on 1 floor !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for letting other travelers know about your stay in Craig. We are very pleased that you found your room to be the best from your whole trip. We do our best to make our guests comfortable and make their stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you pass through Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
32
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lovely little place that has all of the amenities. We stayed in the wolf room. Small but cozy. Neat little kitchen containing everything. We are only here for one night but I could see spending a few days. We broke down in the parking lot and the owner loaned us tools to do a repair. Lots of stores and restaurants close by. Good price too, I would recommend this place to any traveller.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let your fellow travelers know what you experienced. We were glad to be able to help when you had mechanical problems. We look forward to seeing you again when you come through Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This place is a jewel! comfortable, well appointed, the coffee makers are full size! Easy online booking and a central location with oversize parking available. This is a great place to spend a little or a lot of time. Perfect for a trail stop with the post office behind and the grocery store next door refuel and refresh while readying for your next adventure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finisherusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your fellow travelers. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our motel to others. We hope to see you again the next time you come through Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Liked this hotel. We have passed it many times and were lucky to find a room at midnight. Desk clerk was nice. Room was more than we needed for just a night. It was clean and homey. As a mom traveling with my children and a dog I felt very safe. One of the kids favorite places to stay on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014Travelmom825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is not always easy when dealing with little ones to find that kind of time. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Finding a room late at night can indeed be a challenge and we were glad that we could accommodate your family. We hope you stop and see us the next time you are traveling through Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We rented several rooms and found that each room is decorated on a different theme. I ended up in a room with a Railroad theme. The room was clean and well furnished. Internet/Wireless was good.

It's obvious the owners have put a lot of work into the rooms. The only suggestion I would have is that they need to work on the exterior view from the east, as it looks kinda rundown when you are coming back from the store.

There are several restaurants in short walking distance.

I would happily stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our property. We appreciate it when customers take the time to let others know about their experiences. We appreciate your comments and are working on repainting the east side of the motel. This might be what you are referring to. Other than that we will take an objective look and see what else we can do to spruce up the east side. We do indeed have different themes in each room - all related to activities or animals in our immediate area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you through Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We travel for business at least 3 wks out of the month. So we basically live in motels. We are always looking for value, cleanliness, and friendly folks. This place has it all. The kitchen is a plus with us being away from home so much it's nice to be able to have a home cooked meal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell fellow travelers about your experience with us. We appreciate the kind words and are glad that you enjoyed our kitchens. We give you the option of eating out only when you want to. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Was very pleasantly surprised by this motel. The room (should say "rooms" since our suite had 2 large separate bedrooms) was very large and comfortable. Having a real kitchen was a great plus. Although you can tell that this is an older facility, it is very obvious that the owners take pride in maintaining the facility and keeping everything clean. We had no issues during our stay, but I'm confident the staff would have promptly resolved them for us. If you don't want to spend the money to stay in one of the chain hotels in Craig, this is by far the best lower-cost option in town - and, believe me, there are some other lower-cost options in Craig that would have to pay me to stay!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have 2 entrances, but it was very handy to be able to use the back entrance th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We are so glad that you were pleased with your stay. Being a family owned and operated facility we do take pride in making your stay clean and comfortable. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you pass through Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Craig hotels
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Craig
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Deer Park Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Craig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bear Valley Inn
Bear Valley Inn
#7 of 10 in Craig
15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Craig-Northwest
1.2 mi away
Travelers Inn & suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Run Inn

Property: Elk Run Inn
Address: 627 W Victory Way, Craig, CO 81625-2931
Location: United States > Colorado > Craig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Craig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Run Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Run Inn is a family owned and operated motel in Craig, Colorado. We have 23 rooms and all of them have full kitchens. All rooms have a stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffeepot. All of our rooms have been remodeled as theme rooms. All theme rooms represent animals, people or things native to our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Elk Run Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Run Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing