We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing food and drinks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shuga's

Shuga's
Ranked #15 of 1,379 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very quirky spot in a residential neighborhood, which made it more interesting. The drinks were different but delicious, as was the food. Def try the curry shrimp soup!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jt9793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    65
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
496 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service, Okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Tried it on a beautiful early evening and dined outside. Liked the bruschetta appetizers. Ordered the Quiche of the Day on the chalkboard, but when it arrived it was the Brie and Bacon Quiche. I asked the waiter and he said that they'd changed the Quiche of the Day 15 minutes earlier but not told me. Fail. I changed my order to the Salmon Salad Nicoise which was good, but not great. The beet gazpacho soup was very good. My wife ordered the Salade Rue Parisienne and was disappointed with the bland dressing. Service was just occasional, forgetful, and not very good. It took forever for them to pick up the check once I pulled out my credit card and left it visible on the tab. I finally had to flag someone down. I think I'd like to try it again, but the service was just so bad that I probably won't--too many other choices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Smoked Salmon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This place is super quirky and small with an eclectic menu. We sampled several bruschetta, including the BLT, the Brie and Apple and the smoked salmon. They were all good but the salmon was exceptional. They smoke it in house. I highly recommend it. For my lunch I ordered the chicken bahn mi. It was good as sandwiches go but the pickling on the veggies was so subtle it was almost like a regular chicken sandwich with fresh veggies. I expected more acidity. We tried several of the spritzers as beverages and they were all delightful. My favorite was the grapefruit. The service was good, maybe a little slow considering the size if the place but not bad. If I was a local I would be back for sure to try more menu items. My only real complaint about the place was that it was very warm inside. I understand that the weather when I was here was abnormally hot, so maybe it's not an issue most of the time, but it was uncomfortable when I was there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Family of 4 in town on vacation... came here because of location to hotel and the reviews on TA. We have a teen and small one who is a picky eater and were concerned about everyone being happy... but with help from the waitress we had a great meal. Started with the marinated goat cheese jar - wow! Even the teen loved this one. The bread was amazing. Wife had a good greek mykonos salad and a soup of the day. I had the rue parisienne salad - fried egg on top. We loved it. The kids both were happy with there grilled cheese (Shuga's take on it). Ended with almond butter cake. Great dinner. Place is small and was a bit warm inside... but we loved it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whitescATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Located in a residential area away from the main drag but not difficult to find. Good food and service, nice outdoor seating. At first we thought it might be more of a bar/drinking place but they have a good menu (and a full bar).

My husband and I had a heavy meal earlier in the day so found some lighter selections on the menu to be just what we needed. Recommend the Brazil shrimp soup. Worth checking out if you're in Colorado Springs. Probably best for adults/couples.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingLombards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuga's also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Shuga's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing