We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, large room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #84 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, large room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed for one night for around $66. Checked in late. The front desk clerk wasn't outwardly friendly, so my first impression wasn't all that positive. The non-smoking room (2 queen beds) and bathroom were relatively large and clean. Good wifi (Free) connection and tv quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ehowisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    11
    7
    18
See reviews for
17
6
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Room smelled very bad. Stated non-smoking but smelt smoke residue and a lot of funk! Very musty. Upon check in I was given a nightly rate, however that only applied for that night and my rate increased by $20 and I was not notified. When I confronted them of the bill at checkout they said they had to talk with the manager and she would call me - no one ever called and I was not credited the difference. There are many more options for the additional $20 that are much better. Now I know better and will never stay at this place again. I will visit Colorado Springs again next summer as my son is in the military and I got some good referrals on better places to stay.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here bad neighborhood unsafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaLady777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colorado Springs hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is a very disappointing motel. It is 2 short blocks from Colorado College so seemed a good try--- even with low expectations- for the parents weekend. The rooms are dirty, worn, dim, smell horrible, have loud ac units (I opted for stuffiness) no internet and a broken TV remote. I checked out early and went to another hotel. This place is a great opportunity for Econo Lodge or a better chain to redo and provide a clean simple place close to the CC campus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMaineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

Nice little hotel, with a great location in downtown Colorado Springs. The bed sheets were clean and the bathroom was spotless shiny with a nice bathtub. The hotel had multiple free Wifi connections available with an awesome speed. The staff was extra friendly and very helpful. I checked in late and 10min after I got into the room, the front desk called to ask if everything was ok and if I needed anything.
The room was a bit "old" but as long as it's clean, I don't really care. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that.
Clean, great service, great location and a tiny price that includes cable TV, Internet access, a fridge, a bathtub and a microwave: I didn't need anything else!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HToTheA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

I've stayed here twice now because it's an exceptionally well-located motel for a cheap price. The first time I stayed (about two years ago), I got a room about two doors down from the office. The wifi was reliable, good cable TV selection, the room was clean and the bed was nice. I had issues with the number of plugs in the room, but that's typical with older properties. Breakfast was nothing spectacular, but I didn't expect much. It's also served in the office, which is about the size of a regular household bathroom, so it's not really easy to get anything when someone else is in there.
I came back recently and was given a room at the back, and it was very different. First, the place just seemed off. There was a creepy maintenance guy hanging around who kept saying "Have a good stay" and stuff. It seems nice, and maybe I'm paranoid, but I made sure to clean out the car that night. There was also a family possibly living in one of the rooms who would come out sometimes and fight. We weren't close to them, so it wasn't a big deal for us, but I felt bad for whoever was next to them.
The room was pretty nasty. The smell was the big problem. I wouldn't be surprised if there was a smoke smell, but it would have been covered by the much stronger smell of mold. The room was very musty, and running the a/c for the rest of the stay didn't help at all. The bed was pretty awful. I was anticipating bed bugs and checked for signs of them, but found nothing, although the mattress was really, really uncomfortable. We were at a $25/night Motel 6 a couple of nights before this, and this mattress was a little worse. Not only that, but there was no fitted sheet on the mattress, just two regular sheets. A bit weird. On this stay, I had considered booking it for two nights, but, after an hour or so in that room, I'm glad that I hadn't done so.
The real kicker was that my companion happened to look behind the fridge and saw an empty box of condoms on the ground. Nice. I didn't bother to look around in too many other places in the room to see what other little treasures there were. On the other hand, that fridge and microwave were nice to have. That was one of the big pluses from both of my stays here.
But, again, based on the fairly opposite experiences I had in my two separate stays, I wouldn't necessarily write this hotel off. I'll likely be back when I'm in the Springs again, but I'll request a room closer to the office, maybe on the second floor. I would suggest the same for others.
It's kind of a shame that this place hasn't been remodeled more. It gets a good crowd of tourists, and has that awesome location, so it could be a really great place if a little money was put into fixing it up a bit. But, then again, that would jack up the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We came by bus and easily reached the Econolodge. At no point did we need a car.
We saved money by not driving and by staying together in one room. The motel was clean and located in a delightful part of Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

This hotel is very close to the college area but the room was very clean, more spacious than expected, and I was very happy to have stayed there. Great value! There was even a fridge in the room which I didn't expect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnoack922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Downtown
Quality Suites Downtown
#54 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Hotel and Conference Cen...
#55 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.4 mi away
TravelStar Inn & Suites
TravelStar Inn & Suites
#72 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#25 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crescent Lily Inn
Crescent Lily Inn
#7 of 16 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 714 N Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing