We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great drinks, and great atmosphere”
Review of Shuga's Restaurant

Shuga's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 1,430 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Established in 2001. Shuga's was created by Alexius Weston as a place to hang out with great food and really inventive cocktails. She had just come from the Northwest area of the country and wanted to create a cool space where she felt comfortable. Initially focusing on Vivace espresso as a delicious mainstay, the place soon morphed into serving amazing paninis, salads, and the out-of-this-world Brazilian Coconut Shrimp Soup. The infusion of Lavender Martinis and cocktails created with care helped launch Shuga's into the forefront of the local Colorado Springs food scene.
Palmer Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great drinks, and great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First time there we stopped in and the place was packed, we grabbed the only open table and we're quickly greeted and taken care of. We got some delicious cocktails (I had the raccoon shrub martini which was amazing, also the beet martini) and then a quick lunch, I had Brazilian shrimp soup which was perfectly balanced between light and refreshing, and earthy and complex flavors. There was a lot of great art to look at on the wall and a semi-open kitchen.

Would definitely recommend for anything from a quick lunch to a romantic evening to bar hopping with friends. Thanks shuga's! We loved it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girlanachorism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    70
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tried to go”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We had seen such good reviews and the menu looked awesome. We always like to try new restaurants that aren't chains when we travel. We went by twice during our stay and both times the sign said open but it was closed with chairs on top of the tables. It had a small front patio and a larger one in back. It looked like a fun place to be. Wish we could have eaten there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a favorite!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I make sure to eat at Shuga's whenever I am in town. The lavender lemonade is delicious and I have never been disappointed with the food. The indoors seating can be a bit noisy and cramped at times, but it is definitely worth it. The outside seating is lovely when the weather is right. I've had several soups here that are wonderful! Parking can be a challenge when they are especially busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Such an unexpected treat”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were told to try this place and were SO glad for the recommendation. We got there between lunch and dinner so it was quiet. We sat on the patio and enjoyed one of the most pleasant eating experiences! Great service, reasonable prices and unique delicious food. Yes, the cafe sampler was amazing! Will return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
158 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Shuga's does everything right, and you won't be disappointed. Portions are not large, but the food is excellent. I love the sandwiches and always get a side of Brazilian Coconut Soup. The drinks are great also and there is a vibrant late evening/night scene. A must stop in Colorado Springs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovesEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuga's Restaurant also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Shuga's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing