We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice property- but room for improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
Ranked #35 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
“A nice property- but room for improvement.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My family of four stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We had a suite. The room was nice, but the bathroom was VERY small. Only enough room for one person at a time, which made getting ready difficult. We only received two towels each day- I called one day for extra, but never received them.
My wife left rings in the room & they were sent back USPS, although I had requested FEDEX so that they would be insured in travel. I did receive them in perfect condition, but it had my wife very nervous knowing that they were just in a regular envelope.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a suite if you want extra sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business. Thank you for the feedback and your comments are being taken into consideration with our management. We invite you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    83
    44
    19
    13
See reviews for
108
36
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
906 reviews
486 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 956 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I liked this property. They recognized my Platinum PriorityClub status with a room upgrade (we got a small sitting area), and both the public areas and rooms were well cared for. I easily printed by airline boarding passes in their computer room (sounds simple, but I've had several Holiday Inn Expresses with ridiculous computer issues). Breakfast was excellent (perhaps because we were there on "bacon day"?), and better than at more upscale Staybridge Suites (owned by the same company, and there's a Staybridge adjacent to this hotel -- I wouldn't recommend paying the difference for a short stay). While on the north side of town, the hotel is very close to the interstate, and extremely convenient to the Air Force Academy and the Garden of the Gods. At the right price, I would happily return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dave's_reviews, Thanks for this review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it! We give our IHG Rewards members priority for upgrades, thank you for being a loyal Platinum member! One of my favorite things about our location is that we are adjacent to I-25 but you don't hear the noise, and the back half of our hotel has awesome views of the mountains. Thanks for your compliments, we would be happy to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I are discriminating travelers and we could not find anything really wrong with this hotel. Staff was great, always available. Room was clean and well appointed (we had a king suite) and had a wonderful view of the mountains and a nearby wetlands. We could not hear neighbors, the heat and a/c worked smoothly. The bed was great with lots of pillows (we did wish the room had a few firmer pillows). Surprisingly this hotel had one of the best cable TV options we've ever experienced (direct TV with a complement of HBO channels)., Breakfast was consistent and varied (we appreciate lots of protein options). Fitness room was, for the size of the hotel, top notch, everything clean and the spring water stocked. Hot tub and pool were good size, hot/warm. The location was good for us for eating options nearby and hiking at the Garden of the Gods. This hotel stop was sweeter for us because Priority Club recently listed it as a Points Break hotel, so it was a very good value.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
dogbuckeye, thanks so much for taking the time to post this kind review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate that you chose us, thank you for your business and we hope to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Room was clean and very comfortable, parking here is an issue though. Breakfast could use more fruit and the juice machine was not working properly. Front staff was very friendly and helpful. I travel 2 states and stay at HI Express's in both states. I would rank this one as average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Barry F,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you liked your room accommodation. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. I am sorry that you had issues with parking and that our breakfast selection fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Although this is not a bad hotel, this is probably the least nice of all the Holiday Inn Express hotels I have stayed at. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was okay - coffee was cold, and the toaster kept blowing the circuit. My room was decent. Didn't seem very new, and there was some wear and tear on the walls and base boards. The bathroom was tiny! The door had to be shut in order to reach or get into the shower. But the door almost skimmed the toilet when you closed it. I had a dried-out, dirty wash rag in my shower, and the lotion bottle was half gone. The workout room - wow - that was torture. There's no TV in there, and the treadmill faces a wall AND a clock. I could hardly stand it!

Also, it snowed pretty heavily the day we left, and no one from the hotel shoveled the snow at the front door even though I spotted a snow shovel hiding behind a plant.

As far as noise in the room, I did not hear a thing! But there was a large gap at the bottom of my door, and I placed a towel down there to block the light streaming in from the hallway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
OKTraveller77, I appreciate your review, this is an opportunity for us to improve and the best way for us to do that is through guest comments like yours. I am pleased to say that we have added a TV to our exercise room! Great feedback, by the way. I have also brought the housekeeping comments to our Owner and Director of Housekeeping, and we have implemented better room inspection policies so we don't have these problems again. We also have replaced the toaster. Are you coming to the area again? If so, I would love to have you back and give you a much better experience. Call me personally and I'll be happy to give you a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there about weeks ago was okay.
Stopped again tonight after 10 min of yelling and finally knocked on doors person (NOT) working (sleeping) at front desk showed up. When I asked about a room and called him out about sleeping on the job had no comment. I told it was rude and he gave me back I cards and told me to leave.
Great guy went across the street to Hampton better rooms cheaper rates and very NICE person a the front desk. Not even sleeping ;-)
Remember Hampton NOT Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs, CO Air Force Academy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Kathie S., I regret that your experience was not a better one. I have researched the situation and spoke with the front desk agent who was there that night. He was in the kitchen re-stocking breakfast items and did not hear you arrive. I'm so sorry that you had to wait, there is no excuse for that. In our meeting last Friday, we spoke about this and decided against having front desk employees leave the front desk area for any non-emergency issue. I do hope you will give us another try if you are in the area, feel free to contact me personally. I will make sure you have a much better experience! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were very pleased with the consideration we received from the hotel staff. We were there for a medical procedure, and they graciously accommodated us by giving us a room that was out of the way of a lot of traffic and noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Vincent R., thanks so much for this review. We are all glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your business! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Central Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Cen...
#33 of 105 in Colorado Springs
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#27 of 105 in Colorado Springs
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#8 of 105 in Colorado Springs
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
#10 of 105 in Colorado Springs
848 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#38 of 105 in Colorado Springs
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
Address: 7110 Commerce Center Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs-Air Force Academy is conveniently located on the north side of Colorado Springs, just one exit south of the US Air Force Academy and easy access to I-25. Additional hotel features include: Deluxe hotel accommodations 28 suites with microwave and refrigerators. Complimentary Continental deluxe breakfast, 24 hr business center and complimentary local phone calls, high speed internet in all guest rooms. Indoor pool, whirlpool and workout facility. Walking distance to many local restaurants. Attractions Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs, Seven Falls, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Focus on the Family, World Pray Center, US Olympic Training Center, Pine Creek Golf Course. Business: Hewlett Packard, MCI, Federal Express, Oracle, Boeing, Stellant, Current, Lockheed Martin, Ford, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Intel, Bank of America, Progressive insurance, California Casualty, USAA Insurance. Military: USAFA, Fort Carson, NORAD, Peterson AFB and Schriever AFB. Visit Colorado Springs, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing