We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical chain hotel facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a typical chain hotel facility”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very nice, independent hotel in a good location just off the interstate and close to many stores and restaurants. I stay here because they are " pet friendly" in a section of the facility.
The rooms are clean and spacious. I was a little disappointed that my room still had an old fashioned TV and had not yet been updated to a flat screen HD model. The complimentary breakfast is very good- lots of choices and several steps above the typical chain hotel/motel offering.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    710
    319
    133
    72
See reviews for
1,128
468
80
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal on a travel site, but I wouldn't pay what their going rate. Location is convenient to highway and lots of restaurants, as well as the south gate entrance to the Academy. I had a nice mountain view out my window. Very quiet. Breakfast was quite good. But rooms are outdated and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom are a joke. Front desk staff were nice but unprofessional. I probably wouldn't stay again, or recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Owner at The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. My Staff and I work very hard to make each and every guests experience at The Academy Hotel a positive and memorable stay. It seems we fell short of this goal in your case which is very disappointing to me. As a part of our efforts to be green, we installed dispensers in the bath for soap and shampoo which is saving landfills from the small plastic bottles which are typical in Hotels. We also Recycle throughout the Hotel and offer a linen and towel re-use program. The Academy Hotel is a 200 room full service Hotel and has three wings, all of which have been renovated and/or updated within the last three years. The Executive Tower Wing has four floors which are served by Elevator. The Tower guest rooms all have been fully renovated within the last three years and feature new furnishings, carpet, wallpaper, art, flat screen TV’s, triple sheeted pillow top beds with lots of pillows and black out roller shades. We also have a Dream King upgrade in the Executive Tower which features memory foam mattresses and 46” flat screen TV’s. Large Jacuzzi Suites are also available in the Executive Tower. The Leisure wing and Pet Friendly wings are two story wings and the second floor of these Wings is served by stairs. These rooms have received new carpet within the last two years, fresh paint, black out roller shades and triple sheeted beds. Our Leisure and Pet Friendly rooms are clean and well suited for the value oriented Leisure Guest. The Atrium Lobby, Corridors and the Restaurant (Falcon’s Bar and Grill) renovation was completed in 2010 and feature new floor and wall coverings, new Front Desk, Business Center, Fountains, Fireside Lounge, Fitness Center, Arcade and a freshly refinished pool. We are a Family owned and operated Hotel (since 1980) and work very hard to try to provide each of our guests with a memorable experience, warm personal service and modern amenities. It is my hope you will see fit to give us another chance on your next visit to Colorado Springs. I am confident we can find the right room type for your needs and could transform a disappointed guest to a loyal customer. Thank you once again for your valued feedback.
John Wilkins/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Academy Hotel is always our hotel of choice for Colorado Springs. This time we chose a jacuzzi suite which was really spacious and very condo-like. The accommodations are always clean and the front desk staff is always very friendly. Patrick's omelets at the morning buffet are the best. The buffet is likely the most extensive that I've seen at any hotel. The Academy Hotel is a great family stop. Clean rooms, indoor pool, and a great morning buffet - it just doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

After booking through Priceline, we arrived at approximately 9:30pm Tuesday night. Upon seeing the exterior I was a bit concerned until I went inside. I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful decor inside. The room we were put in though was okay. I was a bit put off that yet another hotel on this road trip did not have elevators.
The pool was great however the hot tub was outside and being it was 25* outside... well you get the point.
Breakfast buffet which is complimentary was fantastic. Made to order eggs, etc.
Overall I do recommend this hotel for anyone. Business, personal as well as families.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OU4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel was very pleasant. The lobby was very welcoming and sitting area with fireplace was very nice. Pool was nice when not very crowded. The breakfast is great, lots of options and everything we had was very good. Ate both evenings at onsite restaurant which they had given us $10 discount each night. Not bad esp. with the price discount. Room air was loud when on. Too loud to sleep comfortably. Location was good, easy access to highway and whatever we might have needed. Staff helpful and very nice. Overall very nice place and would stay there again if need arise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I booked this hotel by bidding for the North end of Colorado Springs. My winning bid was very low, so I wasn't expecting much, but WOW! Our room was immaculate, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Upon check-in, we were given comped vouchers for the breakfast buffet, which was delicious and included an omeltte station and Belgian waffles. The hotel is within easy walking distance to a number of shops and restaurants. After we checked out, we realized we had left an iPod plugged into a charger in the bathroom. I called to ask about it, fully expecting to never see it again. Nope! The housekeeper had found it and turned it in - what integrity! We'll definitely book here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Lobby and breakfast was wonderful. Our room however was not so great. Card Lock pad didn't work unlocked about 1 out of 5 slides. Fan in bathroom didn't work so the ceiling had black mold and under the rim of the sink was black with mold. The faucet was no longer attached to the count and so it moved every time you turned on the water. And the outlet with the microwave and coffee maker was dead.
Room 145 in bad shape!!
And the Restaurant wait staff knows how to rip people off. Take your bill and payment and never bring you back your change. Pay for your drink up front and they put it on you bill also. Talented

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lrwesthoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,407 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,908 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 105 in Colorado Springs
930 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#10 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing