We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
Ranked #87 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were in Colorado Springs for an event and the host hotel could not honor our reservation because they over-sold the rooms. The host hotel got us a room here and even though they covered the charge of over $100.00, it was not worth whatever was paid. I would never stay here by choice. The room was clean and if you don't mind small thin rough towels you might be happy.. The included breakfast was a joke and the coffee was terrible. If you are not expecting much, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, however, I have not been able to find and accodations being provided by a "host hotel" during this time. We do have various accounts with other hotels, but nothing had occurred during October.

We are however, sorry that you did have a bad experience, and hope that this issue will be looked into and solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 682 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

It was clearly an inconvenience to the desk clerk to check me in to the hotel. Then she was periodically talking to other employees when she was supposed to be checking me in. Way unprofessional.
The elevator had a strong chemical odor which smelled to me like turpentine.
Someone on the same floor was outside smoking pot.
The room had no wifi bars so I tried to call the front desk about it. The phone wasn't plugged in and it turns out there was no outlet to plug it in. So I went back to the front desk and explained there were no wifi bars. She let me know with body language that this was another inconvenience to switch me to another room.
The 2nd room had 4 bars on wifi but the log on instructions were wrong so I got to talk to the front desk clerk again. There IS a code/password that the front desk needs to give you but the instructions indicate you don’t need one.
Faint smell of cigarette smoke in the room. I opened the window to try to air out the room and there was no screen.
There was shampoo splashed on the wall of the shower that had not been cleaned off.
Head hairs on bathroom floor. Pubie by the sink.
Stains on carpet.
The TV is the old curved screen kind with poor color and no way to adjust it.
Two ice machines with no ice in them.
They nickel and dime-- you’ll be charged an up front fee of $1.50 a day to use the safe, whether or not you use it. And there is no way you can prove you didn’t use it. She barely mentioned this at check-in so I asked her to clarify what she was telling me. If you don’t TELL THEM AT CHECKOUT that you want to be reimbursed for NOT using the safe, then you are not reimbursed. And $5 if key not returned.
I wish I had not stayed there. I trusted the Howard Johnsons name but will never stay in one again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no hojo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

I'm sorry that you have a difficult stay. We had been working on a WiFi upgrade at the time of your stay and had also just added password protection to it. Unfortunately, Colorado is one state that passed "recreational marijuana" use, we do not want it in our rooms or on our property, and has been a battle for our hotel and other hotels in town. The ice machines require a button to be pushed to allow the ice to flow down into the hopper. The incidental fees of $1.50 for the safe and the key fee is on the registration card, we have you read & intial to the understanding if you ask for the safe fee to be removed - it is - no questions asked, and as long as the key(s) are returned to the front desk you will not be charged.

Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Not fancy, but for less than $40, I got a clean, well appointed room. An amazing bargain! The $1.50 charge for the safe is a bit bogus, though... I forgot to ask to have it taken off. Still a bargain, but charge more and toss in the safe rental for free. Smoky, too... Non smoking rooms would be nice. But value for money... Wow!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate your business and enjoyed the guests in the four rooms. I am sorry if any of your non-smoking rooms had a smoky odor, we are in the process of deep cleaning every room again and charging stiffer fines for smoking in a non-smoking room. I hope that you and the memebers of your party will stay with us again, and let me know how you like our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge North Academy
Econo Lodge North Academy
#71 of 104 in Colorado Springs
141 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Academy Area
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Ac...
#51 of 104 in Colorado Springs
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado Springs North
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#58 of 104 in Colorado Springs
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#41 of 104 in Colorado Springs
584 reviews
9.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Colorado Springs Airport
WoodSpring Suites Colorado Sprin...
#60 of 104 in Colorado Springs
80 reviews
9.4 mi away
Super 8 Cos/Hwy. 24 E/Pafb Area
Super 8 Cos/Hwy. 24 E/Pafb Area
#72 of 104 in Colorado Springs
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Address: 8280 Voyager Pkwy, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-5508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $46 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Colorado Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-story Inn. Great location, beautiful views of the Rocky Mountains, shopping and restaurants within walking distance, modern guest comforts, outdoor seasonal pool, near the Air Force Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing