We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Apres Ski at Copper Mountain”

JJ's Rocky Mountain Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Okoboji, Iowa
Level Contributor
430 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good Apres Ski at Copper Mountain”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We actually had lunch here and then came back for an appetizer and drinks after skiing. For lunch we had a mediterranean pizza, the chicken taco special and the mahi sandwich. The pizza was good as were the tacos. The mahi was average. Later we ordered the pear flatbread which was excellent. Plus Mo Dixon was playing for apres ski and he is an institution at Copper and very entertaining. We enjoyed JJ's, especially after skiing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gopherhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    64
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Small town, USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food barely made up for horrible customer service.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

JJs was recommended by another guest. When we arrived it said "seat yourself". So we did, but we're then told we needed to move because the table we sat at was saved for someone else-which turned out to be a group that already had a table and service, but just wanted to move. The manager had very poor customer skills. It took several minutes for him to then assign us a table despite the dining room being mostly empty. Then we got the wrong appetizers, and frankly if I'm going to pay over $20 for a meal I should be able to pick all the sides, or have a waiter who tells you what they are when you order in case you want to change them. Overall not impressed, and can't say I'd return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysHonestOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“one of the best at copper for dinner!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we LOVED this restaurant. WE all had a good meal. The food was amazing - I got the bbq brisket and chicken combo. it was melt in your mouth good. Service was very good too and easy to get to via the shuttle service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mela914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
177 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“5 nights out of 5 at JJ's”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We ended skiing every day at JJ's. Great place to unwind and share the adventures of the day. Dinners were great too: brisket, walleye, calamari, salads - everything great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Fun bar”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

JJ's can easily boast the most appealing menu in the Copper village and backs it up with quality dishes. The roasted chicken salad was delicious for lunch and the strip steak was cooked to perfection and paired with some great sides. The atmosphere is upbeat. Despite some dated decor, the old western saloon feel is a welcome change from many other cookie cutter restaurants at Copper. The bartenders were attentive and ready to share local knowledge, as well as mix some great drinks. The clientele is a perfect balance of guests and devoted locals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Rocky Mountain Tavern also viewed

Copper Mountain, CO
 
Copper Mountain, CO
 
Copper Mountain, CO
 

Been to JJ's Rocky Mountain Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing