We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend Getaway!”
Review of Kilima Kiu Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilima Kiu Manor
Ranked #1 of 19 Machakos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place exceeded our expectations. The staff were polite and friendly and professional, every little detail taken care of. The rooms were fabulous! The tranquility of the place is amazing. The food was out of this world.I loved everything about our stay! The manager, Kiki is very good at her job and my only regret is that we did not stay longer.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanyi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 116 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went for a weekend in November as part of the "Kilima Kiu Experience" and never wanted to leave! Took us about 1.5hours to get there from Nairobi and you really don't expect to find this gem of a place at the end of that bumpy road! Upon parking, we were met by the workers who quickly and politely took our bags. We walked up to the main entrance to be greeted by the entire staff who had some refreshments waiting for us. Immediately you breathe in the Kilima Kiu air there is a discernible shift in your body, you start to relax and leave all your troubles behind! This is a place to come and rest your weary bones, to get away from work, to rekindle your romance, to be one with nature. There are horses, cows and birds on the immediate property and it really feels like you've gone to your family ranch house...Which means everything is intimately done. The rooms, suites really, are gorgeous, beds are comfy and spacious bathrooms. There's also a club room to just relax, sip on something, read the paper or whatever. A bar with top shelf liquor and a great selection of wines. A lounge with homely, comfy couches if you want to read a book while sipping on coffee. What I especially liked (as a foodie) is that I could walk into the kitchen and talk to the chefs and cooks about what they were making. Upon booking, you can let them know whether you have any dietary restrictions (vegetarian, vegan, diabetic, etc) and they will make you special meals. It was really a treat, we didn't want to go back to busy, crowded and noisy Nairobi! I'm rating them a four only because I went there when it was newly opened and I know there are other amenities being considered so I'm going to save my five rating for my return visit.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hard to know where to begin, really. My personal experience here was an outstanding one, in every respect. The room was as good as it gets, high ceilinged space with a substantial patio overlooking a glorious view. Well and thoughtfully appointed, the room reflected a serious consideration of the guest's desires - more than just requirements.

The food was even better, again all delivered in cosy surroundings with a very "English manor" feel. The little touches were something to behold: excellent cutlery imported from discreetly exclusive British and other European manufacturers. The quality of the food, largely sourced from local farming communities, felt like real organically produced tasteful produce. And sitting outdoors for lunch under an old African tree and in a utterly bucolic setting with wandering dairy cows nearby and horses (which the manor keeps at it stables for equestrian guests), is nothing to be sneezed at.

Most of all, it is th calm and serene atmosphere at the manor that gets you. Not too far off the beaten track to be a daunting trip to get there, it is still sufficiently isolated to be cut off from the madding crowd, as it were. And there are plenty of grounds to wander about in.

It's not a cheap place to stay at, but there is absolutely no reason why it should be. Value for money, however? I doubt you can find many (or any) better options in Kenya.

Room Tip: Get one with a patio overlooking the pool and the valley beyond. It's icing on the cake really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaiMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Place is set in a serene area in Machakos. The food was amazing. The rooms very spacious and cozy and every little detail considered/ The food was very good and the ambiance very inviting. I applaud Kilima Kiu for the welcoming service offered to my husband and I. A must for a second visit!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaKariuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Machakos hotels
17.3 mi away
Gelian Hotel Machakos
Gelian Hotel Machakos
#1 of 3 in Machakos
90 reviews
35.8 mi away
Maanzoni Lodge
Maanzoni Lodge
#2 of 17 in Machakos
106 reviews
17.5 mi away
Villa Machakos Guest House & Conferencing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Kyaka Hotel
The Kyaka Hotel
#4 of 19 in Machakos
14 reviews
0 mi away
Amazing Kenya Retreat
Amazing Kenya Retreat
#1 of 17 in Machakos
52 reviews
0 mi away
Masinga Dam Resort Spa
Masinga Dam Resort Spa
#6 of 19 in Machakos
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Kiu Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Kiu Manor

Address: Konza, off Mombasa Road | 7km From Malili Town, Machakos 90100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Machakos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Machakos
Price Range: $314 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the serene Malili area in Kenya, this charming reservations-only boutique hotel is only 80km from the capital Nairobi along Mombasa road. Since its handover to the current owners, Kilima Kiu Manor has undergone significant transformation from a regular ranch house to a fantastic getaway. We have taken time to develop exemplary hospitality standards in the hope that you will find your stay with us both relaxing and memorable. From bubbly champagne breakfasts to delicately customized dinners, we promise nothing but the best for that discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilima Kiu Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing