We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
cincinnati
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in July.The price was very reasonable. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was accomodating, the pool was nice, and the breakfast was awesome. The location of the hotel was perfect for all the area attractions.
I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrix66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    658
    285
    119
    69
See reviews for
1,037
435
77
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sweet Home, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Early January 2013, marked our first time to Colorado Springs. Not knowing the area at all we spent a lot of time researching where to stay. The Academy hotel was our choice and we could not have been happier. With free hot cooked breakfast, dinner certificates and a sports bar you could not beat the price. Rooms were more than adequate and the staff was amazing. If we ever have another opportunity to visit Colorado Springs, The Academy is the only place we will stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMyDogNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel was very nice and the breakfast was amazing. However, I booked a more expensive room that promised assorted teas, Starbucks coffee, and Bath and Body Works. When I notified the front desk, I was told that everything would be placed in my room. So when I returned at 10 pm that night, it was not there. I called the front desk again and was told it would be brought up. We never received any of it. Also there were kids running the halls late at night. We were awaken at 1:30 am due to loud neighbors. I was told that management would contact me. They never did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the third time my family has stayed at The Academy! Everyone is friendly and the rates are extremely reasonable. I thought it was a nice touch that they gave a coupon for the restaurant since I booked directly with them. The free breakfast is outstanding. Not your normal "free breakfast". It really is the little things that add up from the flavored water, the fire to the pool.
My son especially loves the chocolate chip cookies!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's updated, open and inviting with just beautiful scenery. The breakfast buffet is marvelous, there is an omelette chef and the standard waffle bar but with extras of upgraded toppings like apples in cinnamon, strawberry, and fresh whipped cream. Also, did you read the part about the omelette chef? tip that man, he's a genius.
There is a pool inside that seems pretty popular and there are lot of hang out areas around the fireplace with free iced drinks. The room itself is a little dark, but the bed is comfy and its spotlessly clean even inside the mini fridge and microwave. If you want brewed coffee with breakfast, you can use the coffee maker in your room. I would stay here again definitely, it's worth it.

Room Tip: our room was 126- the bed was comfy for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettCrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

THE GOOD: Our first choice for frequent visits with our AF Academy cadet. Clean, quiet rooms, and an excellent service-oriented staff. Prime location. Their rates are extremely competitive--as long as there are no major USAFA events, which drive-up every hotels prices.

I would have given a 5, except for a recent change to their breakfast. The Academy Hotel uses their breakfast a draw to distinguish itself from same or lower-priced competitors. The difference is greater variety: already made waffles, french toast, make your own burrito, and custom eggs and omelets, etc.

THE BAD: They serve instant coffee--a poor finish to an otherwise great breakfast. They use the popular Douwe Egbert system, which is mediocre at best. No coffee aroma, no coffee taste; just a flat tasting black fluid that approximates the real thing. Please--go back to brewed, you can't be saving that much money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turnflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location, best breakfast in town included, plus $10 each night at the grill! The lobby is very inviting and comfortable. Very friendly staff...except...the beds are hard as rocks. I would return but my husband will not go back because of the beds. Too bad because he also loved everything else about the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportstraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Owner at The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and please accept my sincere apology for the bed not meeting your expectations. We do offer rooms with memory foam mattresses in our Dream King and Jacuzzi Suites. All other rooms feature pillow top mattress's. I am positive that if you were able to see fit to give us another try, we could find a bed that would meet your needs. Thank you for staying with us, your business is greatly appreciated and valued.
Sincerely,
John Wilkins
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing