We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“positive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
Ranked #87 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This may not be a five star hotel, but we had a very good experience staying here. This is an older hotel, but the rooms were clean and adequate. The beds were comfortable. It's very close many, many good restaurants, walmart and a small shopping mall. Close to the interstate, but didn't hear any noise. If you are looking for newer and fancier, this probably isn't the place you want to stay. But, if you want to save some money and have a nice place to stay, you should definitely consider this hotel. The staff and hotel manager took great care of us and were very kind and generous. I've already booked my next stay at this hojo.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 663 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2010

Worst experience of my life. The front desk clerk was rude and dishonest. She stated I could speak with a manager, when I said "yes please" she said "he's sick." I then stated that I felt lied to and she said "I didn't say when you could speak to a manager." There were hidden deposit charges which were NOT mentioned on the website or the travel website. The room itself smelled and the plug-ins didn't work. DO NOT STAY HERE if you have ANY OTHER OPTIONS....even if it is your car.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zapzoe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

One good thing I can say is the hotel is very convenient to everything you could possibly need - Walmart, resturants, retail, and services.

Now the bad... Could not gurantee what we needed for rooms before check-in which is understandable, but they made no attempt to even come close. Among requests was ground floor - they didn't have it. What they did have was on 3rd, 4th, & 5th floor, but elevator was broken. Wife and mother cannot walk up stairs so hotel could not accomodate us. Should have been a no brainer to not charge us, but I had to argue with the clerk (very nice young lady) and general manager (by phone) for 20 minutes to get them to agree that we were not cancelling - it was their fault that they could not accomodate us because of the broken elevator - should have been a no brainer.

Looking for a bargin? Pass this up.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank racolston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I can't complain too much for not planning ahead, but this place was pretty bad. The bed was ancient and hard, the fan in the bathroom that came on automatically when you turned the light on made a horrid squealing noise, the walls around the bathroom door were dirty, and I don't think I've ever stayed at a hotel/motel that only provided you with two tiny, thin towels for a two-person occupancy.

This place works in a pinch and is close to Starbucks (we didn't try the free breakfast), Whole Foods, other shopping, and I-25, but if you can spend a few more bucks, stay somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

stayed for a soccer tourney......hotel was ok......lots of parking lot space for soccer games:)

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
Thank pilotdude152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I hated the fact that the pool was in front of the front door of the hotel. I never went in because i don't want people looking at me from the front door or the street in front of the hotel. Also why isn't there a place at the hotel to wash your clothes, most of the hotels we stayed in colorado springs has this.. Other than that the hotel and travelocity didn't credit us for a night stay that we didn't get to use. You see our airlines (united) canceled our flight on us on wednesday adn we didn't get there until thursday. My dad explained to the person behind the desk and they said they would handle it. Nothing and travelocity never got back to us about it either so the hotel got extra money for one damn rooms and we didn't even get stay there so someone got something of ours for free.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAMILYCRAZY1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

We appreciated your feedback on your stay. I'm sorry that you did not like the pool out front, that just is something that was done ages ago. On the positive side, with the pool in the front if any emergencies ever did happened, the front desk could get help quickly. We do not have the space available to add a guest laundry, this is one area that we know would make a lot of guests happy and have been looking into the possibility of eventually adding one, again when this building was built they did not include this.
It is the policy of most online reservation companies of "no refunds/no cancellation". I'm sorry that you couldn't receive a credit for this from the company you booked with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We experienced a police standoff situation during one of the nights of our stay. While we do not blame the staff or the hotel for this situation, they provided no follow-up to assure guests of their safety and concern for the inconvience it caused. The following day, they had another opportunity to place a letter or something in our rooms, but did not.

We were staying with a large group of people and some of us received a free night for our troubles (the ones that were kept from their rooms until 2am due to the police activity). Those that were trapped in their rooms (without any communication from the hotel staff to alert them to the danger or status) had to pay for their stay.

The clerk that checked us out, Katie, offered no apologies and, in fact was very uninterested in making sure we left satisfied. To put it nicely, she was by far the rudest clerk we've ever encountered. We placed a phone call to the toll free customer service and were told the general manager would contact us within 8 days...never happened. Note that even the corporate response was a canned survey. I'm sure no one looks at it but we completed it anyway.

Will never stay at this hotel, or any Howard Johnson's because of this. We travel frequently for business and pleasure and have to say that this experience was beyond description and quite a surprise as hotel staff are generally friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daytripper064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge North Academy
Econo Lodge North Academy
#72 of 105 in Colorado Springs
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#40 of 105 in Colorado Springs
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado Springs North
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#59 of 105 in Colorado Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Baymont Inn & Suites Colorado Sp...
#66 of 105 in Colorado Springs
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Academy Area
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Ac...
#47 of 105 in Colorado Springs
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Colorado Springs/AFA Area
Super 8 Colorado Springs/AFA Are...
#63 of 105 in Colorado Springs
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Address: 8280 Voyager Pkwy, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-5508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $48 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Colorado Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-story Inn. Great location, beautiful views of the Rocky Mountains, shopping and restaurants within walking distance, modern guest comforts, outdoor seasonal pool, near the Air Force Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing