We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Saturday lunch”
Review of Three Horseshoes

Three Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Set In The Beautiful Hamlet Of Hooks Cross On The Stevenage To Hertford Road, Just Off The A602. Step Inside This True Country Pub For Rustic Furnishings, Two Roaring Log Fires Shared Across Our Large Lounge Area And Intimate Rear Dining Room (available For Private Hire). On Warmer Days Enjoy Acres Of Alfresco Dining Within Our Beer Garden And Gather The Children To Meet Our Terrapins, Calling The Three Horseshoes Pond “home” For Over 20 Years. We Are Lovers Of Hearty British Heritage Food, Sunday Roasts And Being Hosts To Regular Food Themed Nights (sign Up To Our Newsletter To Receive The Latest Foodie Event Info!) Our Selection Of Local Mcmullen Ale And World Wine Are Perfect After A Ramble Around The Countryside.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 1pm and the restaurant and bar we're busy. Food was excellent as usual and the cod(fish & chips) was massive. Service was friendly but slow as lots of guests we're in the garden enjoying the September Sunshine. We ended up settling our bill at the bar as our waitress had gone AWOL.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank WeWantAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threehorseshoes_WS, Owner at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Evening WeWantAnotherHoliday,
Thank you for your kind words about our food and we appreciate your understanding with regard to us being busy. Although coming in at a peak time of busyness we do try to keep our standards of service at our usual high expectations so deepest apologies that it affected your visit. When you dine again we hope that this doesn't happen again.
Deepest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal food was really nice and service was good only bad comment was wet wine glasses which we had replaced will return

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ruthp566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threehorseshoes_WS, Owner at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Evening Ruth,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this 4 star review. We appreciate your comments and apologise for the inconvenience caused by the wine glass mishap. Hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

Food is of a reasonable well price for the quality, have eaten here on many occasions and never had a bad meal yet, or had rude staff, the staff have always been welcoming even when I have turned up with muddy boots after a walk. And when asked to supply something not on the menu they have done there best to accommodate.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threehorseshoes_WS, Owner at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2019

Good Morning Stephen,
Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review. We pride ourselves on our staff providing friendly and efficient service as well as our hard-working kitchen.
Hope to see you again soon, in muddy boots or your Sunday bests!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

I visited this place today and paid £16.95 for a roast dinner
Beef very tough and had trouble cutting
Potatoes “Aunt Bessies or similar
(1 of my friends is a chef and told the table of 8 they are not fresh potatoes but frozen)
Hardly any vegetables
For £16.95!!!
I will not be returning or any of my

friends an absolute rip - off

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 462alanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threehorseshoes_WS, Owner at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi 462alanr,
We are sorry that you had this unpleasant experience with us on this Sunday. We prepare and cook our own fresh potatoes every Sunday so all I can do is apologise that ours were not to a good standard for you and your friends. A check back should have been done during the early stages of your meal and we encourage for our guests to raise any issues with their food so we can rectify them at the time, saving our customers from a negative experience. If you do decide to dine with us again and explore the rest of our menu, don't hesitate to call on 01920 083 391 to book a table.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Thank you for your service yesterday .We had a section to ourselves and the food was excellent .Rob looked after us and can honestly say everyone was very impressed .The day was made a lot better with our visit to The Three Horseshors Thank You

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank tomdotpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threehorseshoes_WS, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2019

Hello tomdotpower,

I have passed on the message to Rob and he delighted that he made the day better for you. Hope you and your family are keeping well. Hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Horseshoes also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Datchworth, Hertfordshire
Watton at Stone, Hertfordshire
 
Watton at Stone, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing