We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Colorado Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value in Colorado Springs”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is a great value, esp if you have kids. The pool was warm and in the very cool environment of the lobby area with the lighted trees, etc. There are tables, chairs and chaises arround the pool. There was always a spot available even with tue hotel being completely booked our first night. There were usually plenty of towels and a couple of times they were still warm from the dryer! The breakfast is outstanding. The coffee does have a bit of an odd flavor, but it worked for us. To me, the breakfast was reminiscent of what you get at Embassy Suites...way beyond your typical hotel breakfast. I have to agree w other reviewers in that the walls (I think its more a ceiling issue) are super "thin". Our first night we had an atheletic team of young men on either side of us. They were a little rowdy and i was concerned we wouldnt get much sleep, but fortunately they piped down fairly early. The beds are a little firm. There could have been more to the linens, but, we didnt ask for additional blankets or anything, so very likely they were available. No real room for complaint. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. We will be back. Just a couple of props for local businesses, we did a zip line tour w Adventures Out West (Manitou Springs) and it was AWESOME!! The guys were super fun and energetic and the zips were great. Also, as a family, we love the trading post at Garden of tue Gods. Great place for a few Colorado memorabilia/trinkets.

Room Tip: Make your reservations directly thru the hotel. They offered the same price as priceline and you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julassupermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    686
    310
    121
    71
See reviews for
1,087
456
80
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first time to Colorado Springs.. we decided after lots of research that the Academy Hotel would best fit our family needs. This hotel is very neat inside with all the trees, fireplace with plenty of comfy chairs surrounding it, dim lighting. It was very comfy feeling. They provide the most amazing comp breakfast that I have ever experienced. My family and I are still thinking about the wonderful omelets and waffles that we had, amongst many other breakfast items. Yumm! The $10 dinner/drink certificates were another wonderful extra.. my husband and I were able to enjoy a nightly cocktail while watching the kids play in the indoor pool, which they loved! Our room was nice, I loved the fact that we had a fridge and microwave in the room. much needed when staying for as long as we did. My only complaint however, would have to be the beds. They just felt very thin and uncomfortable. Also, the sheets that were on our bed had a huge rip in it, which progressively got bigger.. I was hoping that one of the maids would have acknowledged it and changed the sheets perhaps while cleaning the room but it never happened during our 4 night stay. I was going to complain but figured I would just deal with it but the more I think about I should have said something.. maybe management is unaware.. time to get new sheets for sure! Also, I thought it was odd that there was only sheets and a very thin blanket on the bed and no comforter.. I am from AZ so I was pretty cold being in CO during this time of year. I would have preferred a little more bedding. We did find 1 thin blanket in the closet which we put on the kid's bed.. come to find out it had a rather large whole in it as well... bummer. On the plus side, it was neat that the shower came accommodated with a bodywash & shampoo dispenser. Also a remote control was provided for the heater in the room, which was very nice. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, everyone was nice that we encountered, breakfast again was amazing and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the executive tower, near the very end of the hallway and never had a problem with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverbrat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here over the President's weekend and had a great time. The hotel is located by the Air Force Acadamy south entrance right off the interstate so it is easy to get into colorado Springs or off to Pike's Peak. The rooms were good sized with a small refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast buffet was included and had a lot of choices (it even had a made to order omlet bar).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in July.The price was very reasonable. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was accomodating, the pool was nice, and the breakfast was awesome. The location of the hotel was perfect for all the area attractions.
I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrix66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Home, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Early January 2013, marked our first time to Colorado Springs. Not knowing the area at all we spent a lot of time researching where to stay. The Academy hotel was our choice and we could not have been happier. With free hot cooked breakfast, dinner certificates and a sports bar you could not beat the price. Rooms were more than adequate and the staff was amazing. If we ever have another opportunity to visit Colorado Springs, The Academy is the only place we will stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMyDogNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel was very nice and the breakfast was amazing. However, I booked a more expensive room that promised assorted teas, Starbucks coffee, and Bath and Body Works. When I notified the front desk, I was told that everything would be placed in my room. So when I returned at 10 pm that night, it was not there. I called the front desk again and was told it would be brought up. We never received any of it. Also there were kids running the halls late at night. We were awaken at 1:30 am due to loud neighbors. I was told that management would contact me. They never did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the third time my family has stayed at The Academy! Everyone is friendly and the rates are extremely reasonable. I thought it was a nice touch that they gave a coupon for the restaurant since I booked directly with them. The free breakfast is outstanding. Not your normal "free breakfast". It really is the little things that add up from the flavored water, the fire to the pool.
My son especially loves the chocolate chip cookies!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,868 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
720 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,300 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,067 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#42 of 105 in Colorado Springs
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing