We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed July 3, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised upon arriving at this resort. I found the front desk staff to be pleasant and helpful, with check-in being an effortless event. Without asking, we were provided a map of the grounds and a list of the amenities provided.

Our room, 357, was super clean. No mold or mildew was observed in the bathroom. Our patio had an amazing view of Cheyenne Mountain, the golf course, and the man made lake. We requested the single king bed, and found the sheets to be clean and fresh.

We dined in the Mountain View Restaurant for breakfast on two of our mornings. On both occasions we chose the buffet, which included just about every breakfast option available. Be sure to have an omelet and waffle made fresh for you. The waffle was perfect, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Our only disappointment was in the Will Rogers lounge. In-between our excursions around the resort, we dined twice at this lounge, which boasts a fantastic view of the mountains.
Pros:
The French fries with the gorgonzola cheese dressing.
The quesidilla with chicken and cheese.
Cons:
The mountain view burger. For $10.00 I expected a REAL hamburger, and what I received was a pre-formed Sysco pattie that obviously had been frozen since it's inception, who knows when.
The breaded chicken wings. What I received was acceptable as food, however I have NO idea where they were able to find chickens that small. These wings were tiny, even by bar food standards.
Make sure you plan enough time if you decide to eat from the lounge. Myself and my fiance were the only two dining there during "off hours" . From the time we ordered to the time the food arrived seemed like forever.

Everyone at the resort was helpful, and even offered their assistance BEFORE asked for it.

I have photos of the resort and surrounding area posted on Flickr, located here...
http://www.flickr.com/photos/jpundt79/sets/72157605871593829/

Overall, this resort offers a very relaxing, clean, and pleasant place to stay surrounded by incredible beauty.

  • Liked — Amazing views
  • Disliked — Slow, overpriced food service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doppler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    397
    208
    121
    63
See reviews for
462
325
45
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We were part of a group of approximately 35 people who had booked rooms at CMR for a reunion. Mind you, these rooms were booked months ago. Similar to what happened to the other reviewer, we were alerted two days before the event that they were overbooked due to a "terrible computer problem" and that we would all have to stay at another hotel for the first night of our planned stay. Right. A computer problem. Somehow I don't think so.

While we still had a fantastic time (the group was there first and foremost to enjoy each other's company), this certainly put a damper on things since our opening night cocktail party was as the resort, and we had early morning activities planned there as well. Transportation to and from now became an issue as we all had to trek back and forth and not everyone had vehicles since we had flown in from all over the country. Again, not the end of the world, but not what we expected.

Yes, CMR did pick up the tab for that first night that we were displaced, but we would have rather they honored our booked and confirmed reservation in the first place.

Not a terrible stay, but just be forewarned that CMR seems to have these "computer glitches" during the busy summer months and you may find yourself staying somewhere else.

  • Liked — Gorgeous mounatin views
  • Disliked — They were able to take the reservation, but they weren't able to keep the reservation!
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HereThereEverywhere3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

arrived for a week in Co.Springs.

stayed here the first night due to availability problem at the Broadmoor for our first nights stay at their recommendation.

check in was fine and the lobby was nice...thats where it ended.

asked for a "mountain view room" she said she had one. ended up on the 3rd floor of building #7 "cripple Creek Lodge" the only view we had was of the driving range.....no mountain.

room was dirty and worn out. screen door on patio broken, trash on the floor and mold on the ceiling in bathroom. robe hook on the bathroom door hanging by one screw.

this hotel allows pets (we leave ours at home for a reason). we heard barking all night long from 2 rooms down.

we checked out the next morning and headed to the Broadmoor as fast as our car would take us.

will tell them about our experience and suggest they find another property to recommend

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty , worn out and outdated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Ever have your conference attendees 'bumped' from a hotel stay (similar to an airline) even after they received a confirmation?
Perhaps I'm not as seasoned a business traveler as I previously suspected because apparently getting bumped from a hotel is not a rarity. However, with a small group of 30 attendees to a conference held at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort almost 25 got bumped from their first night stay!
The anger I had during that stay (which I am fresh off of, finishing the conference the Friday before Memorial Day) is starting to fade, allowing me to think more objectively (if possible).
The hotel management did meet with our group.
The hotel management did comp the entire group's two-night stay at the hotel (one night at a hotel where they moved our bumped group).
The hotel management did sponsor an open-bar at our first night's event.
The hotel management did agree to donate for a scholarship fund our organization administers.
-
The hotel management did not inform our group at the time that we planned the conference that getting bumped was possible.
The hotel management did breach our signed contract, in which it clearly stated that a confirmed room was guaranteed unless a natural disaster occurred or a terrorist attack.
The hotel management knew there might be a problem and did not notify us individually or as a group until two days before the conference was to begin.
The hotel management admitted to overbooking rooms and admitted during their "peak" season these issues can occur.
-
In my seven plus years of business travel to conferences I have never been bumped from a single night stay due to overbooking during any season, peak or not. It is shameful that the first time it occurred is in my own, home state. I would advise all travelers to Cheyenne Mountain Resort in Colorado Springs to be aware of this, especially during the late spring and summer months (“peak season”).

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Poor hotel management
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2008

We arrived at the Cheyenne to find I'd booked a King room with one bed instead of a Queen with two, so we asked to change - no problem. The next room we found ourselves on the middle floor of one of the lodge buidlings and we could hear every footstep of the guy in the room above. After a restless night due to his weak bladder, we asked to change again, and again it was no problem, the staff also moving our luggage. Good service.
The hotel was quiet when we stayed, and the weather was cold, so we couldn't use the outdoor pool or the golf course. Or even walk the golf course! It's located in a pretty setting, and our room had a nice view over the course and mountains. The rooms themselves are fairly standard for a quality hotel, but comfortable, although the soundproofing could be better.
We only ate breakfast once as it was quite expensive and hadn't a fantastic choice. The dining room also felt a bit formal and impersonal. We didn't eat here in the evenings.
Facilities seemed very good if you're into fitness with a gym and indoor pool on the site. The staff were friendly and all in all, if we're ever back in Colorado Springs, we'd probably come back to this resort.

  • Liked — Good facilities for the fit!
  • Disliked — A bit big and impersonal
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uryjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, FL
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Great view was the only selling point to this "resort". Room was moldy and shabby with no elevator access. Felt more like a motel than a hotel let alone a "resort:. Would not recommend to families! Outrageous price for what you get!!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank 3aventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

As a Colorado Springs resident I've tried nearly every Sunday brunch in town. The Cheyenne Mountain Resort is tops in my book. It is less formal than the Broadmoor and the food is just as delicious. The golf-course views and fabulous service make this my favorite brunch destination. The menu options change every week or so but there are some mainstays....the salad bar is always fresh and includes fruit, cheese, and delicious seafood too. The hot bar provides made-to-order omelettes and pancakes. Additionally, the dessert table is to die for. Don't miss the vanilla bean ice cream and homemade pastries - yum!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorriesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
7.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#19 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheyenne Mountain Resort

Property: Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Address: 3225 Broadmoor Valley Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906-4494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#16 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#26 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheyenne Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the shadows of Colorado's Rocky Mountain Front Range lies Cheyenne Mountain Resort, Colorado Springs' premier four season escape. The resort's 316 finely appointed guest rooms and suites featuring comfortable Rocky Mountain-inspired decor are arranged in eight residential lodges across the grounds. A vast array of amenities include an 18-hole championship Pete Dye designed golf course, Spa & Wellness Retreat, five swimming pools, tennis courts, a health and fitness center, aquatics center and a 35-acre recreational lake complete with a beach and boating rentals. Known for its breathtaking mountain views, exceptional accommodations, fine dining, myriad of activities and comprehensive conference facilities, the AAA Four Diamond Cheyenne Mountain Resort offers the ultimate in Colorado vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheyenne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheyenne Mountain Hotel Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Resort Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Resort Colorado Springs Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing