We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, fun ski area”
Review of Copper Mountain

Copper Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Frisco or San Francisco. Denver or Dallas. It doesn't matter where you're from. If you've skied here, you've been raised on some of the best Colorado has to offer. For generations, people have valued a down-to-earth ski experience that puts friends, family and a relaxed mountain atmosphere above all else. It's why the Colorado front range has always considered Copper the home team, and why families from across the globe call Copper home. The place you go for a mountain experience that's refreshingly void of pretense. Wherever your home address may be, if you've skied here, you've been raised on Colorado. Welcome home.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun ski area”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Copper Mountain is naturally separated by terraine into beginner, intermediate, and advanced areas. This means you ususally don't have hot doggers on green runs, nor will you find yourself dodging inept skiers on more advanced runs.I'm a green-blue skier, and found most of the runs to be wide, sunny, and well groomed. Staff is universally friendly and helpful- an employee in the rental area was able to help out a guest having problems with their locker, another ran a grooming report for us, and a third keyed us to a better way to store our shoes for the day. The busses to the parking area run every 2-3 minutes or so, so it's a breeze to get from parking to the ski area. My only complaint this time at Copper is that there has been very little snow this year, many runs have obstacles or grassy spots, yet I never saw a snow machine in operation, and it was definatley cold enough to run them.. We bought the 4 pack, which is one of the best deals in Colorado for skiers like me who only ski 3-5 days a year.
We stayed in Dillon and it was about a 10 minute drive to Copper- not much further than Keystone and maybe closer than Breckenridge.. Copper is a 1st class resort with some great ski deals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrpFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    163
    24
    16
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well balanced mountain”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is great mountain for groups with varying experience levels. There are plenty good slopes for all levels of skiers of snowboarders. All the slopes end at Village West, Center Village, or Village East with adequate signage on the slopes making it easy to get to your room from the mountain. The staff was very friendly, the mountain is beautiful, and lodging is affordable. Great shopping at Vail is 20 minutes away, the nearest WalMart and grocery store is 10 minutes away (in Frisco), and Breckenridge is about 15 minutes away. Lift tickets are a little pricey, so look for discounts/coupons before coming. Overall, it's a great mountain and a great resort area. I'd recommend to anyone who loves to ski or snowboard.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPFrizzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Family Ski Destination”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We love Copper Mountain for family days for a variety of reasons. First, it is about 1 1/2 hours from Denver (one of the closest "real" resorts). Second, the ski school is very good for kids and beginners with patient instructors. Third, the runs go from bunny to extreme as you move across the mountain west to east. Fourth, even on a busy day, the lift lines have never been over 15 min and now they have a few high speed lifts to speed thing up. Fifth, the spots to rest, eat, and drink are all over the places with lots of music playing. Sixth, it is cheaper on average than Winter Park, Vail, and the big boys. So overall, it is our favorite for the family although I have a warm spot for Loveland and A-Basin when on my own or with buddies.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had a great time.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's a little pricey for the area (i.e. you can ski cheaper elsewhere). But it's beautiful and has lots to do. I would definitely go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRKCOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for beginners”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Copper Mountain has a lot of green trails from top all the way to bottom, and this is why we went here. One single trip from top to the bottom took us nearly one hour. It is nice to only have to take the lift for a few times for the whole day. However, it is very very cold, especially when taking the lift and close to sunset. Also, some of the green trails are VERY steep at some part, close to the bottom. It is even more difficult than some of the blue trails we met elsewhere. You should be prepared for the freezing temperature as well as the steepness even on some of the green trails.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Mountain also viewed

 
Copper Mountain, CO
 

Been to Copper Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing