We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Western States
1 review
“What a dump!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

Wasted $252.00 of hard earned money. Nothing was as advertised. I would start by firing everyone at the front desk. Filthy dirty. Cold. No breakfast. The exersize area was a complete joke. Check it out than run don't walk to another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelorrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilkins1691, owner at The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Let me start by offering my sincere apology for your negative experience. I have to admit that I am somewhat confused about the comments. We have a complimentary daily full breakfast buffet from 6:30 AM-9:30 AM and have just added a made to order omelette and waffle bar. Our fitness center is equipped with state of the art Precor cardio equipment and a Hoist multi station weight machine. For those who need more, we offer complimentary day passes to the nearby Bally's Fitness Center. Again, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please feel free to call the Hotel and ask for me, I would love to try to make things right and earn a valuable customer's business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    670
    297
    119
    71
See reviews for
1,056
445
78
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

My husband and son stayed here for one night. The hotel was good, the breakfast was fantastic, the hot tub was broken. The kicker for us was that my son left his iPod docking station behind when they checked out. 6 hours later when they returned home we called the hotel and left a message with housecleaning/lost and found. The next day I called again, again leaving a message. That was Tuesday. By Friday we still had not heard back from the hotel, so I called and talked with someone at the front desk, who finally connected me to a live housecleaning staff member. She gave me an incredibly lame excuse for not returning our calls, and then informed me that none of her staff had reported finding anything. No apology, nothing. This thing was at least 8 inches in diameter, shaped like a sphere, and white. Fact: my kid left it in the room. Fact: we never got it back. My guess is that someone in housekeeping now has a new toy. So if they'll steal something like that, then they'll steal anything. Don't stay here - this hotel has no integrity.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whidbeygal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

Very clean, great spacious rooms, quiet quiet quiet. Never heard a thing in the hall up above or below our room. Breakfast buffet came with the room, had so much to offer on it and very tasty. Swimming pool was nice, went to 7-8 ft. Hot tub was outside which I found kind of cool. Staff very accommodating to guests needs. Prices were lower than we thought when checking in, that was a surprise. We ended up staying a second night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngtynrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

Stayed here for five nights and, for the $$, was very impressed. Everything clean, everything in working order, nice staff, in-house restaurant, covered pool so swimming in winter is possible. Only things I didn't like were a small-ish closet and a bathroom that was a little cramped -- but did have a heat lamp for those cold mornings. Fridge in room. Movies, shopping, and decent restaurants within easy driving distance. This place is also directly across the freeway from the south entrance to the Air Force Academy. If you're looking for something that's nice, not too fancy, and a good value, this is it.

  • Liked — Location, staff, room size, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Cramped bathroom, but I consider that a minor irritation
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jay_LA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

We were coming home from Thanksgiving when we got caught in a snow storm. Had my son book online so didn't know what we were going to. It was very easy to find and the atrium was very beautiful. We used the pool(inside and quite large) and hot tub. The hot tub was outside and it was snowing. The grandkids had a great time catching snowflakes. Breakfast was great. It was a full buffet with fruit, eggs, ham, sausage, biscuits & gravy, and lots of other items including juices and other beverages. This was all included in our room rate.

  • Liked — Easy access and Breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Regulating the heater
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ducksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Hotel hadn't processed my Expedia booking, but apart from that, the stay was good value. Only paid £27 per night. £40 would have been about par. Good location for food places, Interstate 25 and all the Colorado Springs attractions. Car essential though.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Not being expected on my arrival!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobTheUKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

We held our 60-person family reunion at The Academy Hotel over Father's Day weekend, and it absolutely couldn't have been better! As Aunt B... said, "I always stay in Best Western and this is the best Best Western I've ever stayed in." We were treated like family, not like a corporate account, and were never made to feel like our special requests were a bother. We were never told, "No you can't," but rather, "Let's see how we can make it work." That is an attitude that can't be bought.

Personnel: Owners Frank and Marvel Thompson were always on site to make sure everything was going right. Suzy Esposito, the sales manager, was fantastic about the plans. The caterer helped us tailor our banquet to Midwestern comfort food tastes, and her assistant smiled and rolled with it when we had more people show up at the last minute than planned. From the desk staff to the maintenance crew, they responded to our questions with immediate help, not with "Go ask ... " (Isn't that refreshing.)

Facility: The layout of the hotel is great. The well-lighted indoor atrium includes a nice open restaurant, lounge areas, several fountains, and a swimming pool, so situated that it doesn't intrude on the tranquility of the atrium. Enterprise has a car-rental office there, which worked well for us, as we needed 15-passenger vans for our excursions. Our hospitality room was neatly cleaned every night, in spite of all the stuff we left there. The banquet room they gave us was perfect for our doin's. We had musicians with guitars, mikes and amplifiers, and because of the layout of the hotel, we didn't bother anyone late at night. Our only issue was that the elevator to the upstairs banquet room was through the kitchen to the service elevator. Not exactly attractive, but we had some laughs.

Location: Perfect for tourists and groups. Extremely easy to find, across from a mall, 15 or more restaurants within a couple blocks, by north gate of the Air Force Academy, ten minutes from Garden of the Gods, twenty minutes to Pikes Peak Cog Railway. Colorado Springs is an easy little city to drive in, and nothing is very far away.

Rooms: Our suite had a sleep-number bed , a large shower with two shower heads, a jacuzzi, and was huge. We had over fifteen people visiting one night and weren't crowded. I have stayed in the regular rooms before, and they are very nice as well. And ladies, the magnifying make-up mirror in every room is a beauty. No leaning over a wet counter to put on the war paint. (Small thing, but a pleasure.) Everything was clean and well kept. The light oak furniture isn't the cheap fake dark stuff you find in most hotels, but has substance and clean lines, really capturing the flavor of the west without being kitchy. The artwork and general decor was just right, no coyotes and cactus stuff. Some of the plumbing fixtures could use updating, showing some tarnish/rust., but that is small potatoes compared to the overall picture.

On-site restaurant and food: The full hot restaurant buffet breakfast is included with your room rate, and it is delicious. Buffet scrambled eggs are usually pretty marginal, but these folks know how to do them right. Real homemade biscuits and gravy, grits, sausage, lots of muffins, cheese danish, bagels, hot toast, fruit, lots of juices, this is definitely not your continental do-it-yourself breakfast. The wait staff was personable, especially Meow (yes, like the cat), and Chico, and the atmosphere relaxed. Some of our people never left the hotel to eat, because the wide variety of the menu and the reasonable prices made it a great choice for meals. And then the champagne brunch on Sunday was...oh baby...hold me back. The big guys have nothing on this one but quantity. Even a chocolate fountain! Wycliff Champage and orange juice on the table to mix your own mimosas. A pianist with a repetoire that can't be beat. We had a blast. Then our banquet dinner was a hit, tailored to us, and they let us bring our own wine, too. Most places won't let you do that.

Those little extras: They will gladly fill your cooler with ice at the restaurant! Rick from maintenance helped us gals schlep the sound equipment upstairs. And the whole facility is no smoking!

Overall: If you want to overspend your event budget, have your people gasp at the rates, be treated like a number, be contracted to death, and feel like you could be in AnyCity, USA, go the the bigname suites or whatever. But if you want your group to be pleasantly surprised at the cost, feel valued and at home in a beautiful setting in Colorado Springs, stay here. You won't have any regrets!

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff, on-site restaurant, nice rooms, atrium, shuttle from airport.
  • Disliked — Service elevator to upstairs banquet room I guess.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maihridh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing