We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than any Motel 6 or Super 8”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport
Ranked #52 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arrived to find that this hotel is under major renovation which was not disclosed when booking. The room we were given was next to the elevator which had open walls in the machinery room. All day and night we heard the noise of the hydraulic pumps and motors running every time someone rode the elevator. Much of the facility was blocked for construction. Several fire & smoke detectors were covered with plastic and inoperable. Areas like the exercise area and the dining area were not available or else dirty, unkept and cramped. Poorly maintained, the whole place looked like a tenement. Unfortunately, the reservation was "non-refundable" and we would be charged the entire amount is we cancelled or changed our reservation. Pathetic. Stay away from Holiday Inn and especially Bookings.com. Complete rip-offs.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else in the Colorado Springs area to stay, but DO NOT go to Holiday Inn!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Satdiver,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience the ongoing construction has caused you and for the discomforts the noise from the elevator has brought you.

Thank you for your comments. We hope that you give us another opportunity and allow us to redeem your faith in the quality of our product and in our award-winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is currently under construction and right next to a Holiday Inn. Don't get confused. We arrived after dark and noticed a hotel with boarded up windows and missed a white sign that said "check in in the back of hotel". There were no signs to really tell us it was the Holiday Inn Express aside from the one at the street where you turned into both hotels so we went to the Holiday Inn next door and they cleared it up for us. We noticed a small lit sign that said Holiday Inn Express pointing to the fenced up construction area on the way back over. Due to the construction area, parking later in the evening was tight. I meant to ask about how long construction would be going on to inform future guests but forgot. The check in was easy and our room was nice but small. The bed was comfy. The door to room 207 needed greased as we heard them every time they, (it was a family with children and they were with a family across the hall), opened their door. I informed the clerk of this at checkout. The breakfast was OK. There was no coffee when I went to breakfast. The breakfast room has a door, (temp for construction?) which made it difficult to get my husbands food back to the room with full hands. I did notice while having breakfast that there was some construction noise going on. It was 8:30 on a Sunday morning. I only hope they didn't have people in rooms on that side of the hotel.
We stayed in this hotel because we visited one of our favorite breweries in Colorado, Rocky Mountain Brewery, and the hotels at the airport at the closest we can get. The hotels in the area are really all or nothing. You definitely pay for a good nights sleep. I found it odd that this hotel was under construction because I thought it was fairly new. There is nothing within walking distance to the hotel.

Room Tip: I'd currently suggest a room on the opposite side of the construction setup. But once that is go...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Monica L,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent efforts to improve the quality of our facilities and service. I sincerely apologize for the room amenities you encountered on your stay and for the inconvenience you suffered while the construction was going on as well as the hotel access. Please be informed that this unfortunate incident is definitely not the norm of our hotel. Rest assured that your comments will be addressed and passed on to the responsible Department Heads, since all our efforts are commanded to provide our clients with the best service you deserve.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I hope you will give us another chance and show the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stay one night before a flight out of Colorado Springs. The first room I received smell like smoke. (This is a smoke free hotel.) Was told they might not nave another room available. Told them I might not be staying. After checking the computer a few minutes a room was found. 2nd room was a lot better They are renovation this hotel currently. But this had no affect on the stay. Ask the front desk if they knew of a local Mexican restaurant. Said Colorado Springs only has chain restaurants. Not really known for family restaurants. Ended up at Olive Garden. I'm sure the Chamber of Commence would love to hear that response.
OK for one night, not really longer. Great hotel if your flying out of the Colorado Springs Airport (5 minute Drive) and you like to eat at chain restaurants. One more item I prepaid for my room but the clerk ran my card again Had to make sure that the charges were reversed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Colo01,

We appreciate you sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. I share your disappointment with the less than satisfactory service level you received and experienced from our staff. This is a core element of our product and I feel sure we generally deliver to a much higher standard. Please be assured that our team will follow up with the service aspects to ensure we learn from your feedback.

I am grateful to you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Needed to spend one night near the Colorado Springs Airport and wound up here using Hotwire. I've been in other Holiday Inn Express properties before and found them to be pretty bare bones facilities albeit with a good breakfast. Generally they are very plain non-descript motel rooms, but not this one. Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs is an all suites type facility, each room consisting of a bedroom living room and small kitchenette (sink, coffee pot, microwave, refrigerator). The bedroom and living area are actually separate rooms with a solid wall between. Very much on a level of a Hyatt House or Residence Inn. Plus, the room was actually decorated quite nicely (decent furniture including a very comfortable sofa, tables, chairs, nice carpet and curtains and two large screen TV's (with all the hookups to attach your own video). The morning breakfast is traditional Holiday Inn Express fare which is above average. This hotel is definitely above a Holiday Inn Express experience. If you need to stay near the airport you would have no complaints at all about picking this property.

Room Tip: Call the hotel from the airport if you need the shuttle bus. They seem to run by request, not just...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiefcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed just one night and flew out the next morning on Allegiant Air. Room was clean, front desk staff very nice. Our room was next to the elevator - not ideal but we were too tired to ask for a different room. It wasn't very noisy overall. Very close to the airport so good location for early flights. Breakfast was good, included hot and cold items. Plenty to choose from. Booked through Orbitz....paid around $74 for a king room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO-travelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel staff went out of thier way to be friendly and accomodating. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job and the breakfast area albeit tiny was well stocked and very clean.

The room/bathroom was a bit on the small side. Not that you need a ton of space when traveling, but a bit more space would have been nice.

I could easily stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusiTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Gives the feel of a middle class Japanese hotel...compact. First impression walking down main hall is slightly claustraphobic. Ceiling feels low. Slightly humid air. Rooms are very nice but a few feet less wide than most. (This probably allows HIE to squeeze in another room or two on each floor.) Bathrooms are nice but, again, compact. Views from upper rooms are lovely. Breakfast is very good and full menu. Pancake machine (!) is cool but pancakes are rather rubbery. Cinnamon rolls you gotta try. Only problem is even with Do Not Disturb on door... housekeeping ignores. They want to finish up and go home so we were awakened but definitely not refreshed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wunderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs Airport
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs Air...
#21 of 105 in Colorado Springs
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Airport
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Air...
#29 of 105 in Colorado Springs
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs South
TownePlace Suites Colorado Sprin...
#46 of 105 in Colorado Springs
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colora...
#55 of 105 in Colorado Springs
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Sprin...
#14 of 105 in Colorado Springs
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 105 in Colorado Springs
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport

Address: 1815 Aeroplaza Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80916-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#26 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $123 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Airport Offers Comfort and Convenience Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only 2.5 miles from the Colorado Springs Airport (COS), we are your ideal destination. Begin your day with our 'Express Start' breakfast which features a variety of delicious breakfast items, including our exclusive cinnamon rolls, omelets, biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage and much more. No matter what brings you to Colorado Springs, your room is your personal retreat. The key word is comfort with our Simply Smart luxurious bedding, expanded cable with HBO, refrigerator, microwave,flat screen t.v., DVD players as well as our exclusive Kohler showerhead. NEw pool And Hot Tub. Imagine having all the tools you need for business, high-speed Internet, spacious desk with ergonomic chairs, 24 hour business center, copying and faxing services for your convenience.A choice location for the business traveler we are less than 2 miles from Peterson Air Force Base, Lockheed Martin, ITT, Northrop Grumman, Boeing, Ratheon, SI International, Serco, Arinc, Coca Cola, Siemens, and General Dynamics. Families appreciate this great location. We are situated off of I-24 with easy access to several local attractions. Come and rise the Cog Railway to the top of Pikes Peak America's mountain, tour the awe-inspiring Garden of the Gods, take a chance at the Cripple Creek Casinos, Cliff Dwelling and see a concert at the World Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing