We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and Great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Wokefield Estate
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service and Great setting”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times now. I fully suggest upgradding to the Mansion House where the rooms are truly beautiful (and free fruit is included!). We often go back for a spa visit, everyone is friendly and there is free buscuits and sweets everywhere! Great surroundings... there is also a beautiful pub just around the corner which would be amazing in the summer - sadly we were there in the winter but it was still very cozy. Hotel has everything you will need. Sadly, on quiet weekends the breakfast doesnt have a wide choice and is not always buffett, but still good quality. Fully recomend staying here, fully recomend a Spa treatment too. Will be back soon... Amazing team too.

Room Tip: Mansion House are the best rooms... they include free fruit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunmay8831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we do look forward to seeing you here at Wokefield in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    473
    436
    381
    318
See reviews for
284
493
54
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had made a late booking for this hotel, but managed to be housed in the Mansion House. Our room was pleasant had good views over the golf course. Our evening meal was very good and we found the service to be good, as was the food. We took a walk over the complex later on, and felt that we would have been disappointed if we had booked into the main complex. Breakfast next day was also good. The tea and coffee facilities near to reception was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: We got the impression that the rooms in the Mansion House might be better than the main complex, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay here at Wokefield. Great that you enjoyed the drinks facilities.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have stated a Wokefield a few times before but have never walked around the grounds which were superb. Really pretty. Just eaten in the restaurant and the staff (chef who served us and waitress) could not do enough for us. My Son loves the free milk in reception and the Apply Mac's. A great place to stay and excellent value for money. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Ideally stay in the main hotel but the Wellington Lodge is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevensFamily3111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Great to read that you had a memorable stay with us here at Wokefield. We do look forward to seeing you here again in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Ive stayed here regularly and this is the first time ive used the spa. The staff in the spa are all amazing and i couldnt fault anything. I loved every second of it and cant wait to go back.
The rooms in the Executive quarter are basic and very outdated, in need of TLC but the rooms in the Mansion house are great and very clean and modern.
When booking packages the food served in the restaurant is horrible, buffet style which is understandable but not very edible. I found it bland and tasteless. (puddings are the best bit) I now when booking packages always tend to opt for eating in the bar, food so much better.

Room Tip: Mansion House rooms definitely worth that little bit of extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denooqy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide you feedback on trip advisor, great to hear that you enjoyed the Spa, but i am sorry to read there was certain elements that you felt let us down slightly. I do hope this will not put you off returning to Wokefield in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I arrived late at night on a late booking. I found the room to be quite nice with what I expected of a DeVere hotel though I'm not sure what the difference is with it being a Venues.

Sadly the tv didn't work even after the night porter intervened. At least I had the internet which was free.

The English breakfast was not great as it was warm at best.

The grounds and outside look fantastic and although it wasn't a great experience, it wouldn't stop me going again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review here on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here along with other family members for a wedding event which was happening the following day. The service throughout this venue was the worst I have ever encountered, despite having stayed at the belfry (another de vere venue) on a number of occassions which is nothing like this appalling venue. We paid £114 for what was termed a family room and a further £20 for an additional 3 hours because my son was ill (although initially the receptionist was trying to weed out a further £70 which she insisted had to be paid 'there and then' - not at checkout)! When I requested a bottle of water, I was told they would be charging £4.50 (when room service card said £4) plus a further £3.50 to get it delivered to my room from the other building. .. great when you have already paid £114 for a room which is worth £30 - £40 at the most. In the end my husband ran over to the other building in the rain to get a bottle of water.

Service at the executive centre bar for food was comical. Everyone you saw there was complaining either about the food quality, timeliness of food and demanding refunds, including us.

What I fail to understand is that are numerous people complaining about the quality of this hotel and management replying to a few apologising, yet nothing has actually been done by management as the complaints date back a long time!

£114 was definitely hard earned money down the toilet, which I would have preferred to have spent on my kids!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Bal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I am sorry to read that your son was ill and that your experience was not a memorable one for the right reasons. We do have a tray charge fee for items being delivered to room across the venue. I am sorry that you felt let down on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratfield Mortimer hotels

london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you looked at the photographs on the website of the beautiful mansion house on this property and even the well lit golf centre picture, you would think that you were in for a treat when you stayed at Wokefield Park and maybe if you stayed at the mansion house you might be, but if you were one of those like us staying in the main building, I think it is unlikely.Having read the other reviews, I think we may have got off lightly but in comparison to the many other Devere Venues we have stayed at, this has to be the worst experience. Arriving after a particularly arduous day of traffic jams and roadworks, we only wanted to get checked into our room, perhaps have a walk in the grounds and relax. In the end I think we finally got settled in our new(changed) room around midnight. We had been checked into a room which clearly was meant to have been taken out of service (two flat pillows impossible to sleep on, a missing remote control and a toilet which flooded the bathroom every time it was used) The highlight was however the housekeeper who clearly knew the problems and set our new room up very efficiently. Paint peeling and damaged doors everywhere, there seemed to be more problems being reported in the queue at reception. Just avoid the venue until you can be certain that it has turned into the version that DeVere have at Denham Grove or Latimer Place. Its not the place for a relaxing time. We are still waiting for the duty manager to have the courtesy to reply to us as promised on Sunday, I wonder if that is because they are inundated with too many complaints to deal with?

Room Tip: the mansion house looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starrylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I am sorry to read that you first room did not meet your requirements, but am pleased that the housekeeping department dealt with this and rectified that situation. Please feel free to send me your details should you not of already received a call from a duty manager. I do sincerely apologise if this is the case.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
20.3 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,721 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,813 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
12.6 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Wokefield Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Property: De Vere Wokefield Estate
Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing