We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate in corporate blandness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Wokefield Estate
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Myself and my partner stayed here in December as it's where her company Christmas party was being held.

First of all, good luck finding the place without satnav. We were heading down muddy single track roads until we were brought to the entrance by the wonder that is TomTom. The approach down the drive is impressive, but once you get inside you'll realise this is really the epitome of corporate conference boredom.

Think shiny suits, think flip charts and The Office, think trying to stay awake in a life-sappingly dire seminar, and you'll have Wokefield Park.

There's even a BMW training centre by the reception, in case you too want to sell 3-series to slimy estate agents. You can learn all about the different types of alloy wheels and paint finishes.

The room was standard mid-range hotel fayre, complete with Corby trouser press and iron chained to the wall. Utterly characterless room though, which sums up the whole place really. Downstairs there's a bar that is trying very hard to be chic with brown leather sofas. The restaurant is OK, and does a good cooked breakfast, although if the quality of the Christmas dinner we had is anything to go by, I wouldn't expect too much of a proper meal there.

It's obvious this place caters to the corporate conference market and that's exactly why you should stay away, unless you are forced to stay by your boss.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LandyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,957)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Wokefield Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,924 - 1,930 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2008

We stayed one night visiting family in Reading.

We had an excellent room (223) (up one flight of stairs but we only had a small bag), modern and stylish, a most comfy bed, Internet access and a very nice bathroom.
Breakfast was very good, the only thing we noticed was a lack of choice of bread.
Checkout was painless.

For the one night we were impressed and only saw it in daylight as we were leaving! As said before its like a golf course with a hotel in the middle but served our purpose admirably.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Neilb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

My collegue and i were looking forward to a relaxing stay at the Wokefield Park De Vere hotel. Looking at the website it looked luxurious and the leisure facilities very relaxing (especially the pool).

On arrival we, eventually, managed to park outside the main buliding and wandered in to reception laden with heavy suitcases and laptop bags. At reception we were asked to fill in the relevant forms and then were informed that we were actually staying at the manor further up the road. We were given directions by the recpetionist and then told it was a 2 mintue walk around the corner.

We then set off (with suitcases as offer of help was not given) around the corner to the manor which was actually about a 5 minute walk which, in the dark and cold ,is not pleasant.

Upon arriving there the receptionist informed us we could have brought are cars up to the manor (not relayed at the origional reception). We then proceeded to check in, again, and were eventually given our rooms. We than had to go up the stairs as there was no lift but our cases were carried up for us by the concierge.

The rooms themselves were on opposite ends of the scale, mine was red hot with a high ceiling and dodgy smelling toilet and my collegues was freezing cold with a very low ceiling. The temperature in both rooms stayed the same throughout the night despite efforts to adjust the radiators.

The restaurant staff were friendly but didn't seem to know much especially when we wanted to pay on our room and a manager had to be called as the waitress didn't know how to do it and this was very embarrasing.

Also we did not use the leisure facilities as these were in the other building and neither myself or my collegue fancied trooping back in the dark with wet hair.

Of our 3 nights booked we decided to move to another hotel and just spent 1 night in the de vere. We will not be going again.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank leedsloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Stayed for one night with travel company after seeing a show in London. Checking in was not very well orginised, and on entering the room my first call was the bathroom to my horror there was hairs hanging off the tiles and alot of black grime to which I never showered. The room was dark due to the lamps not working. The evening meal was at the end of the bar which was a marque, where this is fine in the middle of summer but in December i wasnt impressed, the meal arrived which appeared to be what was left over from the previous party along the corridor, soup was warm, brussels hard a bulletts, not enough potatoes, no choice of pudding, and no coffee. when walking back to my room the rails along the corridors where thick with dust, mentioned this to the receptionist which she said it was due to refurbishment, which was a poor excuse as I am head housekeeper to another well known hotel in the country and if that was dust in our hotel I would be ashamed. To end on a good note the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derby999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

As a professional meeting planner I stayed in this hotel, on business, for one night in October 2007. The hotel was basic but had everything you needed. It was a bit of walk (and upstairs with luggage) to get to the room but apart from that. The room service menu only had a choice of two entrees so it would be nice to see that expanded upon in future. But the check-in staff, and in fact all the staff could not have been more helpful, accommodating, friendly or professional. The staff are definately what make Wokefield Place. My colleague and I were scheduled to stay in the Manor House, but we probably had seen to many Most Haunted shows as it looked incredibly eery and we opted to stay in the accomodation at the Conference Center instead. Slightly over-priced room, but I would stay there again if I was in the area. In-room: fast speed internet, tea and coffee facilities, ironing and ironing board, toiletries.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Clymping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

The room was huge with a beautiful view of the grounds. Sadly the hotel lacked character and was rather soulless....it's really a golf course with a hotel in the middle! ...you could do so much more with it given the surroundings.
The food was mediocre but the menu was ambitious and offered plenty of choice. The worst and most memorable aspect of the stay was the room temperature..it was incredibly cold at the time and there was no heating available in the dining area or rooms. Several people complained about the lack of heating but nothing appeared to be done about it.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scooter71Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We went with a group of 140 from our Parish aged from 2 - mid-80s, so it was never going to be perfect! There were all sorts of little glitches, but I have to say that the staff were, without exception, charming, helpful and friendly. The rooms WERE quite basic and not what you would expect from a De Vere hotel - but for a 48 hour conference, it was more than adequate. Food was fine - again, I wouldn't have been impressed if I had been on a private holiday, but as a buffet service for 140 it did the job. Having said that, I was surprised at how easily the food ran out and how comparatively slow the staff were at refilling the buffet - and it certainly wasn't the case that people were big eaters or being unnecessarily greedy, either!

Finally - and bizarrely - I would LOVE to know why, in a bathroom that was as small as hotel bathrooms often are ( ie tiny ) , in a hotel with over 300 rooms - why did our room, uniquely in our party as far as I can gather, have a 3 foot in diameter, stainless steel STATION CLOCK hanging over the toilet?? I could have stood on the 18th green and told the time on this thing!

Thank heaven it didn't strike the hour.....

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Duettist96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
20.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,874 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,859 reviews
4.2 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,349 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
3.2 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Wokefield Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range: $66 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing