We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good place for my stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Valley Inn

Bear Valley Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Craig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Valley Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Craig
n/a
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good place for my stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I was there in mid-July, 2011. I had a room in the single-level section across the back (not the two story building on the road). My room was very large with lots of furniture (large table under very large wall mounted flat screen TV), a writing desk with lamp and chair, two bed side tables, a small refirgerator with a microwave on top, large king bed (it could have easily had two queen beds in it). The rug was perhaps a little old. The dual-sink area was clean and reasonably modern. I could tell that the toilet/shower room had been recently painted. All in all quite nice. So I am very perplexed at the couple who gave a 1-star and said they had bugs. There was a large pile of "stuff" outside one room between me and the office, evidence of renovation in some units. Perhaps they got an old unit.

There was a couple next to me that I talked to that evening outside our rooms. There was a man in the room on the other side with whom I spoke early the next morning. Two other motorcyclists had a room in the two-story unit who I later saw sitting round the fire pit. All of them seemed quite happy with their stay.

The manager was friendly and helpful (with recommendations to eat). He invited me to sit out by the fire pit in the evening (I did not; went to bed very early for an early start the next day). I feel as though he would have been helpful had I had any problems. They seem to be making a concerned effort to change conditions and prior bad ratings.

PS
Check out the tree-stump carvings in the City Park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cj02139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My hubby and I stayed at the Bear Vally Inn this month along with another couple. No problems at all. Girl working the desk was very nice. Room was clean. Frig, microwave coffee maker.....no pool. A great propane fire pit outside to sit around and visit with friends. Also 2 gas grills and 1 charcoal grill should you decide to grill dinner. Room was large. Only one problem really...in the bathroom there was a small cabinet type sink so there was basically no where to set things. That was a little awkward but nothing to complain about. Price was fair.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badboy10wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

On arrival I was pleased with the outdoor appearance of the hotel, however, the moment we unlocked our room door and walked in, it was apparent that the web-site terribly misrepresented this hotel. We were appalled and immediately started calling other hotels in the area, all of which were completely booked for a Mine Rescue Convention. The room was dingy and dirty looking. The baseboards were crumbling, the furniture was the absolute bare minimum and very antiquated, the lighting was the worst I have EVER see (one lamp), there was visible rust on the tissue holder, ant-slip tape in the bath tub was completely loose and lying in the bottom of the tub, and after lying on the bed for just a few minutes, I had bug bites. Because I have no idea what bedbugs look like, I went to the front desk (making sure that I did not speak in front of other guests, due to respect) and asked for assistance. After her looking and questioning the manager, we came to the conclusion that it was NOT bedbugs. However, the manager did not even want to discuss the situation. I was very nice and discreet. Although, it was not bedbugs, my husband and I awoke with several bug bites and we are thinking it was most likely fleas. The TV signal freezes up. The curtains were uneven and would not close and the A/C was noisy and dripped. There is nothing personable about any of the staff that works here..at all. The brochure says they have a continental breakfast, they did not. The website says the rooms have fridges and microwaves. The 1st room we were given did not and we had to ask for another room. The 1st morning we were there, there was trash littering the outside picnic and firepit area. I understand that it is under new ownership and that may be the problem. If we could have checked out on day one, we would have. We chose this hotel based on reviews on this site. I was more than disappointed. I am trying to save someone else the trouble. We are not picky people and are very frequent travelers. We are not hard to please. My advice is: if you want a pleasant experience, DO NOT stay here.

Room Tip: There ar no decent rooms availabale. Every guest I visited with while there, was very disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redheadfreckleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We were driving through Colorado on our motorcycle and stopped in Craig to stay for the night. We came across this Inn and was pleasantly surprised. Very nice on the outside and the couple who manages it was so helpful. They gave us a corner room so we could get the bike in and out without any problem. The room was nice, clean, the bed was very comfortable. When we were unloading our motorcycle they brought us over extra towels to wash it off.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snomofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Craig hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Deer Park Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Craig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Craig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Craig NW
0.9 mi away
Elk Run Inn
Elk Run Inn
#5 of 10 in Craig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#6 of 10 in Craig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Valley Inn

Property: Bear Valley Inn
Address: 755 E Victory Way, Craig, CO 81625-1227
Location: United States > Colorado > Craig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Craig
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear Valley Inn has been under new corporate ownership since September of 2008. The rooms have been beautifully renovated, and we take pride in our high level of service. We currently provide 24-hour telephone services, free high speed wireless internet, HBO/Cable TV, A guest laundry facility, In-Room Coffee, Electronic Security Locks, Refrigerators and microwave ovens, and a lovely outdoor patio for BBQ. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing