We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Ranked #19 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Confused staff!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We drove 6 hours to spend what we thought would be a nice relaxing weekend away from home. I had made the reservations weeks before our arrival & had even called before hand to ensure we had a top floor room with a view. Upon check in I was told by Cody the front desk attendant that out of their entire property there wasn't one top floor room- it was late at night and we were exhausted so I hesitantly took the first floor room, that he had said was available. BIG MISTAKE! We were awakened several times throughout the night and early morning, to what sounded like a stampede of buffalo above our room. I have stayed in many resorts and I have never heard anything this obnoxious! I immediately called the front desk and was put on hold and then told that I would be called back after they looked at openings. Hours later still not a response- I finally stopped by the front and Michelle at the front desk seemed as though she had no idea of the situation- in conclusion 9 hours later we were moved to an entire different building to a top floor. The whole lay out of the lodge is a joke! The only plus to this property was the room service food. Our final day we tried the buffet in the lodge, disgusting! This property needs to focus on customer satisfaction and look to find guest service agents that have some sense! We won't return to this property and could easily find better service at many other places in the Springs, that don't refer to themselves as 4 stars. If you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay, skip this resort and save yourself the agony!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
It is truly disheartening to learn that your recent stay with us was not more positive. We regret that your preferred room type was unavailable at check-in and that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay. We are grateful that you ultimately received your desired room, however, we certainly wish we could have resolved your issue more quickly as the satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. Your valued feedback will be shared with our management team to ensure we continue to put our guests first. We hope you'll reconsider giving us another chance in the future so that we may change your impression, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    415
    221
    128
    68
See reviews for
491
340
47
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Cheyenne a little over two months ago in early August 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. Our room balcony overlooked the golf course and had a beautiful view of the mountains.

The rooms were first class and very comfortable, all of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the onsite restaurants and pub were excellent. We didn’t get to spend a lot of time in the day to enjoy the resort but did manage to enjoy the small pool one evening and spend an afternoon by the small lake and Olympic sized pool to do a little swimming and water cycling. We also enjoyed a few lunches on the pub patio overlooking the beautiful view.

On the Saturday, our daughter had a small wedding at the little chapel by the Garden of the Gods. They checked out a few options for a small dinner reception and selected the Cheyenne because the restaurant was very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

We were just a small group of 15, but the Cheyenne went out of their way to really help us make the evening special. The weather was beautiful and we were able to have our own little area on the balcony overlooking the beautiful view of the mountains and the countryside. Before everyone arrived we were able to arrange and decorate the tables which made all the difference in the world.
Everyone raved about their dinners, the desert and the beautiful view. Our waiter (Shawn?) was very attentive to all of our needs and really helped to make the evening special. The next morning, my daughter and new son-in-law also enjoyed the amazing Sunday breakfast buffet at the same restaurant.

While visiting Colorado Springs we also had time to squeeze in a little site seeing and enjoyed seeing all of the regular tourist spots such as the Garden of the Gods, Manitou Springs and Pike’s Peak. However, one of the staff also tipped us off to a beautiful drive along Gold Camp Road which overlooks Colorado Springs.

I will definitely stay at the Cheyenne again the next time we go to visit our daughter and new son-in-law in Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_BarrieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Congratulations to your daughter and son-in-law! We're honored to have been a part of such a momentous occasion and were happy to do anything we could to make dinner memorable. It's wonderful to read of all that you enjoyed at our resort and that you took advantage of our location in Colorado Springs to explore the Pikes Peak region. We certainly appreciate your truly touching review of your time at Cheyenne Mountain Resort and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here when my husband attended a conference. The room was clean and had plenty of space for the three of us. (Me, my husband and our 23 yr old son) The area was great and close to everyting that we wanted to see and do while in Colorado Springs. My husband said the staff that took care of them at the conference were very good. There were several things that were not so great about our stay. We were on the lower floor and although our upstairs neighbor was not too loud you could hear every step he took. The ceiling creaked loudly when they moved around. The bed was fairly comfortable but the pillows were horrible! The air conditioner would NEVER stop running and was really loud. It looked like the unit had been there for many years! It was almost too cold for the person near the unit and too warm for the others. I would not stay here again if I go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are deeply disheartened to read that your stay with us would not inspire a return visit and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. While we wish we had the opportunity to address your issues while you were here to ensure you had an exceptional stay, we are thankful that you brought them to our attention in your review. Our maintenance team will further investigate your comments making sure our guest rooms are at their absolute best for current and future guests. Your kind mention of our convenient location and conference staff is appreciated and we hope you'll consider giving our resort another try in the future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I really got lucky last summer when looking for a hotel in the Colorado Springs area. I found the Cheyenne Mountain Resort on an internet travel website, for the incredibly low rate of $119 per night. This must have been a mistake or a special rate, as I have tried to find this rate again, but have not found anything below $199. Anyway, back to the resort. It is located in S.W. Colorado Springs, and is a little tricky to get to, as the streets tend to meander close to the mountains. The lobby is beautiful, with the feel of a mountain lodge. The lobby restaurant had a weekend buffet that was expansive, and delicious, and reasonably priced. Our room had two 2 beds, a wonderful open lay-out, and great view. The pool area was nice, but a little dated in looks. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. I look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doceyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort. We're touched to hear from returning guests and are glad you enjoyed our rustic-yet-modern accommodations perfect for taking in the scenic mountain views. Your kind mention of our award-winning Sunday Brunch at the Mountain View Restaurant is appreciated as are your compliments to our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was a little worried about booking here reading other reviews but a friend stayed here and liked it so I gave it a chance and so glad we did. The rooms were large, modern, clean and comfortable. Beds were very nice. Great nights sleep. Our view was not technically a "mountain view" room but we could see the golf course and the mountains (partial). We saw deer right in the parking lot! They had a lovely pool but we didn't get to try it. We were in room 360 of the Clear Creek Lodge building and had 2 queen beds. HUGE closet area. Nice bathroom amenities and a refrigerator in the room was nice. We did not use the country club facilities but could see the lake from our balcony and the CC was a short walk from our building. I can see if you are staying here for a whole week and relying on this place to eat etc. that it would be quite pricey. We did not eat breakfast here (Panera down the road was perfect) but we did have one dinner here (the buffet) which was nice. Good view and kind service. $30 per person. I can see that would be costly for a family every night but for one night it was a good option and we had a car. The lounge/bar area looked nice but we also did not utilize that. They had a nice fire pit outside and I cannot say enough about the giant balcony off the main building. HUGE and a fabulous view of everything. My only real annoyance was that the ice machine was not working at one point in our stay and when we asked a maid about it she shrugged and said she didn't know anything about it but didn't seem inspired to tell anyone it was broken. The jacuzzi by the pool was also not working but they were working to fix it and were very honest about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
How wonderful to read that your stay at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort exceeded your expectations! It is great that you enjoyed your guest room and dining experience, we certainly hope you have a chance to come back and take advantage of our relaxing resort amenities. Many of the specials and packages we offer include benefits like complimentary breakfast and other great perks so we recommend visiting our website prior to booking your stay. We appreciate your understanding as we repaired our jacuzzi and are looking into your comments regarding the ice machine. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Colorado Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Cheyenne Mountain Resort has all the facilities for a great vacation. The accommodation was excellent, the service great, and we enjoyed our stay in Colorado Springs. Colorado Springs has so much to offer a visitor. Great sports, wonderful sightseeing opportunities. A hilight was the Garden of the Gods.

Room Tip: The Dove building is a good choice. It connects to the main building. A number of other wings do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Colorado Springs is bursting with things to do and sights to see and we're so glad you got to explore some of the area attractions like Garden of the Gods. We're also delighted by your kind mention of the service and accommodations you received during your vacation at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Reception staff quick and efficient we stayed in the fountain creek which overlooks the golf course. Room was very large with 2 queen beds furnishings were very luxurious. We had dinner in the restaurant in the golf club an excellent meal and reasonable price. Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night as there appears to be a great deal to do here. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buster1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Even though you were only with us for a night it seems that you truly got a sense of the Cheyenne Mountain Resort. We're thrilled you enjoyed your guest room as well as your dining experience at the Pineview Grille. Your kind review and mention of our staff as well as your recommendation are greatly appreciated. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a longer stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
7.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,099 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
827 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,403 reviews
8.9 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#29 of 105 in Colorado Springs
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheyenne Mountain Resort

Property: Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Address: 3225 Broadmoor Valley Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906-4494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#16 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#26 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheyenne Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the shadows of Colorado's Rocky Mountain Front Range lies Cheyenne Mountain Resort, Colorado Springs' premier four season escape. The resort's 316 finely appointed guest rooms and suites featuring comfortable Rocky Mountain-inspired decor are arranged in eight residential lodges across the grounds. A vast array of amenities include an 18-hole championship Pete Dye designed golf course, Spa & Wellness Retreat, five swimming pools, tennis courts, a health and fitness center, aquatics center and a 35-acre recreational lake complete with a beach and boating rentals. Known for its breathtaking mountain views, exceptional accommodations, fine dining, myriad of activities and comprehensive conference facilities, the AAA Four Diamond Cheyenne Mountain Resort offers the ultimate in Colorado vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheyenne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheyenne Mountain Hotel Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Resort Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Resort Colorado Springs Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing