We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Ranked #19 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My sister and I chose to stay at this property as our 'splurge' during a 5 week driving trip. We stayed for 2 nights, and both nights were woken up by the people above us stomping around like a little herd of elephants. Our flyscreen door onto the balcony would not close properly and so we had a few unwelcome bugs. (In fact the remains of quite a large squashed bug was left on the wall above our beds when we got there). Besides that, the rooms were gorgeous, and the grounds were lovely, but for the money you pay I just expected a bit more. The staff were friendly and we ate at the restaurant on site often. The food there was delicious and the wait staff were great. However if I ever travel to Colorado Springs again I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziegirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It is great to read that you enjoyed your experience at the Mountain View Restaurant, our helpful staff, views and more. We're disappointed, however, that your stay fell short of your expectations as it is our goal to do all that we can to ensure guests have a stellar experience. We ask guests to reach out if there is anything we can do to improve their stay and wish we knew about the screen door and the noise disturbances. We would have been happy to resolve these issues and hope you'll consider a future stay so that we may change your impression. Thank you for your feedback, we are looking into your comments to correct any imperfections for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    406
    210
    124
    65
See reviews for
469
335
46
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Cheyenne Mountain Resort is a lovely property! It is situated in the Colorado Springs Country Club and is primarily a golf resort. That being said, they have lovely pools, and grounds to enjoy as well. The rooms are spectacularly designed, beautiful to behold and very comfortable to sleep in! The restaurant was lovely and breakfast was wonderful. The mountain views are lovely. They do add a $16 resort fee for each night whether or not you use the amenities...which was a small detraction. But I would recommend for a couple of nights to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a mountain facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
While we are home to a championship golf course by world-renowned designer Pete Dye, the Cheyenne Mountain Resort is a great place for a family or couples getaway as well as a productive business trip. We're pleased you enjoyed our grounds and amenities, including those at the Country Club of Colorado which is adjacent to our resort. It's great to read that you also found your guest accommodations comfortable. We regret, however, if you were surprised by our Facilities Services Charge which includes amenities like complimentary parking and Wi-Fi, and is outlined on our website. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The resort provided a beautiful setting for the conference I was attending, including great rooms, beds and views of the mountains and valley, an abundance of amazing food served with excellence by the resort staff, a generally excellent attitude in all of the staff members .... sorry there was no time to play golf on the adjoining golf course!

Room Tip: The buildings are situated on the slope and the lower the building to the valley, the steeper the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Our resort is a great place for a productive business meeting or conference and we're glad this was your experience. Your kind mention of our on-site dining and staff is greatly appreciated. We hope that you're able to book one of our Golf Getaway packages or enjoy playing a round on our Pete Dye championship course during your next trip to the Cheyenne Mountain Resort. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANCOfficer82
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Do not let the drive to the resort question your decision to stay at this absolute breathtaking oasis. Gorgeous mountain views, lake, and golf courses. The resort truly encompasses what someone would get from a Colorado getaway. The resort has the outdoor cabin nature theme that continue through into the bedrooms. Really large rooms with a great view from the balcony, its coalesces nature getaway, luxury, and a romantic feel. Be wary of where you walk as you can easily run into deer grazing or other wild animals. Yet again, a true Colorado experience. The staff was very hospitable and professional tending to our needs. The Cheyenne Mountain Resort not only matched but exceeded my expectations for this diamond in the rough resort at half the price of the nearby competition, The Broadmoor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANCOfficer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It’s a treat to read that your recent stay at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort exceeded your expectations as that is our goal with each and every guest we welcome. We’re delighted you enjoyed the beautiful natural landscape and rustic-inspired decor throughout our resort. Your kind compliments to our staff are touching to read and will be shared with the entire team. Thank you for your kind review, we truly hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at Cheyenne Mt. Resort while taking a training class in Colorado Springs, followed by 2 nights on my own dime to sightsee in the area. The resort seemed like one that may have been built in the early 80's or thereabouts, but has been very well maintained and updated. I had a great stay-my room was updated and very clean. I appreciated the spacious closet, the two sinks in the bathroom area, and the gorgeous view of Cheyenne Mountain from the small balcony. I had breakfast in the dining room every day, and had the soup/salad/dessert buffet one evening. All the food was very good-the guy making omelets in the morning is an awesome cook. I didn't use the fitness center, but did go jogging a few times in the neighborhoods around the resort-there were sidewalks and not much traffic. It was fairly expensive-with fees and taxes about $300 per night.

Room Tip: I would request a top floor room. I had a room on the middle floor, and nights when someone occupie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It is wonderful that business brought you to Colorado Springs and the Cheyenne Mountain Resort but that you also got to spend some leisure time with us. We're delighted that our recently updated guest rooms met your needs and that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your balcony. Your kind review and mention of our Mountain View Restaurant are appreciated. We hope that during your next visit you get to take advantage of our numerous resort amenities like our pools, fitness center and classes. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

First I will say this is a beautiful property and a sane alternative to the prices and opulence of the Broadmoor. Half of the rooms have a view of the mountains and the golf course to the south. The course looked very flat and boring to me. The views from the main building are spectacular.

We made our reservation through Priceline.com. Upon check in the upcharging began. The clerk said our reservations were for 2 queens, if we wanted a king, UPCHARGE. There was a resort fee of $16.95, not disclosed on the priceline confirmation. Why a resort fee, they only had a pool, Motel 6 has a pool and they don't charge a resort fee. The resort was empty. BUT, they were going to upgrade us to a room with a view for free. How about a view of the dumpsters and upgrade us to a king bed room? That questioned didn't even get a giggle.

Being nickled and dimed like this is a major blemish for a resort of this ilk.

The room, was very nice. Closet was very roomy, double sink bathrooms, in room refrig. I like a softer bed, but these beds were too soft.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denverbri69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed your guest room; however, we regret your frustration during check-in. While we cannot speak to third party booking sites we would like to point out that our Facilities Service Charge, which covers parking, fitness classes, Wi-Fi, boating, tennis and more, is available on our website. It is our hope that you'll consider a future visit to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Attended a college reunion at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort so I did not select the hotel and probably won't return. I heard good reports from several classmates but I was disappointed in the hotel. The rooms are decent but the lighting, especially in the bathrooms, was inadequate. Additionally, the doors are thin and do a very poor job blocking even the slightest noise from the hallways. The beds are comfortable but not sufficiently so for a return visit. The exercise room is a long way from the hotel rooms and you have to go outside to get there. Not very convenient when it is cold outside. Room service was very slow to answer the phone but thankfully the delivery staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Average-Joe-1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are disappointed to learn that so many aspects of your stay were amiss. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced or if you were disrupted by other guests at any point in time. Our resort, comprised of eight residential lodges, our main lodge and country club facilities does boast expansive grounds complete with walking paths to some amenities, but none are more than an easy five minute walk from our guest rooms. Your feedback will be shared with our maintenance team who will investigate the lighting in our bathrooms. Thank you for your review, we hope you'll reconsider a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
7.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,069 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,869 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
802 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,305 reviews
10.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheyenne Mountain Resort

Property: Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Address: 3225 Broadmoor Valley Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906-4494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#16 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#26 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheyenne Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the shadows of Colorado's Rocky Mountain Front Range lies Cheyenne Mountain Resort, Colorado Springs' premier four season escape. The resort's 316 finely appointed guest rooms and suites featuring comfortable Rocky Mountain-inspired decor are arranged in eight residential lodges across the grounds. A vast array of amenities include an 18-hole championship Pete Dye designed golf course, Spa & Wellness Retreat, five swimming pools, tennis courts, a health and fitness center, aquatics center and a 35-acre recreational lake complete with a beach and boating rentals. Known for its breathtaking mountain views, exceptional accommodations, fine dining, myriad of activities and comprehensive conference facilities, the AAA Four Diamond Cheyenne Mountain Resort offers the ultimate in Colorado vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheyenne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheyenne Mountain Hotel Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Resort Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Resort Colorado Springs Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing