We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD OVERNIGHT STOP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Colorado Springs North
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed September 17, 2008

This is a modern, well-equipped hotel with good fitness centre and indoor swimming pool(unusual for an Express). Free business centre. On Northern outskirts of Colorado Springs and close to the Airforce Academy. Nearby there are several restaurants and an excellent Outback Steak House across the parking lot. A comfortable overnight stop.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel is perfectly located for reaching the Air Force Academy and conveniently located near restaurants and shopping.

I usually like Holiday Inn Express for short stays & business travel. They're consistently good for this purpose. However, I was disappointed with my room which was quite small. Although the rest of the hotel seems to have been recently updated, my room definitely fell short. This was evidenced most in the bathroom where a couple of inch+ sized chunks of grout were missing (you could see the mortar) in addition to many cracks in both the tiles and grout. Worse, the bathroom offered a faint urine smell. This scent disappeared upon entering the shower where there was an overpowering smell of mildew. The shower is badly covered in mold and needs some serious work...even if it did have one of the "rain" shower heads which have become standard at Holiday Inn Express. Just as an added note, coffee makers in the bathroom also seem to be the standard for Holiday Inn Express. This one was no different. Why they think beverages & bathrooms go together is really beyond me - gross.

In spite of my less-than-impressive room, all of the common areas including the pool, exercise room, reception & hallways were great. The bathroom near the pool being the only exception, as it should have been serviced more frequently and to a higher standard. The pool and hot tub were both great...and the perfect temperature! I also loved that the exercise room was very cold. Great for a long run!

The staff were friendly and helpful. I found some broken glass on the patio near the pool and they were quick to act. The breakfast was also good. They have the usual continental fare (bagels, muffins, toast, fruit, cereal, milk, juices, coffee, tea, etc.) in addition to biscuits and gravy, a meat (bacon or sausage on alternating days) and an egg (cheese omelet thing or scrambled on alternating days).

The most annoying problem with my stay was the poor WiFi reception in my room. It was very bad - almost unusable at the desk. If I sat on the floor by the door, it was marginally better. A strong internet connection is essential in a business style hotel, so I found the poor connection rather unacceptable. The hotel needs to get on top of that right away.

You can probably find a better value elsewhere, but this hotel is okay. If they fix up the bathrooms & the WiFi, they'd be a good choice for a short to medium length stay. They'll never be a good choice for a long stay because the rooms are too small (in my opinion).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Not a bad hotel, but the hot tub was not working correctly the night that we were there and the manager really didn't care.
There is very little level parking, most is in the back of the hotel which you have to access via the first floor (basement) and continuing down a slanted walkway. Not very convenient for unloading/loading luggage. The pool, hot tub and excerise room are on the lowest level (basement) ... not the same level as the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We booked a king bed suite on a AAA discount by walking up to the front desk. The woman at the front desk was very friendly. The hotel was nice and clean. There were lots of kids around, possibly for a tournament, but the hotel was still fairly quiet. The room was nicely laid out with a few tables, a good sized couch and a small chair. The bed was very nice with a throw blanket on top, a light down comforter and fluffy pillows. This is one of the most comfortable beds. If you get a room on the back of the hotel, the view of mountains is excellent. The only drawback was the bathroom in our suite seemed small and cramped. The internet was wired in the rooms and didn't work the morning we left. The hotel is located within walking distance of a few restaurants with more just minutes away. The main Colorado Springs attractions are about 15 minutes south on I-25 and the Air Force Academy is not too far to the north.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AggieLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

I got the room at the last minute by phone. The room was perfect. There were firm and soft pillows from which to choose. The manager puts a goodie bag in the room with pretzels, candy a bottle of water, etc. The staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Megapixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is close to the Airforce Academy and Pike's Peak. The front desk staff very very helpful and friendly. Although it was late, they personally delivered extra towels for us and refused a tip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had requested a junior suite which was great. The room was clean. I was kind of nervous about opening the fold out sofa but was amazingly surprised to find a very clean mattress, sheets, blanket and pillows. No dust, no dirt, no smudges, no odor. The hotel had a great indoor pool. The free breakfast buffet was good. You have to be an early riser to take advantage of the french toast and bagles because they run out fast. There are plenty of other choices for a healthy breakfast. The view of the Pikes Peak in the morning, sitting on the balcony and sipping hot coffee was priceless. Excellent service. I recommend this place for anyone visiting the beautiful Colordo Springs.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank triping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, D.C.
13
Reviewed July 3, 2006

After trying to contact the hotel front desk for one hour (from 6 a.m. to 7 a.m.) by telephone, I was forced to call their 1-800 telephone number to try and contact a customer at the motel. Holiday Inn Express customer service rudely told me that there was no way to contact the hotel if no one answered the front desk telephone. No emergency contact information, no way to call the hotel manager at home. Their only response was that there is no way to contact the motel or a customer in an emergency. Our only choice was to call the police. After one hour of trying to contact the hotel, the night manager finally turned the ringer on the telephone console on. (trying to sleep?) This hotel, and it's customer service office at the main headquarters, obviously do not understand that you have to provide decent service to survive in today's business environment.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,587 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Colorado Springs First and Main
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#28 of 103 in Colorado Springs
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Central Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Cen...
#30 of 103 in Colorado Springs
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#18 of 103 in Colorado Springs
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#10 of 103 in Colorado Springs
564 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force A...
#6 of 103 in Colorado Springs
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Colorado Springs North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Colorado Springs North

Address: 7110 Commerce Center Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-2634 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $87 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Colorado Springs North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs-Air Force Academy is conveniently located on the north side of Colorado Springs, just one exit south of the US Air Force Academy and easy access to I-25. Additional hotel features include: Deluxe hotel accommodations 28 suites with microwave and refrigerators. Complimentary Continental deluxe breakfast, 24 hr business center and complimentary local phone calls, high speed internet in all guest rooms. Indoor pool, whirlpool and workout facility. Walking distance to many local restaurants. Attractions Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs, Seven Falls, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Focus on the Family, World Pray Center, US Olympic Training Center, Pine Creek Golf Course. Business: Hewlett Packard, MCI, Federal Express, Oracle, Boeing, Stellant, Current, Lockheed Martin, Ford, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Intel, Bank of America, Progressive insurance, California Casualty, USAA Insurance. Military: USAFA, Fort Carson, NORAD, Peterson AFB and Schriever AFB. Visit Colorado Springs, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Colorado Springs North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing