We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is perfect for exploring the area - central to shops and various facilities
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and fresh, breakfast was more than sufficient! Great selection. Lounge is good to relax in at night. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    701
    315
    126
    71
See reviews for
1,112
462
80
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel many times and before this visit have always been satisfied. This time might have been our last, our room wasn't ready when we got there (housekeeping was still in it when we got to it). We ordered room service and they forgot parts of both our dishes then were very rude when delivering what was left out. The hotel itself is unique and has a friendly feel to it which is why we have returned at least once a year, unfortunately after this time I think we'll be looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for our honeymoon a year ago. This year since there was so many things still to do in Co Springs we came back and brought our kids and my parents. Rooms we stayed in had just got little bit of a upgrade but still smelt moldy. We stayed here again because we loved the amenities. The pool was nice although they switched to some really cheap, tiny & scratchy towels at the pool. Breakfast was good besides being given the wrong omelet twice on different days. Good thing I'm not allergic to mushrooms!! The last evening we were there a big group of kids came in and they ran wild all over the place. I don't understand why they weren't asked to stay in their rooms or stop running. One teen ran into my parents room by accident and then was rude upon leaving. We called Falcons Grill to ask about their pizza and was told their room service was down and it would be an hour before we could order. When we asked if they could tell us a good place that would deliver to the hotel we were rudely told to call around and ask ourselves and hung up on us. Overall the stay was mediocre and not worth what we paid. If we come back to Colorado its not likely we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: We had rooms 153 &155 great mountain view bt right by an exit and stairway so when people come a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The room we stayed in smelled very musty or moldy. I went to Walmart and bought Febreeze with I sprayed several times a day. It helped a little. We stayed in the room because the location was nice, and the hotel amenities were good. The breakfast choices were great, unlike other places we stayed at during our trip. The pool area and arcade were fun for the kids. The fire place and water fall features were my favorite. Not sure what was going on, but the first couple of days we stayed at they had a bit of a garbage problem. Overflowing and stacked up in the parking lot. It was very disgusting. Not sure if I would stay again, but I wouldn't rule them out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trschmidt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel about 10 times. Usually in the Tower. We found that the beds on the first and second floors were generally too soft. So on this trip, we requested a firm mattress. Received an upgrade to room 455. This was a nice firm mattress. Much appreciated. The I-25 road noise and train noise were a little annoying, but we're used to that. Will request the same firm mattress on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

From the reviews I thought this looked like a great local hotel, but I was wrong. We should've gone with a chain hotel. The entire hotel was old and outdated. The supposed breakfast buffet was absolutely terrible. The prime rib came out well done when we ordered rare and they ran out of baked potatoes. They didn't take care if it, still charged us full price. The room was just fair on the cleanliness. The a/c was moldy and didn't run properly. We had it on 62 and it never got below 75. The only thing good about the hotel was the guy who checked us in when we arrived, Robert. Extremely friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is an awesome hotel...Great atmosphere, great breakfast buffet, wonderful indoor pool, and comfortable rooms. The prices are very affordable for the area and it is close to all attractions of Colorado Springs. STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,251 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,886 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,350 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#8 of 105 in Colorado Springs
909 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing