We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spring Break 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

I could not believe the service, atmosphere and affordable luxury of The Academy Hotel in Colorado Springs. We were hesitant to leave at checkout and talked about staying another night since we loved it so much.
Warm towels were provided at the swimming pool and hot tub area and the breakfast was the best we have ever experienced in a hotel atmosphere. In fact, this was not a typical hotel breakfast. I'm getting hungry just thinking about my special-order spinach and cheese omlette.
The rooms were exceptionally clean and the front desk called within 30 minutes after check in to ask if we liked our accommodations.
The location is also terrific, it was very easy to find. The hotel is close to many finer restaurants and seems to be in a new part of the city.
Other patrons that we spoke to at the hotel were just as pleased as we were. Everyone was happy that they received a great price for this luxury hotel.
It's a 12 hour drive for us to Colorado Springs, but we will definitely be back to The Academy Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestlyopinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    650
    278
    117
    65
See reviews for
1,002
426
76
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

After staying in four different hotels on this trip these beds were the most comfortable. And the breakfast was one of the best that we have had. We loved the beds, the breakfast and the price. Next time in CO Springs we will definitely try to stay at the Academy Inn again.
Pros:
- nice staff
- cookies at the front desk
- nicely comfortable pillow top mattresses
- decent fitness room
- made to order omelettes and yummy Belgian waffles
- fairly large hotel
- great price
Cons:
- crowded pool located in the lobby area

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I booked 10 rooms for family arriving for the Air Force Academy Graduation and was asked to prepay the rooms. This means that for six months this hotel has had my money. Yesterday, I received an email, not a phone call, informing me of a computer glitch and all room reservations are cancelled. I tried to reach John Wilkins and he did not return my call. The CEO of Best Western Hotels, David Kong, prides himself on improving customer relations but this is one hotel he may want to take off his list. At this point I am going to find it difficult to book rooms in other hotels, find only hotels that have been rejected for distance from the Academy or are low quality, and will be paying premium prices. If this is how they treat a large reservation, imagine how their quality of care will be for one reservation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deepart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilkins1691, Owner at The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Please again accept my sincere apology for the issue with your future reservation. This reservation was made during a period of transition to a new reservation system. Prior reservations for the night booked had not been properly moved to the new system allowing this reservation to be made in error. Fortunately the error was discovered 60 days prior to arrival while there are still plenty of other alternative Hotels to choose from. The Academy Hotel does not have a Policy of overbooking as is common in the Hotel Industry. We do everything we can to to ensure an excellent experience for every Guest, unfortunately once in a while people do make mistakes and machines do malfunction which was the case here. It is my hope that you understand and will give another chance to earn your valuable business back.
Sincerely,
John Wilkins
Owner
The Academy Hotel, Family Owned and Operated since 1980.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very impressed. For the price of the hotel the room was very clean, the staff was excellent, great customer service, breakfast is the best so many options! This hotel makes the guest feel welcome and it is a home away from home. Can't stress how wonderful this hotel was, bed was very comfortable and the most comfortable sleep i have ever gotten in a hotel before.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay in Colorado Springs. It's a very nice hotel with a fantastic breakfast in the morning. Made to order OMLETS! Yum! Rooms were very nice, very clean, and very comfortable. Staff was friendly. They didn't have an elevator to lug all of out heavy luggage up the stairs though. That was my only complaint. Other than that, it was a great stay in a very nice and affordable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLMountainChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I travel to CO Springs several times a month with sports teams - when we have to stay overnight, or for a few nights, this is definitely our hotel of choice. The rooms are large and comfortable, clean and are definitely good value for the money. The pool and hot tub are fantastic, and are one of the major draws to this hotel as it is perfect for kids.

The on-site bar and restaurant are good, and the ambience in the lobby is fantastic. The breakfast buffet is very good, and is a great way to start the day for both adults and kids with a good selection and variety, and high quality.

As far as the location goes, it is very convenient to the highway and the AF Academy, while everything else in the north part of town is an easy drive. The central and southern parts of town are a bit of a haul, but nothing unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a really nice hotel for all. It looks just like the pictures. The staff was great, they even had a basket of cookies on the counter for you. The bed was very comfortable. They have a great little grill in the hotel, prices and food were very good, the breakfast buffet was the best I have ever seen. Hugh selection and omlet center! The pool is in the lobby and was a bit noisy due to screaming children. Nice area with fireplace to sit and talk, but again in pool area. What I liked was the liquid despenser for shampoo and soap in the shower. Small microwave, fridge and coffee in room. Remote for air unit. Doesn't look much like a hotel from outside but its great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raylatim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#7 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
2.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing