We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a good experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our daughter goes to college in Colorado Springs and we always book directly and stay at this hotel when we visit. Just can't beat the price, location, large swimming pool or the fabulous complimentary breakfast. We love Patrick's omelets every morning and the $10 vouchers for the restaurant & bar. The rooms are clean & spacious and have black out shades. We've stayed other places but the Academy Hotel is the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westcolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    701
    315
    126
    71
See reviews for
1,112
462
80
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is not super updated, but the linens are clean, wifi is reliable, and lounge area is nice. Great complimentary breakfast and wonderful restaurant staff. We didn't do dinner in the restaurant, but instead used our $10 dinner vouchers (you get these if you book directly through the hotel) on drinks and snacks. Hotel staff were prompt, courteous, and welcoming. Bonus: we had an awesome view of the mountains from our first floor room. Only negatives were the slightly dated bathroom and television. Some of the room items were dated (like the 1980s alarm clock), but they seemed to match the rugged Colorado surroundings, and felt comfortable rather than awkward. Overall, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Both rooms we saw were quite nice, but book directly through the hotel to get extras.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel uses shower/sink dispensers for shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hand soap, and lotion. Not the highest quality stuff, but decent enough that I didn't bother to unpack my own stuff.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Excellent 3 star hotel. Staff very friendly and accommodating. One of the best breakfast buffets we have had for this level of hotel. Rooms were large and clean. Bed was comfortable. Microwave and fridge in room clean and in good working order. We will definately stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: If you book directly you get a $10 voucher for the restaurant bar for each night you stay.
See more room tips
Green Features: Industry standard for towels, sheets, and toiletries.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is located in a corner of I-25 and N. Academy. This is at the very north end of town which was a little out-of-the-way for where I needed to be, but easily accessible. I showed up at 6:30 p.m. on a Thursday night without reservations. They were able to accommodate me and my 8 pound, 4-legged travelling companion (a toy poodle) for 4 nights at a price that was really reasonable. The room was clean and comfortable. While I like a harder bed, it was comfortable enough to give me a decent night's sleep. Rather than a bedspread, it was covered with a duvet that gets changed with every linen change. There was a small refrigerator, coffee pot, iron & ironing board, hair dryer and a TV that worked in the room. When the remote quit, I took it to the front desk and they politely fixed it. The hotel promotes eco-friendly practices such as recycling and not changing the linens everyday. They provide soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc. in dispensers instead of the little bottles and packages of soaps. They also have free Wi-Fi. The AC/Heating unit was quiet and easy to adjust. If you book your room directly with them instead of going through something like hotels.com, they will give you a $10 off dinner voucher for each night you stay to be used at the Falcon's Bar & Grill located inside the hotel. One night, dinner cost me $0.74. Such a deal! The lobby is very nicely filled with plants, fountains, a fire-side lounge area, a patio outside the Falcon's Bar & Grill, and a small pool area. The pool is hidden behind a fence and plants. You get a breakfast voucher for each night you stay. Breakfast was quite a treat. Besides the usual cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast, donuts, milk, juice, coffee, tea, and make-your-own-waffles; there were make-your-own breakfast burrito fixings, sausage & gravy, French toast, fluffy scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, and made-to-order omelets. That is a good deal, too! I was really amazed at how quiet the hotel was. My room was 3 doors down from the lobby. I did not hear people walking down the hall. I did not hear the Mariachi band that played in the lobby on Saturday night. I did not hear people swimming in the pool. I did not hear the dinner crowd at the bar & grill nor the large party going on in the lobby. There is room for improvement, but I was totally pleased.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room before you agree to it. This is common practice in Europe.
See more room tips
Green Features: I firmly believe in environmentally-friendly practices and was really pleased to see the hotel promote them, too. There is a recycling trash can in the room and they give guests the choice of reusing towels and linens.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

After seeing so many positive reviews here, I thought it's gonna be a great stay here in Academy hotel... and it was actually not. Their Leisure room was so outdated and dirty. AC/Heating unit was very loud and I wasn't able to sleep well. Furnitures are also old and there are dusts everywhere. Even pillows and bed covers looked like a ten years old one. Breakfast was obviously not bad but not something like hilarious or wow factor. Won't stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prove987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The breakfast is good for a quick bite and great for families. The rooms are nice and clean although bathrooms are dated. The heating and AC is somewhat loud but the rooms are still comfortable and a good location and price for the area.

Room Tip: Get either the Executive or even better, the concierge level for a business class experience. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondville, Wyoming, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the bar & grill food is wonderful. The rooms are average, I agree with
not changing sheets everyday, but the I did think that they should be vacuumed and dusted everyday, so the maid service was below expectation. The ice machine on the third floor never did work all the time I was there. Some light bulbs were burned out. The TV remote quit, and I called the front desk to tell them and he was very short and rude.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,251 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,886 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,352 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 105 in Colorado Springs
909 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing