We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual Worthwhile Upside Down Stopover”
Review of Rumah Terbalik

Rumah Terbalik
Ranked #4 of 5 things to do in Tamparuli
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rumah Terbalik, the first upside down house of Malaysia is located in Kampung Telibong, Mile 21, Jalan Telibong, Tamparuli, Sabah, Malaysia. Nestled within the compound of Rumah Terbalik, there is also a souvenir shop (i.e. Tamu) well stocked with handicrafts and souvenirs made in Sabah as well as a Café (i.e. Kedai Kopi) serving brewed local coffee. Using recycled wood and materials specifically to create a more local atmosphere, Rumah Tebalik has an area of 1,500 square feet and equiped with a living room, a dining area, a equipped kitchen, veranda, two bedrooms and a toilet. This fully furnished house is constructed with a slight tilt, and with everything fitted upside down inside the house, it certainly challenges the viewers' perspective when within. The kampong house signifies our past and heritage. Upside down is another perspective of seeing something. It's meant to be a fun way of looking at ourselves and life. Rumah Terbalik will work towards establishing itself as a new and unique tourist destination within Sabah. As it is located along the main highway leading to Mt Kinabalu, Poring Hot Spring or even Kiulu River, it can help to enhance the already existing tour packages offered by travel agencies as being a short stopover point. A visit to the upside-down house guarantees to one of your most memorable experiences and it is a must-see attraction on your Sabah itinerary.As of February 2012, Rumah Terbalik has been listed within the Malaysia Book of Records as being the first upside down house of Malaysia! the 3D Wonders Museum is where visitors can explore the uniquely themed galleries, the first of its kind in Borneo, showcasing the importance of conservation while promoting the beautiful landscapes and the myriad of local cultures present in East Malaysia. Through the use of special art techniques, two-dimensional paintings will appear to pop out of the surface and come to life, immersing you in a vivid experience like no other. Create your own wacky stories and zip-line through the entire experience as you embark on an adventure in the 3D Wonders Museum right now! This latest attraction is just beside the renowned Rumah Terbalik, Malaysia one and only Upside Down House!
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stopped over at Rumah Terbalik on our way back from a Diary Farm near Mt. Kinabalu. The journey would have felt too long if not for this unusual upside-down stopover. The compound, facilities was beautifully kept with a house turned upside down in the midst of a tropical garden. The tour through the house was somewhat short but was pleasantly entertained by the ingenuity and careful detailing of the different rooms, fixtures and interior decor, all done Upside Down! Also, don't miss out on several other upside down exhibits within the compound. They were fun unforgettable photo moments!!! Finally, five stars to the local dishes at the restaurant right next to Rumah Terbalik. An Unusual Worthwhile Stopover indeed!

1  Thank LiveTrips09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your feed back.

While some will not appreciate the work and thoughts that gone into the making of an upside down house, we are glad that you see the hard work we have put into turning this place into a "must see" destination in Kota Kinabalu.

Do help us to pass the words around and have a safe onward trip.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

I enjoyed the visit very much. It's quite a distance to travel though. The house built upside down was to showcase Sabah's typical lifestyle in the late 70s. The attention to detail in the house was excellent. I also enjoyed the local food in the attached restaurant -mango garden.

Thank bumblebmoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind feed back.

We are glad you have enjoyed your trip and that you tried out our Mango Garden Restaurant.

Do help us to pass the words around and have a safe onward travel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stumbled across Rumah Terbalik quite early one morning on our way to Kinabalu. We had to wait for our guided tour, expecting it would be "just wander around and look". We were made bang the gong and knock on the front door which felt pretty dumb quite frankly. Once inside the house, we were dumbfounded. Its amazing what you can do with some glue and screws :|
Before we knew it, we were being ushered out the back door (via the gift shop and cafe). I can see how this might appeal to pre-school groups. Tires spinning.... we left for Kinabalu

1  Thank chicknlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Friend

Thank you for your feed back.

The gong hitting is actually part of the objectives of the tour of Rumah Terbalik, whereby we introduce the local culture of Sabah to our visitors. Gong is getting rare on and often only seen during official event of during wedding.

Throughout the tour of the House, our trained guides will continue to share cultural aspects of Sabah to our visitors. We are disappointed that the intention was not put across properly and we will certainly re train our guides for this purpose.

Do have a safe onward travel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Worth for first visit, because of it's uniqueness of the structure. But it is difficult to locate the place. We did asked petrol station for directions along the way.

Thank ernrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Friend

Thank you for your positive feed back.

The town council in Tuaran (where the House is located) has in fact given us permission to erect sign board 4-5 km prior to reaching Rumah Terbalik. The road work department however, has yet to issue permission and we will put up the road signs once we received the permission.

The sign boards are ready.

Do help us to pass the words around and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We didn't know if to laugh or cry - such a ridiculous waste of time it was. Our major question remains - why would Lonely Planet even place this in their book?
We've spent loads of time trying to find this place. Then on site it felt like a sightseeing overdone with expectations of ques of anxious tourists, while in reality the place is completely empty. And for a reason - it's just not what you want to do or see while on Borneo. Only visit if you have kids in pre-school age - it might be interesting for them. We were trying to hold the laugh through the "guided tour": first- pictures inside no-no-no, touch no-no-no, always, ooooh, stay on the red carpet; now, we have to ring the gong; now, someone has to knock on the door to warn we are coming; now, ooooh, the house is haunted.... and so on ))))) What was wrong with me when I've decided to visit this place??? And! Beware - there is a sign at the parking lot: park at your own risk? :D Risk from whom, I wonder? If only from bored guides ;)

1  Thank Anastassia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander0323, General Manager at Rumah Terbalik, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Friend

Thank you for your feed back.

I am sorry you didn't find the place interesting nor did you see our effort worth praising. For example, the gong is part of a Sabah history and when the guide explained the usage of the gong, it must have "passed by" you.

We will continue to keep up our service standard and every now and then our visitors might not be appreciative with the effort put into operating the House, but we will keep trying.

Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumah Terbalik also viewed

 

Been to Rumah Terbalik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing