We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Food”
Review of Shuga's Restaurant

Shuga's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 1,438 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Established in 2001. Shuga's was created by Alexius Weston as a place to hang out with great food and really inventive cocktails. She had just come from the Northwest area of the country and wanted to create a cool space where she felt comfortable. Initially focusing on Vivace espresso as a delicious mainstay, the place soon morphed into serving amazing paninis, salads, and the out-of-this-world Brazilian Coconut Shrimp Soup. The infusion of Lavender Martinis and cocktails created with care helped launch Shuga's into the forefront of the local Colorado Springs food scene.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Super Food”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

They are not kidding about the "spicy" in the soup but it's wonderful. Sandwiches are awsome. Go with a friend and share halves of two different ones. Better yet, find more friends so you can taste even more choices. This is a great spot for lunch. Easy to find, close to downtown, lots of parking. The food is unique and delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    70
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Shuga's Gives You All the "Shuga" You Want!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Shuga's Gives You All the "Shuga" You Want!! In Greenwich Village, Manitou Springs or any big College town, "Shuga's" fits right in. The food, whether salads, soups or sandwiches, is very good. It is better with a chilled glass of Pinot Gris, Sauvignon Blanc or Chardonnay sipped which listening to the original blues sugar of Billie Holiday. Bistro atmosphere with better cuisine offerings than anticipated. We will be back. Shuga's gives "shuga' to your palate and senses of sight and sound. Great place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SonderOffizier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were VERY pleased with this restaurant and would highly recommend it. The food was delicious and the service was great. The prices were reasonable and the food was fresh and tasty. Prices were around $6-15/dish. It got a little loud in the restaurant when it got busy. Very unique place, not just your average restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I've only been here a couple of times with friends, but I love it here. The drinks are great, always something fun to try and the food is outstanding. I've never had something I didn't like. Add that to the fun quirky atmosphere that's relaxed and appropriate for a nice dinner date all at the same time, you can't beat it. Have to try the coconut shrimp soup if you like a little spice. We could use more restaraunts like this in the Springs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsH1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun Place, Friendly Service”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough. The food was delicious. We had 2 soups. Their Spicy Brazilian Coconut Shrimp which lived up to the hype (so it's not hype!) and a special Gazpacho Verde -- also spicy and good. Our sandwiches were all great, too. We tried the Quebec, Avocado BLT, and Northwest Pita (see photo with the Gazpacho in a soup & sandwich combo.) The room is definitely more than a diner. It was an eclectic ensemble of fun furnishings, art, and design. It's a nice place to have a fun meal with great food, cool ambiance, and friendly service. I can't wait to go back to Colorado Springs to eat here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuga's Restaurant also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Shuga's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing