We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Academy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 days July 6-8th. This was near the final chapters of the fires in the area. First and foremost, the desk workers at the Academy are very polite and professional. In addition, the breakfast each morning is as good as it gets...bar none. Patrick is a great chef and the staff waits on you as if you are family. The Falcon Bar and Grill is very good too, when it gets busy the service drops off a bit, as our waiter Jeff lost track of us after our food arrived on our 3rd night at the hotel. He is very good overall. The concerns we have are with the 2 room suites and general lack of supervision in the hotel by the staff. The fan in the bathroom was literally caked with dirt, mold etc. The carpet had ripples in it and would have been a trip hazard had we been elderly or with young kids. The door lock could use replacing as it was very sporadic at best when attempting to key card inb the room. The only other thing one needs to be aware of is that the pool, which is very nice is not a place that you can relax and enjoy family time due to a lack of supervision for the many unsupervised children who literally take over the pool because their parents won't show up and do the right thing. This could be solved by having the Academy staff simply roam through the area at least once an hour or more. Overally, we enjoyed our time, if they improve that 2 room suite and/or offer better family packages we would return.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2 room suite and take the tower rooms or double queens if you are traveling with 2 adults...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,309)
There are newer reviews for The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,996 - 2,002 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

I just returned from a 17 state road trip and The Academy Hotel is still one of my favorites. Clean, comfortable bedding, great black-out window blinds, and a wonderful and caring staff. We had the Jacuzzi Suite, double shower, with the Romance Package (Champagne & chocolate-covered strawberries). The room was very quiet. The breakfast buffet (included) with Sous Chef was great. We will stay here again when in Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Suite is great!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Owner John Wilkins was drunk and screaming! Threw out 110 children attending an annual hockey camp. At first the explaination was they were playing hockey in the hallway with sticks when these boys' equipment is located off-site at the rink. Only 1 staff member there between 11-7 told an injured child he could call 911 or give him a band-aid instead of contacting the group adult. Appalled at the service by staff member Jesse and drunken conduct of the owner John. Disgusting!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuvlyGeminiGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

It sounds as if you were misled. The Camp Director was told that noise complaints in his group were going to be handled just as we handle noise complaints in every other room in the Hotel. First a warning and if they don’t settle down the room that is making the noise will need to find other accommodations. The Camp Director then proceeded to offer me $2,000.00 to make an exception to this policy for his group. I found that gesture to be extremely distasteful and immediately rejected his offer to overlook Hotel Policy for his group. I assume the Camp Director realized that by bringing his children in to the Hotel at 10:30PM, the likelihood of the kids being quiet was very low. He then made the choice to check out and find other accommodations more suited to his group. It was his choice to check out. Without his request, The Academy Hotel refunded the full amount for the 24 rooms he had.

I had received numerous noise complaints that day from other guests and was also informed that the kids had been playing Hockey in the hallways the previous day. I later learned that the Camp counselors had set up the nets in the halls and had promoted the behavior. After learning that, it was clear to me that the Director and Counselors of this group had very little if any respect for the property and the other guests in the Hotel. The Academy Hotel is proud to host many children’s teams and groups and we have never seen such a poorly supervised group like this one. The very poor supervision of this group was later exemplified when they checked out and forgot 3 children. Those 3 kids slept the night at the Academy Hotel and had to call the Camp to pick them up the next morning when they woke up and realized their group had left them behind. As a Parent myself, I would be primarily concerned with the lack of supervision and the questionable guidance from the Camp your child attended.

Sincerely,
John Wilkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Academy had an excellent staff. The room was clean and the shade kept the sun out so we could sleep in. Saw many enjoying the pool, which was in the huge lobby area. Breakfast was free and incredible, with lots of choices including eggs made-to-order! Great value located just off I-25, the main highway running through the town or Colorado Springs. Lots of restaurants located within walking distance, too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorisS175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed at the Academy Hotel in Colorado springs twice and would most definitely stay there again. The hotel is quite nice, the staff helpful and the hot breakfast buffet is quite tasty and has a lot to offer. The hotel, guest rooms included, is clean. My only complaint from this most recent stay would be the pillows. They were pretty lumpy and could probably stand to be replaced. The matress itself however, is quite confortable. Close to the Airforce Academy. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjm24Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We wanted to stay forever. It I a really nice hotel. Perfectly located right off the highway and everything you could want or need is close by. The owners are great people who seem dedicated to sincere hospitality. It's THE PERFECT hotel for families! They made sure kids would be happy there & adults would be satisfied too. The food was excellent. Room service was expensive but quality food & service. Breakfast was the best tasting breakfast any hotel. Oil offer. Don't stay anywhere else!! Academy hotel is hands down the best Colo. Springs has to offer an they are pet friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mydirtyrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at The Academy in Colorado Springs. The best feature, by far, was the breakfast in the lobby: an omelet station, three waffle makers, another table of eggs, bacon and sausage...and yet another with continental breakfast items. The rooms were average. No complaints.

I would definitely recommend The Academy to anybody that is staying in the Colorado Springs area. The only minor blemish (and this isn't really the faut of anyone, really) is the pool. To me, the chlorine smell of any indoor pool takes away from the ambiance....and at The Academy, the pool is literally off the lobby. Kind of odd.

But if I had to stay here again, I definitely would!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,461 reviews
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,929 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,303 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 105 in Colorado Springs
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $92 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing