We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Lobby was spacious and rooms were very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but the shower was very nice. The kids loved the pool which was in the lobby. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Full breakfast and a chef making omlets and eggs to order. Very nice stay and good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationwarrior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    688
    312
    121
    71
See reviews for
1,094
458
80
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leawood
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My only complaint about this hotel was that they obviously have a moisture issue in the bathrooms. There was mold on the ceiling and also in the joints between the back & the sides of the tub insert. The wallpaper was stained & there was mold under the rim of the sink. Otherwise, it was spotless. Kind of a shame.

The breakfast was standard fare, except for the amazing omelet bar! Patrick is this awesome omelet chef making 4 or 5 omelets at once. He somehow remembers exactly what everyone orders during the chaos of the morning rush. Super nice guy!

I would stay here again, but hopefully they will figure out a way to deal with the moisture/mold issue.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Arriving after dark, the hotel was jam packed, learning that there were many fire evacuees staying at the hotel. The front desk was efficient altho not overtly welcoming - just baseline professional. We had trouble finding the back entry door with the map provided and as luck would have it, the magnetic key did not work (OK, it took 12-15 tries but eventually I got the hang of it). Once we finally found the sole elevator and reached our room, we had traveled for what seemed like forever. Not a good start for a late night arrival. The room was nicely decorated as is the bath but rather small by current standards but all were extremely clean and more than adequate. We were in the “tower” which apparently are the newer rooms of the complex. We headed for a night cap at the bar, still lively later in the evening and talked in the atrium lobby, circa 1970’s vintage and somehow large and cozy at the same time and not disagreeable at all.

In the morning, I couldn’t get the Wi-Fi to work in the room so made it to the lobby for better reception. The pool is strangely situated right in the atrium lobby of the hotel but seemed quite popular early morning and late night. Breakfast, certainly the hotel’s strongpoint, is quite the production and altho the food doesn’t reach the quality heights of some other hotels I’ve visited, everything was good and there was a vast selection. The omelet station proved popular and the chef was a master with about 6 burners going all at once. I tipped for the shear entertainment value of watching him keep everything straight while maintaining his composure and being pleasant.

Overall, the negative comments really should be read as nitpicky- this was a good stay for a fair price and considering the breakfast, I’d certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The only complaints I have are that the restaurant was very slow with the food at dinner and it wasn't even busy. The food was generic and didn't stand out. Breakfast was great though. Also, the bathroom wasn't the best. The shower took forever to drain. I'm also glad I brought my own sheet for the pack n play they had for my son. They don't provide anything fitted and it was very stained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Overall very pleasant stay but quite a few of my wedding guests commented on the rudeness of I few of your front desk staff on tues night, Wednesday day and night and Thursday. Same with the bar staff the same times. The bar and grill staff acted put out to service us and after the drinks were brought no one came to check on us. Saturday night I had some guest go order food and 45 mins later it still didn't come and so they just left. I want to say that I had a pleasant vist but disappointed in the overall customer service aspect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issuranirbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The lobby and breakfast are first class.
The pool is nice too, except that you feel like a penguin in a zoo when you swim in it.
The hotel is ideally located.

Unfortunately, our room was very noisy (only one door was separating us from our neighbours), we could hear the conversations from the rooms "next door" and on the upper floor.
We had heavy bags to carry and there was no elevator to reach our room (1st floor)

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the building without elevators if you travel with heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30miGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

great hotel for kids with indoor pool in the lobby, great free breakfast with made to order omelets, $10 off dinner voucher. great location near the Air Force Academy. Rooms nice -especially the jacuzzi suite. Friendly staff, nice sports bar area, great pizza.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,871 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
724 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,308 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,070 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#43 of 105 in Colorado Springs
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing