We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap room...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel is near the entrance to the Air Force Acadamy, my overall experience was good. Very cheap room was found, ($30 total!) check in and check out process went without a hitch. Bed linen was clean, towels were clean, bed was comfortable, all the lights worked, all plumbing worked fine- good water pressure. In room heater/ air conditioner worked fine. Now for the problems- safe door did not work- no batteries/power. TV remote would not work- it would only go to the "pay" channels- could not access the "free" programming- no problem-though, just used the free WI-FI instead! Had two channels to choose from- speed was not super fast- but I did not get kicked off either. Overall surface cleanliness was good- carpets had been vacuumed, but the carpet needed to be steamed cleaned- the bottom of my socks looked like I walked 3 miles down a dirt road. Chair in room was dirty/stained enough that I did not want to sit in it. Did not try the free b-fast so cannot comment on that. In room coffee maker worked fine, ice machine worked fine. Room I had faced east on the third floor, in "main" bulding with the lobby. Could hear cars driving on the busy road all night- not much the hotel could do here- I think the new road was recently widened for increased traffic. There is a Wally world across the street- and several fast food restaurants close by. Overall my stay was good- I would stay here again- with slippers, and could recommend the hotel to others- with the above comments.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erixun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 689 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Checked in and checked out within minutes. It's the worst place I have ever been, room was dirty with blood on the bed! Bathroom was disgusting.

Its in an awful part of town and is a dangerous place to stay. Somebody was murdered just opposite whilst we were in Colorado!

It's cheap but unbareable. Spend a little more and stay away from Nevada avenue!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cook1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We thought we were getting a decent deal at around $60.00 for the evening. When we got there, my grandson went to the bathroom and came out right away and said it was gross. The bathtub was nasty, the floor had not been cleaned and there was what looked like a booger on the door jam! GROSS! You could hear everything in the next room and the beds were horrible. When my husband went to check out the next day, the clerk had the nerve to hold up her finger at him so she could finish reading her book! Do yourself a favor and spend a little extra to stay somewhere else, like the Days Inn just down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKSEMT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This Hotel is very pleasant and has large rooms. Breakfast is good and set in a nice place. There is a small swimming pool and a nice couch area to relax. Even if next to a freeway it's quiet and in easy reach of almost everything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quattromonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great views of the Rocky Mountains offset by unkempt property. In the mid-afternoon and upon entering a nonsmoking room we found cigarette butts on the floor and waste baskets; smoke odors; hair on the bathroom floor and basin; and an inoperable coffee machine. We called the front desk only to be told that there was nothing that could be done - the clerk claimed the hotel was at 100% occupancy; housekeeping was gone; and there were no replacement coffee machines. At check-out the following morning we re-mentioned our complaints and this time was told that we could have been moved and that there were replacement coffee machines available. We won't return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Griff198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Toilet clogs to easily and the seat was broken. Have to ask the front desk for a plunger and if your child cries from being tired and your husband throws up to loudly you get the cops called on you! Wish I would have read these reviews before using a third party site to book the rooms definitely leaving tomorrow!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poedmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel has great mountain views and the price for the room is a good value. The rooms were clean but the tub and shower wall were yellow and not very appealing. Had good wifi reception. It was close to restaurants McDonalds, Sonic's, Salt Grass and movies. Wal-Mart was right across the street. We visited Pikes Peak, Royal Gorge, Seven Falls, Air Force Academy and The Garden of Gods. We did not have any problems getting to them from this location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IFRMcAllen_Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge North Academy
Econo Lodge North Academy
#71 of 104 in Colorado Springs
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#42 of 104 in Colorado Springs
590 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Academy Area
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Ac...
#49 of 104 in Colorado Springs
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Colorado Springs Airport
WoodSpring Suites Colorado Sprin...
#59 of 104 in Colorado Springs
81 reviews
9.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Peterson Air Force Base
Econo Lodge Near Peterson Air Fo...
#65 of 104 in Colorado Springs
42 reviews
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Colo. Sprs. Garden of the Gods
Super 8 Colo. Sprs. Garden of th...
#69 of 104 in Colorado Springs
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Address: 8280 Voyager Pkwy, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-5508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $46 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Colorado Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-story Inn. Great location, beautiful views of the Rocky Mountains, shopping and restaurants within walking distance, modern guest comforts, outdoor seasonal pool, near the Air Force Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing