We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged me an cancelation fee 10 minutes after it was placed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Academy
Ranked #73 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Lawson, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charged me an cancelation fee 10 minutes after it was placed”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I admit I was the one that made the mistake, HOWEVER please hear me out…

I call Econo Lodge themselves directly and spoke to Liz she was nice and friendly and took my reservation to stay 2 nights over the phone, I gave her my credit card information and ask her about the cancelation policy. She informed me that less than 24 hrs you can not cancel without being charged 1 night fee. That was fine because I had no intentions of changing my plans. As soon as I hung up the phone I realized I called the WRONG Hotel. I immediately (10 minutes) call back and the manager Keyur answered the phone I explained to him what happened and he rudely said “I was here and over heard her tell you what the cancelation policy was” I explained to him that it was my fault but it had only been 10 minutes so I would hope he would be able to canceled it without and fee. He refused, but he did reduce it down to only ½ night stay of $35.00. I accepted it, as it was my fault, but I still think after only 10 minutes as being booked he should have canceled without a fee…

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestReviewerFrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    39
    14
    30
See reviews for
55
25
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Will never stay here or at partner hotel in the future. Not worth the chance of repeating the worst experience I have ever had. Was completely unable to sleep due to sounds coming right through the door. Not just loud sounds, but all sounds. Door had no seals and had 1 inch gap at both top and bottom opposite corners. Am happy to send pictures. Mgmt told me it was my problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrvelL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Academy, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write us about your recent stay with us. I sincerely do apologize for the inconviniences you encountered during your stay. We often correct any issues that guests experience if those problems are communicated to us in a timely manner. I believe you told us about this problem at the time of check out. We haven't experienced this problem with any other guests that stayed in this room previously. We did give you 20% off your stay becuase of the problems you encountered. We have informed maintenance department regarding the door gap and the problem is being addressed. Thank you again for taking time to write us and we apologize for an unpleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colorado Springs hotels

Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We booked this through hotels.com based on the price. We paid $35 a night. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental with the addition of waffles. Hotel wasn't in bad shape but you could tell it had been used a lot. The room could have been a little cleaner because there was a lot of dust in the AC unit and we found hairs in the beds when we pulled the bed spread off. But since the sheets didn't smell dirty we gave it the benefit of the doubt that the bed wasn't just re-made but just from the housekeeper when she made the bed. We also noticed a smell like smoke eventhough we had a nonsmoking room. If the price had been higher we would have stayed elsewhere. It was just such a good price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sacArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCOS, Owner at Econo Lodge North Academy, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind and helpful review. We try to provide the best product we can with the best price point in the market and am glad to hear that you found our prices attractive. I have instructed our executive houskeeper to hold more training sessions with individual housekepers to do a better job in cleaning. I appreciate you taking time to let us know your candid opinion of our hotel. I am sure other travellers appreciate them as well. Once again, thank you for honest review and hope to see you when your future travels bring you back to Colorado Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Level Contributor
114 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during business travel to Colorado Springs.
I almost never read reviews before posting my own, but in this case I did because I'm shocked at how low the marks are for this place.
I feel I received very good value at this hotel. I paid about $60 for a good sized room that was comfortable. I had only good experiences with the front desk.
It's not that this place is the Ritz, but again, I feel I got a good deal.
I might stay here again on business. It really isn't a "business" hotel, more for the weary traveler on the nearby highway. Still for that person, this Sleep Inn isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valor155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCOS, Owner at Econo Lodge North Academy, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write us and informing possible guest of our hotel's quality. One of the factors that drives & motivates is the value for the price a guest paid. I am delighted to hear that you found a good value in our hotel. Thank you for taking time to write us. Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

COmfortable beds, typical Choice Hotel. Clean. Friendly. Good value for the money spent.

Not a great breakfast. No eggs, or anything.. typical continental fare.. bagels, toast, rolls, juice, coffee.. I prefer a good size hot breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCOS, Owner at Econo Lodge North Academy, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write us. I'm glad to hear that you found our hotel nice and clean. Our staff does a great job in maintaining the hotel as it were their own. Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Let me preface this by saying that I am not the kind of person that usually stays at 4 star hotels. I am used to saving money by staying at cheaper places, and I have grown to really like the comfort inn brand. I also hate it when people put down a cheaper hotel because it doesn't have luxury items like valet parking or a beautiful lobby. Saying that, this hotel was just really bad.
We checked in late and were really tired after driving all day. As soon as we entered the room, it smelled really musty. I should've went back to the counter right then, but we were really tired and just wanted to get some sleep. Got up the next morning and the smell seemed to be even worse. Went to take a shower and there was mold all over the bottom. Went to take a run and the place had no fitness center, was told I had to go next door and they didn't even have a treadmill there either! I asked the clerk if he could recommend a running route and he couldn't help at all. Breakfast was not great either, standard continental breakfast, but it was just not well staffed. Told the counter staff that the room was smelly/moldy and they just said they would fill out a maintenance form. Worse choice hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmichhax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCOS, Owner at Econo Lodge North Academy, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write us. I am so sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. Please accept my sincere apology. I apologize for the room smell and can totally understand not wanting to go back to the front desk after a long day. I travel frequently and can totally vouch for your decision not to go back to the front desk. The room shouldn't have smelled like it did to begin with. I am so sorry that you had to go through it. We try our best to make sure guests start out their day with a good breakfast. I am sorry to hear that the items were not stocked and the breakfast area was not well staffed. I will communicate your displeasures with the rest of the staff and will definately take your comments to motivate us to do a better job. Once again, thank you for taking time to write us and am sorry to hear of the negative impression that our hotel has left for the rest of Choice Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Baymont Inn & Suites Colorado Sp...
#66 of 105 in Colorado Springs
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#24 of 105 in Colorado Springs
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado Springs North
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#57 of 105 in Colorado Springs
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Academy Area
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Ac...
#48 of 105 in Colorado Springs
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#29 of 105 in Colorado Springs
127 reviews
3.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#77 of 105 in Colorado Springs
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Academy

Property: Econo Lodge North Academy
Address: 1075 Kelly Johnson Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3926 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Academy 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Econo Lodge hotel in Colorado Springs offering fabulous accommodations, Clean Rooms, a convenient location, free wireless Internet, and easy access to area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge North Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing