We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lee Valley White Water Centre, Waltham Cross, Herts., UK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lee Valley White Water Centre

Lee Valley White Water Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Lee Valley White Water Centre was host to the London 2012 Olympic Games and you can now experience a range of activities at this venue. Rafting the Olympic course is a must for anyone ticking things of their bucket list! You'll get several runs down the course. We progressively up the fear factor each time and by your final run you’ll be surfing, high siding, spinning and nose dunking with the very best! You can also choose from our range of other white water activities and a choice of canoeing and kayaking sessions, from family paddling on our lake to mastering our two white water courses.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lee Valley White Water Centre, Waltham Cross, Herts., UK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

In fairness to the owners of the centre, they are currently in the throws of re-modelling the centre after its successful use as a London Olympics venue in 2012. This means that any visitor can expect some form of disruption and inconvenience which is only to be expected.

Let me mention first of all something about the location. Visitors during the Olympics were advised to alight from the trains at Greater Anglia's station at Cheshunt and then walk 2.4 kilometres (1.5 miles) to the centre. The reason for this is because it was felt, quite rightly, that the nearby station at Waltham Cross, which is only 1 km. (0,63 miles) could not handle the huge crowds. I would advise any train traveller now though to alight at Waltham Cross as the centre will not have to worry about crowds as large as those attending during the Olympics.

For those arriving by car, the car park has a temporary foundation of crushed cinder block at the moment which makes for some uneven walking. Then once you entire the centre proper, you have to walk around a maze of footpaths which cling to the banks of the water course. It can take quite a while to reach the cafe/restaurant looming over the centre on a lofty mound in the middle of the location. Once there though, it is nice to have a coffee or tea while seated on the all-weather outdoor furniture on the large patio area.

The centre is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. I would advise you to visit the website to make sure you are kept up-to-date with all the events concerning the centre.

http://www.visitleevalley.org.uk/go/whitewater/

Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurobazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit to the Lee Valley White Water Centre. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit.

As you rightly comment, we are currently undergoing building works on site. The aim of this is to enhance the customer experience in the Legacy of the Olympic Games. We're having an outdoor café area built at the bottom of the Olympic Course, an extension to the existing café, 2 additional changing rooms and improved car parking facilities to mention just a few key elements.

These works, while busy do not impact on the, on-the-water experience, although some plant vehicle movement is apparent from time-to-time on the front beach area. Many aspects of this work are due to be completed at the end of June, so we hope you’ll come back and see the transformation.

People wishing to visit can also find out more details of our transformation works, transport links and information on all the experiences and sessions we offer on our website too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    79
    11
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

12 of us visited this centre at the weekend and had an excellent time. The course itself is fast and great fun and all the staff we came across, as well as the chap in charge of our raft were all first class. It was an excellent experience from start to finish. The level of care taken over everyone is very good and staff are on hand to fish you out of the water if and when you fall in so you always feel safe throughout the experience. At approx £50 per person this is also a really good value way to spend a few hours of your time. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damandang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Lee Valley White Water Centre. We take pride in our staff and their knowledge of white water so to read that whilst you were here you felt the experience was great is very pleasing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it....... even in the snow !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great !!!!! ....Freezing cold ...in fact it was snowing all day ...but I still loved it.
The equipment levels and briefing by our guide Kaye were very confidence inspiring to the novice and note you are expected to jump in the water BEFORE your rafting experience.
At £50 this is a 'must do' experience...great value
There were signs of construction work to the car park and viewing areas (post Olympic) but I'm sure they will have this sorted before too long. Overall it was very well organised.
There was a large spectator area overlooking the course but a big section of this is external making the indoor areas a little congested at times on a bad weather day like ours.
Food and hot drinks were available here at a reasonable cost, especially as you are a 'captive' audience.
Photos are not though and can work out quite expensive ...TIP ..take along a friend with a half decent camera and you will get some great shots ..as all parts of the course are easily accessible....
Have a great time ......

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GromitNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Lee Valley White Water Centre. The building works you experienced are to improve our facilities and make the customer journey an even more enjoyable one. These include an outdoor pavilion where you can purchase hot drinks and food, more space in the current café area and more changing rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great fun activity close to London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Visited the centre before the Olympics, probably in the first couple of weeks after it opened. Fact that it was pumped meant that the whitewater was controllable. The activity was great fun, the staff helpful and the food and drink afterwards acceptable. Only criticism would be that I prefer more natural environments like the whitewater centre in snowdonia but this is our capital city after all so you reflect it to feel very man made.

Had great time and the price charged was about right.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Public Relations Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on trip advisor. It is always lovely to hear that people have enjoyed their visit to the Lee Valley White Water Centre. As a man-made course located so close to the capital, we unfortunately do not benefit from the surrounding natural beauty of the Snowdonia National Park. However our geographical location and course design does give us the opportunity to offer people an experience that they would otherwise have to travel many miles to do. It also allows us to have more control over the flow and water quality of our white water courses.

Looking ahead into 2013 we have a Legacy Development plan in place that incorporates landscaping works that will incorporate more greenery and offer a more natural environment. These plans also include an additional catering outlet and extension to the current café, which will allow us to offer a larger menu and enhanced speed of service. We very much hope that you’ll visit again to see these Legacy Transformation works completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing time - thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently visited the centre for a white water rafting session. Although they were very busy with groups the staff were all very friendly and the briefing was entertaining and lighthearted.

The facilities were brilliant. Clean, warm changing rooms. Keyless lockers! Well, fitting wetsuits with gloves.

As we were only two we joined a raft with four other gentlemen on their Christmas do and two teenagers. The dynamic of the group worked very well and was lead by our fantastic leader Arek who took around the course 5x in 2hrs and gave us a wet and fun ride.

Excellent course! We've visited white water facilities in Scotland & Wales and can honestly say this the best we've experienced and lives up to the expectation of an Olympic course. The course was clean, water was excellent quality (to the naked eye and taste buds!), you didn't feel enclosed - it was good open space.

We had an amazing time. An outstanding day. A truly exhilarating, thrilling if not refreshing experience!

We will be back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AllisonPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Public Relations Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review. It’s always nice to receive such positive feedback as the whole team here at Lee Valley aim to give our customers a truly memorable experience. We will ensure that your kind words are relayed to Arek and the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Valley White Water Centre also viewed

 

Been to Lee Valley White Water Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing