We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a really nice hotel for all. It looks just like the pictures. The staff was great, they even had a basket of cookies on the counter for you. The bed was very comfortable. They have a great little grill in the hotel, prices and food were very good, the breakfast buffet was the best I have ever seen. Hugh selection and omlet center! The pool is in the lobby and was a bit noisy due to screaming children. Nice area with fireplace to sit and talk, but again in pool area. What I liked was the liquid despenser for shampoo and soap in the shower. Small microwave, fridge and coffee in room. Remote for air unit. Doesn't look much like a hotel from outside but its great!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raylatim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,148 - 2,154 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

This Hotel has been in the same family about 30 years. The staff works very hard to make the guest feel welcome. The location is close to I-25 and numerous places to eat, Walmart and a major shopping mall. For the Tired guest or the all-day traveler the in hotel restaurant is open until 10PM an for those who do not want to explore for another place to eat just drag yourself downstairs. The morning Breakfast is free an has many hot foods or an omelet made to order. For those who want to visit the USAF Academy this is a good spot. A rental car is needed to see all Colorado Springs has to offer. Enterprise car rental is about a mile-half walk. The Colorado Springs Shuttle stops about 4 times a day(at the hotel) and very dependable for those who land in Denver an need a ride to the Springs. Some rooms are pet friendly yet I stay in the Exec-Tower an had a great view of Piles Peak

Room Tip: Some rooms have great view of the Colorado Rampart Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHL27L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Great experience!! Rooms are clean and cozy, customer service is outstanding!! On this trip, we unexpectedly needed to leave in a hurry, and left my coat and a pair of shoes in a closet (both on the expensive side, one of great sentimental value. In the past, (about 3 times) I have never recovered items left in various hotel rooms, being told that there was nothing found in the room. However, when I called the hotel the next evening, they were courteous, understanding and quick. My items were both there, and a family member was able to pick them up at the hotel soon after with no problems, and very friendly service. Have already booked another night with The Academy Hotel since this visit. Excellent hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delilah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have stayed here on two different trips and found the hotel and staff to be excellent, and at a very attractive price. The breakfast is fantastic. We also like the location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamSpade44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here for a school event. The organization itself has been so satisfied with this hotel that they've stayed here several years now. I certainly agree with all most recent comments: very reasonably priced, huge, yummy breakfast buffet, friendly, helpful service, nice lobby area, all around comfortable pleasing stay. Even though we tend to be loud because we are with about a dozen middle schoolers, they were well-behaved and lights out occurred by 10:00. The hotel was very accommodating of our schedule and "special needs" to practice speech.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgwaymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Dear Academy,

Our first stay at your hotel was truly an experience that was off the chart, if we can still use those terms. We were celebrating my birthday on January 20, 2012 at your Hotel and it was a birthday to remember, a jacuzzi suite. Our waiter was excellent in his serving skills and he had a delicate manner in which he spoke to us and served us. We really enjoyed our stay, right down to the room which was spacious, up to date, and clean. We enjoyed our VIP guest services. The only thing that we noticed missing, was cooking and eating utensils in our beautiful kitchenette. We wanted to stay I our room for meals (dinner) but this did not permit us. I must say, that the Hotel’s restaurant was the next best thing because it was so affordable. This certainly amazed us so we ate dinner there twice. Everybody was friendly from the front desk to the housekeepers. Customers greeted us in the halls which signaled to us that they too were happy customers. We usually stay at the Marriott to enjoy true luxury but the Academy topped Marriott in our minds. We decided that when we want to get away for a short trip and a little relaxation, it will be at the Academy Hotel in Colorado Springs. Matter of fact, we plan on returning in 3 weeks, hoping to get the same enjoyable room. We most definitely enjoyed the free Continental Breakfast that was superb, especially the Master Chef that made our tasty omelets. We tipped him twice because the food was so delicious. My doctor asked me to let her know how much we enjoyed our stay because she and her husband would like take short getaways somewhere nice. This is my experience that I will share with her. Thank you for wonderful a time and we hope to see you soon.



Beverly

Room Tip: Chose room 441 the jacuzzi suite. It wotrh the money. Matter of fact, you get more than you actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEVERLY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Academy was perfect for us. We were in the Tower, and our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The website’s pictures accurately depicted the hotel and our room. My grandson enjoyed the pool, which was clean and offered plenty of seating and towels, my son enjoyed everything, and all of us, including a number of guests, enjoyed the open hearth and seating in the lobby. We all agreed we will miss the morning breakfast, which had made–to-order omelets, eggs, ham, sausage, potatoes, biscuits, gravy, yogurt, fresh fruit and of course the standard, - and after way to many hotel breakfasts – the dreaded, waffles, pastries, and cereal. The on-site Falcon Restaurant is reasonably priced with good food.

Overall, this is a welcoming, relaxing, warm hotel, centrally located in what I consider the north part of Co Spgs, and as spread out as I found the town – close enough to get to anywhere we wanted to go – including the Garden of the Gods, and the Air Force Academy’s chapel. It is located by restaurants, stores, and an Urgent Care center. It is great for families and non-families alike, and a terrific change from the ‘box-chain’ hotels! Because we have family in the area now, we will make The Academy our hotel.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, and talk to the knowledgeable and accomodating reservation staff.. The Lei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hwys_n_Bywys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,550 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 104 in Colorado Springs
563 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 104 in Colorado Springs
800 reviews
8 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,951 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 104 in Colorado Springs
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $86 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing