We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We stayed for one night in May 2008 while on a tour of the area. The hotel itself is pleasant enough but, it is showing signs of it's age and could definately do with a freshen up in some areas - especially around the pool where the moisture has resulted in some very visible mould-like growths on the surrounding walls.

The room we had was on the ground floor, nicely sized with all the ammenities you would expect and was perfectly adequate for the overnight stop we needed.

We didn't eat in the hotel at night preferring to try out the nearby Saltgrass Steak House which was brilliant. A perfectly reasonable and decent buffet breakfast in the morning finished off our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrunchieBite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,308)
There are newer reviews for The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,269 - 2,275 of 2,308 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2008

My daughter and I, along with two grand-daughters(2 and 5 years old) took a "girls" trip to Springs to see Cheyenne Mountain Zoo and other sites. When I entered and saw the indoor pool right in the lobby area I knew the girls would love it. I was right. Water temp was great and we hopped right out the door to hot tub. We were on the 4th floor(right near elevator) and had great view of the mountains. Was pleasantly surprised to have full breakfast buffet instead of just Continental. Wait staff was extremely nice to the girls. I used my AAA card and rate was great. We got lucky when we played punt and chose the Academy Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank getwhilegettinsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

My sister and I took our daughters to Colorado Springs for a 3 day weekend getaway. We chose the Best Western Acadamy due to it's easy to get to location and the good price. Overall we were happy with our stay. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful so it gave a good first impression.

Our room was a bit small for 2 adults and 3 kids, but it was adequate. We do not expect total luxury for $76 per night for 5 people. Everything was in working order so we had no complaints with the very clean room. Next time we will request a west facing room so we can have views of Pikes Peak.

The free breakfast was offered to us for both mornings and was a nice gesture. It was a big step up from the usual free mufins and fruit fare. This offered cooked meats, pancakes and REAL eggs. I am an institutional cook so I know real eggs from pre-fabricated egg products. Though none of it was amazingly different or creative, it was tasty and filling.

The only problem we encountered was with the pool. I did not use it myself, but my kids and my sister did. They complained that it was freezing cold. We did mention it to a staff member who claimed they would look into it. However the next night was just as cold. One of the reasons we booked a hotel with a pool was to give the kids a break from us moms shopping. Not much use if it's too cold to use eh?

Also the hot tub was an issue. Due to the cold temp of the pool, a turn in the hot tub would have been nice. However, there was only one hot tub and in a hotel this size, definately not adequate. There were certain patrons that literally used the hot tub all evening, not giving the other patrons a chance to enjoy. The last night, they did get a chance to get into the hot tub and after 10 minutes, they were kicked out by a staff member claiming that it underwent a "cleaning cycle" . Ok, no problem until a group of teenage girls immediately got in and were not asked to leave due to the "cleaning cycle". We were not thrilled by the dishonesty of this staff member. A simple "would you mind rationing your time so these girls can have a turn too? " would have been ok, but to lie about it? And considering that none of the other patrons had ever been asked to leave for our party to get in, the whole experience was a put off. If one does book this hotel, do not do it under the premise that the pool and hot tub are positive aspects. The rest of the facility was great, but one can't expect anything wonderful about this area. By the way, we were not the only family offended by this experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kansasbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Stayed for two nights. Initially very impressed with value of the hotel. Hotel was showing some signs of age, but was clean and comfortable. Staff was pleasant and attentive. Breakfast buffet was well prepared, with good selection. Pool was clean and comfortable.

But, on second (Saturday) night, the atrium was rented for a wedding party and the band LOUD and LONG. This would have been only annoying if they had ended at a sane time, like 11:00 or so, but they only got louder until they finally stopped after 1:00. Although we were not adjacent to the atrium, it was still too loud to sleep. After calling the front desk three times, there was no change (we were told that it would end by 12:00, which was obviously wrong.)

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mmmDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

At check in we were being charged $30 a night above the price we were given at reservation.

We were placed on the 2nd floor of the 'B' wing, which has no elevators to the 2nd floor. We requested to be moved and told the only rooms available would be at a higher price with no discount.

Our daughter's bed had an exposed broken metal strut resulting in a 2in laceration to my leg. They did replace the bed frame, but did not seem to care about the injury.

A party was held in the atruim during our visit and the staff blocked off the walkway from our building into the main hotel. To travel beyond the pool required either going through the bar with our 10 year old daughter, or walking around the outside of the building.

The majority of the front desk staff were rude, used profanity and were openly ridiculing the clothing and appearance of guests as they entered the front doors.

The only positive aspect was the cleaning and maintenance staff. They were friendly, helpful and genuinly seemed to care about the guests.

We ended up filing a formal complaint with the Best Western Chain.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rhayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Here for a hockey tournament in Feb 07. Nice room, clean and friendly staff. The atrium was perfect for dining and socializing - and we appreciated the staff's attention to making sure the kids didn't run rampant (as can happen with hockey tournaments). Near LOTS of restaurants, across the street from a mall, convenient to the rinks and freeway. Close to the Air Force Academy, so we enjoyed a trip to Sunday Mass there -- check it out on-line for Catholic and Protestant services at the AFA Chapel -- very nice scenery and services.

Stayed: February 2006
Thank nmtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Very clean hotel, close to a large shopping area. The only complaint we have is that the pool was freezing cold!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NJ_Geology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,453 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,927 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,301 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 105 in Colorado Springs
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#10 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $93 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing