We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pride of the Rockies Weekend Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pride of the Rockies Weekend Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for the past 4 years during the Pride of the Rockies tournament. Each year has been a pleaurable experience. This year was a little different. Friday night was nice. The employees were very friendly. However the owner didn't make a good impression on me! Late Saturday night, he was in the bar and was really drunk. He caused a huge scene and made another team mom very upset because he was going through her bag. He was very drunk and said some nasty things.
I left the bar area to go to bed because I was ashamed of how an owner of a business like this could act this way. He is risking his loyal clients not coming back in the following years.

Our league and team will have to think twice about staying here next year.

Leslie Tancredo

Room Tip: Executive Suite has better beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    659
    285
    119
    69
See reviews for
1,038
435
77
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

When I read the reviews I was excited to have a nice hotel right next to the Air Force Academy. My husband is a "76" Grad and wanted to show his son all around.
As we entered the hotel is seemed nice, and the staff was very friendly. They didn't have any rooms with a view of the mountains left, although I had requested that when I made the reservations. The gentleman at the counter was very pleasant and said they only had a second floor room with no elevator to take up the luggage.
We decided to look at the one bedroom suite before moving all our luggage in. So glad we did. I asked for a 1 bedroom suite with 2 queen beds so our son could either sleep in the extra bed or the pullout couch in the separate room.
As we walked into the room it was a narrow hall to get into a tiny area with a couch. We had a hard time finding the light switch since everything was so dark. The room was old, and not big enough to open the hide a bed without moving a large piece of furniture. My husband wanted to see what kind of view we had so he rolled up the very old plastic shade and saw the lobby .All the trees with twinkle lights, lots of people and more. The only way to have privacy was to pull down the shade and be in the dark.
Just for kicks we went into the bedroom where we had to trip over things to find a light next to the bed. As we opened the shade in that room ( again very dark and old) we saw part of the lobby and also the dumpster outside right next to the room.
Needless to say we did NOT stay there. They were very nice about it and we found a hotel much close to the USAFA , with a balcony that had a beautiful view of the mountains. The price was less as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesoutdoors_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Academy Hotel. The room was OK....similar to most properties in this price range. It was clean, showed a little wear, but perfectly acceptable. The beds were comfy. And then there was the breakfast!!! Great selection of anything you might want and all very tasty. We also enjoyed the $10 vouchers given for booking directly with the hotel. One night we had burgers in the restaurant. The other we had free ice cream sundaes. The atrium is pleasant and the pool looked nice though we did not use it. I think we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had previously posted a very negative review complete with some revealing photos of this hotel, but due a changing situation, I decided to remove the poor review and write a new one. Although I would never recommend this property, I did feel there were some missing facts that needed to be included so that travelers could make an informed decision on choosing to stay here.

As stated in my original review, we were given a room in the Executive Tower on the second floor. The room was not in good condition and was quite small. The photos on the website didn’t resemble our room at all. There was considerable mold and mildew in the bathroom, particularly around the tub and on the ceiling. There were several cracks in the tile work. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable, and the furniture was nicked and scratched.

I did go to the front desk to see if there was a larger room available that was not as run down. I was told the only larger room they had was a king suite with sofa bed that was not serviced by an elevator. Although the room did look cleaner, this was not workable for us, as we had heavy luggage and 3 people. I don’t believe in having a member of our party sleep in a sofa bed. We felt we had little choice but to check out after 1 night, despite that we had originally booked 5 nights. We did not shower the night we stayed here due to the poor bathroom condition, and we did not sleep well due to the inferior mattress and pillow quality.

As others have mentioned, the breakfast seems to be main draw here. Although there were many choices, and the food was certainly above average, it didn’t appear our table had been cleaned from the previous night. We found dried rice on the table.

I received a response from the owner of the Academy Hotel, John Wilkins, regarding my review on this site. He apologized for our experience and told me to “feel free to contact him at the hotel and he would do everything he could to make things right.” I decided to contact Mr. Wilkins. He spoke to me and once again apologized for the condition of the room. He assured me this was an unusual occurrence and that he was taking measures to fix the issues. Mr. Wilkins said he wished he had known of our problems while we were there. Overall, I was pleased with the solution he provided to me.

Due to this recent turn of events, I decided to remove my previous review and write a new one. I also chose to not repost the pictures I had previously submitted. Although I was happy with Mr. Wilkins response to my complaint, I genuinely feel he should have never let the room get into this condition to start with. I let him know this before our phone conversation concluded. Entering a room in poor condition just gives the guests such a negative impression.

I cannot recommend this property based on the room we were assigned. However, I can only hope that Mr. Wilkins’ assessment of this situation being a rare occasion to be accurate. Many thanks to John Wilkins for hearing my complaints and taking action.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slrtravelplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vesper, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Academy Hotel was a very nice base for our stay in Colorado Springs. We stayed 3 nights and were very comfortable there. The lobby was large and very inviting. The restaurant had very good food (with a daily coupon if you book through them making it very reasonable.) The best was the breakfast. Made to order omelets, a waffle making station, tons of hot and cold items to start your day and all for free. By the way, Patrick made our omelets every morning. He makes a fabulous omelet, but he does an even better job making guests feel comfortable. He could tell when someone new to the hotel came down for breakfast and would call you over right away to explain the process. He was a wealth of information for area attractions with directions and price info, even told us what roads to avoid after the unfortunate flooding in nearby Manitou Springs. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor. Better view and less noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a handicapped room on the first floor...

The overall stay was very good. Service was very good; the food in the restaurant & the breakfast buffet was very good; the staff was friendly and very accommodating; the rooms were very comfortable.

On the negative side -

_No ventilation in the bathroom...uncomfortable.

_Promised handicapped shower chair did not fit in the tub, unless one straddled it :-( ; however, it did have plenty of handicapped rails in the bathtub, so usable for us.

_That pool should be in a separate room - not the lobby! Way too noisy and makes the lobby area very humid. Isn't there a way to enclose it?

Also, on our first night, there was a wedding reception going on in the lobby. Our handicapped room was right off the lobby. Even though I kept closing the double glass doors leading into the lobby, the loud music and microphoned MC were a bit uncomfortable for us...ESPECIALLY while we tried to have dinner with our relatives at your restaurant during this reception! Very uncomfortable...not to mention we almost felt like we were intruding on their event... We probably should have gone out to another restaurant, but we were given a $10 voucher for each night. And the food was very good... We just couldn't talk with each other while dining...

I would stay there again - but would first check to make sure there wasn't a wedding reception or other event going on in the lobby.

Room Tip: If you need a handicap room, be sure to request one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed two nights and will stay here again when we are in the area. Very clean with comfortable bed and quiet room. Professional friendly staff and the breakfast was amazing! We were also each given a $10 voucher to be used in the hotels's own restaurant. One voucher for per night. Great value!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SACALLAHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing