We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Wokefield Estate
Oxford
1 review
“Bargain!!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2009

My friend and I recently stayed at Wokefield Park and thought the place was fantastic.

The reception were very friendly and happily organised our taxi into town. The room was spotless and very comfortable.

I cant comment on the restaurant but we did have room service and the food was very good.

We will def be using this hotel again :0)

  • Liked — Rooms - huge clock and the ease to get into Reading
  • Disliked — No biscuits for my tea :0) Very minor!!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EJS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    466
    432
    378
    316
See reviews for
281
488
53
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Although our room was at an incredibly cheap rate the room was a bit scruffy with stained wall near tea making shelf fitment.The bathroom had a cracked washbasin, never a good sign!
But our main problem was with the dining room which had air conditioning blasting out freezing cold air on a January evening,WHY?
The waitress said when we left the restaurant that some ladies had not removed their coats or scarves when dining the previous evening, so the management were aware of the issue!
This was pointed out when we checked out next morning,but our evening had been spoiled by this chilly place!

  • Liked — Cost
  • Disliked — Cold dining room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bathtravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratfield Mortimer hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Both times we stayed here they put us in room 601 in the executive centre...this is the part of the hotel that hasn't been renovated, but for the price it's still pretty nice. 601 is a nice room, but it's right next to the doors going out into the main hallway, so everytime someone goes through the door it sounds like the door to your room is being opened! It's also near where they dump the recycling from the restaurant, and so we often heard that from our room. Also, the double room is really 2 twin beds pushed together.

Other than the above, the first time we stayed was quite nice. The grounds are beautiful. They have complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and fruit in the lobby, and reception was nice and very helpful. Our bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed using the leisure facilities (although the sauna wasn't working, and someone had pushed the emergency button causing a piercing noise and no response from staff).

The second time we stayed -- in the same room -- we arrived to find a wet towel in the bathroom sink. We had to go down to reception and they sent someone up (after about 20 minutes) to take the towel away and give us another towel (the double room only came with one bath towel both times). Also, we were woken up at 8:30am by vacuuming right outside our door and loud talking by two members of staff. I'm a fairly heavy sleeper, but this was loud! We had wanted to sleep in as this was a getaway, and did not appreciate the unasked for wake up call.

It's a nice place to stay, but don't stay in 601 if you're sensitive to noise!

  • Liked — Nice, clean room
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WhydWeGoThereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

On arrival, we had to drive around the carpark in desperate search to find a space to park. In the reception area, we were greeted by helpful receptionists who quickly processed our booking and directed us to our room, a non smoking room might i add. First walking into the room i was hit by a horrible stench of stale smoke, which did not fade over our stay. The bed was hard and the sheets were stained. The bathroom was dirty and the shower dribbled water. And to my surprise, at half 4 in the morning, my partner and i woke to VERY loud clubbing music directly under our floor 3 room. This would have been from another room on floor 2. After complaining to the receptionist, we expected the music to stop and to be able to go back to sleep. The music continued until half 6 in the morning, we ended up sleeping with our headphones in, with no music on of course, to block out the music downstairs. We did not attempt to eat the breakfast included in the price, especially as i overheard other visitors complaining about how awful it was! I would never return here again due to the overall lack of cleanliness and reception service during the night. Wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The Room!!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happyholidaymaker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Just returned from a Saturday night £10 a room stay at the Wokefield.My self,Wife and 3 boys 3,5 and 9 yrs.The rooms were spotless,tidy and warm.The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble.A nice touch having water and tea/coffee machines available on all floors and lots of them.We all had two swims(towels included) in quite a large pool.
Breakfast was excellent value and lots of it (kids eat free)
If you are looking for a nice hotel in Reading ...look no further you've found it.

Helpful?
Thank HertsDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

The hotel is located about 7 miles from Reading town center, in a lovely quiet location. The grounds include the golf course, main conference hotel, the Mansion House and BMW training academy.
We stayed in the Mansion house. The main reception staff lacked the personal touch and we were annoyed to have to wait 30 minutes for our room to be cleaned, even though it was an hour after check in time. We were though able to wait in the cafe area, where you were able to help yourself to free tea & coffee (& biscuits / baked cakes!!). The room we had was newly decorated and clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was slightly small and lacked any nice view of the grounds.
The Mansion House has a Spa, with a very small gym & jacuzzi. You have to go across to the main hotel to use the swimming pool and larger gym. The Spa was nice and I had a lovely facial during my stay.
I was really disappointed with the breakfast. The quality of the food was really not up to the standard of the hotel and I left most of it on the plate. The toast was cooked and piled up, so when we took some it was cold and rock hard!
Overall a lovely location & room, but stay was let down by the staff and catering facilities.

  • Liked — The old Mansion House and ground setting
  • Disliked — The quality of the Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Booked a night here as the winter promotional price was so amazing. After reading reviews was worried the room might be a bit grim but we were very pleasantly surprised to be in a large,modern, warm, well furnished clean double room with spotless bathroom plus free internet, television and large french windows looking onto the courtyard area. Room could just be improved by having 2 bedside lamps instead of 1 (I did ask!)

Only down side for us was the totally impersonal hotel entrance and reception area..........pretty awful having 2 cars parked inside and tv screens on wall but I know it's mainly used for corporate events and the BMW place is next door.

Evening receptionist needs to repeat charm school but morning receptionist at desk was very polite.

For a very cheap night away to visit student children nearby it was fantastic value and we would use it again if the same offer applied.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank stumbletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
20.3 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,638 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,790 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
4.4 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Wokefield Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Property: De Vere Wokefield Estate
Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing