We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our stay was amazing. Our decision to book the jacuzzi suite was perfect! The room was huge and the jacuzzi tub was extremely relaxing. The view of the mountains from the room was fantastic. The breakfast buffet was a great added bonus. We stay here everytime we visit The Springs.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_210TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    709
    319
    133
    72
See reviews for
1,128
467
80
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We travel often. We stay in more upscale lodgings. However, this place was a gem and obviously family oriented. We have a brood of 5 kids and everyone of them picked this as their favorite lodging on our spring break vacation. this after staying in resorts in Breckenridge.

The breakfast was a a nice touch. Its a big deal at the Academy Hotel. Cafeteria quality food but the kids dont notice and its a huge upgrade from the standard "continental breakfasts"

The staff is amazingly super-friendly too!

(I wrote this review on my phone)

Room Tip: Avoid the family suite. You will end up needing rollaways because the sleeper sofas' mattresses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brood_Patriarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here two nights while looking around Colorado Springs as we are moving here in the Summer. Centrally located with easy access to the highways. We reserved a pet friendly room as we brought along our small dog. The room was a little dated but was clean and fit our needs. I assume we probably got an older room since it is a pet friendly room which is understandable. Had a room overlooking the lobby/pool area which was nice to take a peek at how busy the pool was for our kids.

The breakfast here is outstanding for being complimentary. Nice variety and fresh each morning with complimentary juices and coffee. We will probably stay here again in a month or so when we are back in the springs again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our first time in Colorado and we took extra effort to make our stay hassle free and wonderful without necessarily breaking the piggy bank. The academy hotel exceeded all our expectations. The staff were all friendly and the ambience was lively. The kids loved the pool even as we loved lounging by the fireplace. One day we're quite apprehensive as we left some valuables in the room without putting the no disturb sign on the door. There were reports about guest missing some valuables in their room. But not in this hotel. Whoever is in charge of the housekeeping should be commended for their honesty. And before I forget, the breakfast is way better than we thought. For the price, this hotel is the best.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUENA VISTA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Academy Hotel is our favorite place to stay in Colorado Springs. The rooms are nice. They have all new Tempur-pedic mattresses throughout. My husband loves the breakfast with fresh waffles and omelets. On site is a restaurant, pool and jacuzzi. The staff always remembers us and we are often greeted with a hug. The hotel is conveniently located off I-25 and is on Academy Blvd near many restaurants, a mall and shops. There is always fresh water available with lemon or orange slices in the lobby. Cookies at check in!

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LassieBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here with my 3 year old, 6 year old, and my sister. Great experience. The pool was a little cold and they need a bigger hot tub because that thing is always crowded! Beautiful place though. Great breakfast, rooms are nice. Staff are very friendly and helpful! I have stayed here three or four times and I always go back.

Room Tip: All good. I have heard the executive tower rooms are better, but I haven't stayed in those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elements84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was looking at this and another hotel in Colorado Springs for family get away. This appeared more family friendly. We got 2 rooms for family the one me my wife and daughter was the king jacuzzi suite and it was huge and a very good room for families with lots of room and the added bonus of a dinning table in living area as well as balcony with view of mountains. The bed was awesome with being a temperpedic mattress. The grandparents got a executive double queen and it was nice. After arriving I was impressed with lobby with pool, restaurant, and a kids game area there. As well as a huge area to sit by the fire in many soft lounge recliners and couches. One disappointment was front desk. Some seemed a little slow with check ins of guest and during the week I did observe the desk empty and had to wait a while for someone to get there, but after they did they was very friendly. The restaurant had some good food a little overpriced on some things. Service was a little off with a very nice waitress but with some mistakes. If you want a steak be sure to order the ribeye and not the sirloin. The sirloin is way overpriced for the size of steak. It seemed to be about a 4-5oz steak. The ribeye seems to be about a 9-10oz steak. I also had the prime rib for the weekend deal and it was good. Pizza was ok and we had that as a room service on one night. Housekeeping was good always kept us stocked on towels and took the time to arrange my daughters stuffed animals on her pull out bed. Pool was nice and warm but with it being in lobby area, it was a little nippy when you get out and it seems they use a little to much chemicals as everyone that swam ended up red after swimming from reactions to the water.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi king higher up for mountain views and peace and family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazman569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,406 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
758 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 105 in Colorado Springs
929 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing