We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service, over-cooked wings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpinista Family Bistro - CLOSED

Alpinista Family Bistro
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slow service, over-cooked wings”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We waited over 10 minutes until our waiter showed up. He was super nice, but the service was really slow. The happy hour wings that we ordered were extra overcooked. We probably won't be coming back to this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    12
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but good.”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Much better than average ski area restaurant. Good pasta. Unique fondue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dday61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Fun - Don't Miss This Place Right in Village Center”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I was part of a large group of cyclists who stayed at Copper Mountain for 2 nights, and just finished fueling up at Alpinista. We had a wonderful time. The owner/chef, Alfonso Natareli, is just so much fun and the food he whips up is special. Claudio really knows his beers and wines, and he, too, is ready to joke and join in. Service was very fast and attentive to our needs for extra water, special sauces, you name it. We had dinner one night and breakfast the next morning. Alfonso made sure everything was ready for us promptly at 7AM, so we could get on the road ASAP. That is going above and beyond and we appreciated it greatly.
Thank you Alfonso and Claudio for good times, sparkling conversation, and tasty, nourishing meals. You were the highlight of our stay in Copper. We miss you already.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvTravelGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
361 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“OMG-Silent Partner running the restaurant now”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The silent partner who is originally from Beliguim took over this place in the middle of June 2011, he didn't like how the partner was running it. This place has fabulous food and the very best service I have ever seen. They have an incredible selection of Beliguim beers and will help you choose the right one. The food is all home cooked recipes, brats to die for.. This man knows how to run a business, great food, great service, and A+ personality. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suzieFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Disappointment at Copper”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife and I ate at Alpinista on our recent trip to Copper and were very disappointed. We had enjoyed our dinners at the restaurant which previously occupied the space and only discovered that the place had changed hands after we arrived and reviewed the menu.

The menu features fondues and was, in my opinion, very overpriced. We had two bowls of pasta and shared one beer and a bottle of the cheapest wine on the menu and the tab came to over $100. The pasta tasted like it had been previously cooked and reheated for our service. The waitress was nice and generally attentive, but was actively "upselling" us the entire time for a la carte appetizers, desserts, starting with a fondue, etc. While fine at the table, her loudly swearing in the kitchen did not add to our experience.

The meal was at best serviceable (The pasta sauces were good.) and perhaps they were just having a bad night, (It was late and we had just gotten in from the airport.) but for the price we deserved a better experience. Perhaps the fondue would have been better. It was just a marginal experience for a not-so-marginal price.

Hopefully, our experience was an outlier because of the other positive reviews, but it was not a great one for us.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris32137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpinista Family Bistro also viewed

Copper Mountain, CO
 
Copper Mountain, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing