We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd Layout for this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
Ranked #40 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
St Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Odd Layout for this hotel”
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Not a bad hotel, but the hot tub was not working correctly the night that we were there and the manager really didn't care.
There is very little level parking, most is in the back of the hotel which you have to access via the first floor (basement) and continuing down a slanted walkway. Not very convenient for unloading/loading luggage. The pool, hot tub and excerise room are on the lowest level (basement) ... not the same level as the lobby.

  • Liked — convenience to attractions
  • Disliked — parking lot
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    79
    43
    19
    13
See reviews for
101
35
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We booked a king bed suite on a AAA discount by walking up to the front desk. The woman at the front desk was very friendly. The hotel was nice and clean. There were lots of kids around, possibly for a tournament, but the hotel was still fairly quiet. The room was nicely laid out with a few tables, a good sized couch and a small chair. The bed was very nice with a throw blanket on top, a light down comforter and fluffy pillows. This is one of the most comfortable beds. If you get a room on the back of the hotel, the view of mountains is excellent. The only drawback was the bathroom in our suite seemed small and cramped. The internet was wired in the rooms and didn't work the morning we left. The hotel is located within walking distance of a few restaurants with more just minutes away. The main Colorado Springs attractions are about 15 minutes south on I-25 and the Air Force Academy is not too far to the north.

  • Liked — The view and the room was very nice and clean
  • Disliked — Internet, small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room on the back (west) side of the hotel.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AggieLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

I got the room at the last minute by phone. The room was perfect. There were firm and soft pillows from which to choose. The manager puts a goodie bag in the room with pretzels, candy a bottle of water, etc. The staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Megapixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is close to the Airforce Academy and Pike's Peak. The front desk staff very very helpful and friendly. Although it was late, they personally delivered extra towels for us and refused a tip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had requested a junior suite which was great. The room was clean. I was kind of nervous about opening the fold out sofa but was amazingly surprised to find a very clean mattress, sheets, blanket and pillows. No dust, no dirt, no smudges, no odor. The hotel had a great indoor pool. The free breakfast buffet was good. You have to be an early riser to take advantage of the french toast and bagles because they run out fast. There are plenty of other choices for a healthy breakfast. The view of the Pikes Peak in the morning, sitting on the balcony and sipping hot coffee was priceless. Excellent service. I recommend this place for anyone visiting the beautiful Colordo Springs.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank triping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 3, 2006

After trying to contact the hotel front desk for one hour (from 6 a.m. to 7 a.m.) by telephone, I was forced to call their 1-800 telephone number to try and contact a customer at the motel. Holiday Inn Express customer service rudely told me that there was no way to contact the hotel if no one answered the front desk telephone. No emergency contact information, no way to call the hotel manager at home. Their only response was that there is no way to contact the motel or a customer in an emergency. Our only choice was to call the police. After one hour of trying to contact the hotel, the night manager finally turned the ringer on the telephone console on. (trying to sleep?) This hotel, and it's customer service office at the main headquarters, obviously do not understand that you have to provide decent service to survive in today's business environment.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2005

This property was extremely busy and loud. We were promised a non-smoking room and told it was, but it was not. It was not designated on the room number plate as non-smoking and it was very stinky. There were numerous cigarette burns on the bathroom sink. When I asked the front desk clerk if it was a smoking room (after we walked in and smelled it), she said it wasn't, and that we were smelling the "air freshener spray" they spray in the rooms and asked if we wanted more of it. Our daughter has asthma and other lung issues but they would not move us to a new room. Not only that, but there was only one non-smoking room on the entire floor, which meant all that smoke came under our door (until I put a towel under it).

There were never any pool towels at the pool, so we had to walk through the property dripping wet. We were only given two sets of towels for a four-person room, so we dared not use the shower towels for the pool.

When our room was serviced we never received new cups or additional shampoo. We had to ask the front desk for a "do not disturb" sign.

The public areas, especially the stairwells, were not clean the entire three days we were there. The elevator is very slow to respond and we had a lot of problems with kids "joyriding" in it.

The business center was taken over most of the time by kids playing around on the internet. The desk staff did not ask them to leave even though they didn't have parental supervision as the sign stated.

Every morning the breakfast supply dwindled starting at 9 am (they closed it at 9:30). After that time, pitchers, items and supplies were not restocked, leaving little selection for "late comers".

The parking at this property is awful. There are a few narrow spaces in the front lot, but it's a dead end, which is hard with the large covered front area. The rest of the narrow spaces are down a hill (not easy with a physically handicapped child) behind the property.

We used Priorty Club points for our stay and think we were given a "bad" room because of that. Since it was free, we didn't make a big deal of the issues we had, but if we'd paid the high rate you can believe we would have been complaining. There are many properties surrounding this one, and even more at the next I-25 exit North (150) two of which we highly recommend - Comfort Suites and Sleep Inn. We will not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2004

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times in 2002-04. Very convenient for North end of city, just off I-25 at Woodman Exit. Nice pool, full breakfast included in rate, sharp and clean rooms and attentive staff. Join priority club for even more deals! Great base for visiting all the Colorado Springs sites. Highly recommend this hotel. Book on-line for best rates!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#33 of 105 in Colorado Springs
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Central Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Cen...
#31 of 105 in Colorado Springs
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Academy Area
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Ac...
#48 of 105 in Colorado Springs
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
Address: 7110 Commerce Center Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs-Air Force Academy is conveniently located on the north side of Colorado Springs, just one exit south of the US Air Force Academy and easy access to I-25. Additional hotel features include: Deluxe hotel accommodations 28 suites with microwave and refrigerators. Complimentary Continental deluxe breakfast, 24 hr business center and complimentary local phone calls, high speed internet in all guest rooms. Indoor pool, whirlpool and workout facility. Walking distance to many local restaurants. Attractions Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs, Seven Falls, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Focus on the Family, World Pray Center, US Olympic Training Center, Pine Creek Golf Course. Business: Hewlett Packard, MCI, Federal Express, Oracle, Boeing, Stellant, Current, Lockheed Martin, Ford, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Intel, Bank of America, Progressive insurance, California Casualty, USAA Insurance. Military: USAFA, Fort Carson, NORAD, Peterson AFB and Schriever AFB. Visit Colorado Springs, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing