We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Ranked #19 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
tulsa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sadly Poor”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I very much wanted to like this place, sadly we were in a "lower" lodge which caused us to walk to the third level-or walk to the other end og the building. The through the wall a/c unit was very noisy and not very effective. The restaurant was only average and no soda machine we found would take any dollar we had. I was sorry it wasn't better.

Room Tip: get a room facinf the mountain-if you must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulsadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiam08, Director of Rooms at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Hello tulsadave,

Thank you for visiting Cheyenne Mountain Resort. I am sorry that you did not like the location of your room. Many of our guests request the lower lodges for proximity to the club amenities. I apologize that you found that location to be inconvenient, and that the meals in our restaurant were merely average. We appreciate hearing all points of view from all of our guests, and I thank you for taking the time to write.

Please contact me at Cheyenne Mountain Resort should there be anything else with which I may assist you.

Again, thank you for being our guest.

Scott Marble
Director of Rooms
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    409
    216
    125
    66
See reviews for
480
336
46
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort for 8 nights during our summer vacation. Since I feel there are many high points as well as some lows I am going to break the review down into pros and cons.

PROS: The bed is great, the rooms are clean, and the view is spectacular (unless you get a partially blocked view from a tree or have a room directly above the roof). We got lucky and only had a partially blocked view. Either way, the rooms are well maintained and the temperature was perfect. The Mountain View Restaurant has great food and excellent service. Buy the breakfast coupons before you reserve your room, and plan on dining there for breakfast as much as possible. The buffet was clean and kept up, and the service in this restaurant was very good. I suggest getting a patio table and looking at the mountains from the patio while you dine. It's nice having 4 pools to choose from, and the amenities offered by the Country Club at your disposal. It's a bit of a walk from wherever you are located, but it's worth it.

CONS: While I admit we stayed during a very busy time of the year (July 2-July 10) the service at the Will Rodgers Lounge was very inconsistent. It seemed that the servers were either overwhelmed at times or the management didn't put them in the best situation in order to succeed. I was a server once so I understand it can be difficult at times. However, we dined in the lounge 5 separate times during our trip and I would say we got excellent service once. The other times were all hit or miss depending mostly upon the traffic of the lounge. When it was slow, we got good service, when it was even moderately busy it was average at best. Although it is very nice to have access to the Colorado Country Club during the stay we were charged $15 a day and the lady who checked us in never mentioned it. Though when it came time to check out apparently the guy at the front desk said he was reading that on the screen she said she told us of the fee. It never happened. Anyway, I paid the $120 and left. I just didn't have the patience to argue with him. I paid for our stay ahead of time. And I paid cash or credit for all services within the hotel. I do this on every trip. That way I know when I check out there won't be anything else charged to the room. This should be addressed by Scott Marble or whoever decides on these things. This fee needs to either be included in the room charge or it needs to be perfectly clear upon check in. The pool, although a comfortable temperature had a few too many bugs in it, and I don't know how frequently they clean it, but they may want to look into how well the filters are working.

PERSONAL RECOMMENDATION: Get some sort of a nice tiki bar going for the summer crowd. The pool area is nice, but it lacks an adult bar where you can sit and enjoy a drink. Check out the bar at the Omni Interlocken which has a mist that comes down during intervals. I think it's a modest investment that would pay off.

OVERALL: Although there are some inconsistencies associated with this hotel overall it will get 4 stars from me. The value of the discounted rate is nice, and the beds are super comfortable. The view from the patio is amazing. I didn't understand how it could have been the 24th best hotel in Colorado Springs prior to staying but now I do. This place could really be in the top 5, however little things prevent that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiam08, Director of Rooms at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Hello bthugz,

What a great account of the time you spent with us. Thank you for taking so much time to be complimentary and constructive, we are happy to hear it all. Glad you enjoyed so many aspects of the resort, especially the newly renovated rooms, the ever popular beds, and all the amenities at the club.

Your notes about the service in the lounge are duly noted and I will share them with the Food & Beverage director. Regarding the resort fee; I am not sure how you booked your reservation but on any site that we manage directly the resort fee is listed as a separate charge along with the room tax. Sites such as Priceline do not pay the resort fee but disclose it on the property’s page explaining that it will be charged to the guest directly. In any case I am sorry for the confusion.

We have looked at upgrading the resort pool food and beverage outlets and will continue to do so as capital dollars become available. And I will share your comments about the pool filters with our aquatics team.

If I can ever be of any assistance you with a future visit, please contact me directly at Cheyenne Mountain Resort.

Thank you again for your candor, I wish you a great weekend.


Scott Marble
Director of Rooms
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights at this location. We found it to be a very enjoyable stay with no major complaints. Staff were friendly and prompt. Enjoyed one night dinner through room service and found that the food was delicious; probably the best meal of our trip. High fees that include tip are already added to cost of room service so be aware of this. Breakfast was the only other meal we ate there and it was delicious with great coffee as well. Next time we’ll take time to eat dinner in the restaurant. Unfortunately, rain cancelled our tee time so I can't comment on the golf course. Be aware the golf course is the Country Club and proper attire is required. No athletic wear is allowed on the course. After reading other reviews I see so many that comment on the bedding. Most seem to like it but be aware that if you like a firm mattress you will be unhappy! It is very lush down bedding, both mattress topper and blankets with an extremely heavy comforter. It is beautiful and comfy if you’re a back sleeper. After our first night we had to take off the mattress cover as it was way too soft for our comfort and not easy to rest on if you’re a stomach sleeper. The mattress underneath was medium firm. We loved the location and there is some decent shopping nearby. We are already planning our trip there next year and hope we are able to get the great rate we found by shopping online. We arrived on July 4th and were excited to hear they had their own fireworks show which was really good. We were able to enjoy it from our balcony. Two minor complaints: They were also having a 4th BBQ buffet which sounded really good but at $40.00 a person, we couldn’t see it would be worth it. Also, the exterior trash can nearest our entrance stayed full of the same trash all 3 days we were there. Neither of these affect our enjoyment factor or rating of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiam08, Director of Rooms at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Kim_OK

Thank you for the compliments of our staff and of the food you enjoyed while staying at Cheyenne Mountain Resort. And I appreciate your candor on the firmness of the beds. The pillow toppers do make them very soft, but as you noted the topper is removable for those who prefer a firmer mattress so I am glad you found that solution. I hope someone in our housekeeping staff did that for you.

Because the Country Club of Colorado is a private club a stricter dress code for play is in effect; thank you for understanding. Sorry you did not get to play the course, but we did need the rain. Perhaps you will return next July 4th; we will have fireworks again, and if the BBQ at the Club seemed too expensive we have other dining options around the property and you can enjoy the fireworks from the terraces on the Main Lodge as well.

Sorry about the trash cans by your room. Even when we are running a sold out house, this is not our standard, my apologies.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Cheyenne Mountain Resort.

Yours Truly,

Scott Marble
Director of Rooms
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just wanted some time to myself and got a great rate after the 4th of July on Priceline. The resort is beautiful, the crowds had left, and the room was thoughtfully designed. I enjoyed the Room Service although it arrived late and they gave a hefty discount as a result. The food was well presented and tasty. The staff are professional and unobtrusive. You will enjoy this resort. One will pay a 15.00 daily charge for golf, pool use, parking and wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nighthorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiam08, Director of Rooms at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Good Afternoon Nighthorse,

Thanks you for paying us a visit. Indeed the days after the 4th were much quieter than the preceding weekend so I am glad you found the time you spent with us so relaxing. My apologies for the delay in your Room Service order, but I was happy to read that our staff recognized the lengthy delay and discounted your meal. We will look forward to serving you again the next time you are feeling the need for "time for yourself."

Wishing you a great weekend,

Scott Marble
Director of Rooms
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is a beautiful resort and is priced accordingly; however we stayed five nights and got a 35% discount which is amazing when you add it up. A fantastic value. We have one child under eight and he ate free at the resort and my other child is 11 and his food was half price. A wonderful policy because kids just don't eat that much especially when they are ready to go play!

The gold course was pristine. The Will Rogers lounge was so classy and enjoyable. My husband and I got to have cocktails and play pool while the kids played Wii only a few feet away. There are four beautiful swimming pools so even with a full resort none of them were overcrowded or unpleasant. Even though we were there for five nights we still weren't able to participate in everything the resort had to offer.

Every member of the staff that we dealt with from beginning to end was courteous and friendly.

It was such a great time. I recommend The Cheyenne Mountain Resort for couples or families because it is set up to be enjoyed by either.

I don't know if I can say anything was not perfect on our trip. My ONLY complaint is that we ordered room service once and it wasn't as hot as I would have liked it to be. However it was fine dining at its best.

I am so ready to return!
.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyJeanElkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiam08, Director of Rooms at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Hello AmyJeanElkins,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts about Cheyenne Mountain Resort on TripAdvisor. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Glad you found everything to be to your liking, including the 35% discount for your five night stay, and the special pricing we offer for children.

And thank you for the compliments for our hard working staff who served you so well.

I hope you find the time to make another trip from Texas for it would be our pleasure to have you join us again.

Sincerely,

Scott Marble
Director of Rooms
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I was a bit hesitant based on some of the reviews, but glad we made the decision to stay here. very nice and large rooms with private balcony. We had a king with a wet-bar, large bath vanity area and separate bath/toilet area; extremely large HD flat-screen... many channels. We also had a small fridge... a microwave would have been nice :)

Due to numerous restaurants we wanted to checkout in the area, we did not eat at the resort; but heard it was good.

Many resort activities... swimming, beach, sailing, and of course golf. Cheyenne Mountain Zoo within 10 minutes. You may see mule deer on your way - in the road - like we did; very friendly; do not fear humans; but keep your distance and respect them as wild animals! Garden of the Gods also very close as is Manitou Springs and Pike's Peak. If you have time, drive to Canon City and ride the Royal Gorge Railroad, well worth it! Watch for the crazy helicopter pilot who will buzz the train between the thousand foot cliffs!!

The resort is spread-out over large area. Ask for a top floor to take full advantage of the views.

Drawbacks... wireless was very slow, the A/C unit extremely loud, no elevators if you are a bit challenged carrying luggage up stairs. Although we did not need assistance, the friendly staff would have been more than willing to assist.

Overall, a very nice resort... a bit more comfortable and family friendly than the "other" resort further up the road!! Also much easier on your wallet!

Room Tip: Request a resort or mountain view... well worth the extra few $$$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiam08, Director of Rooms at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear Coastie16,

I appreciate your giving us the benefit of the doubt. We know our reputation is subject to many points of views on websites such as TripAdvisor, so thank you for seeing Cheyenne Mountain Resort for yourself.

It sounds like you had a good visit in Colorado Springs. We are fortunate to be located so close to many of the area’s major attractions and lucky to have so many activities on property as well. Thank you for recognizing that our staff would have been happy to assist you with your luggage had you need it. So many good people work very hard to serve our guests, so it kind of you to mention them.

Please pay us a visit when you return to Colorado Springs. I t would be a pleasure to serve you again.

Truly,

Scott marble
Director of Rooms
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We live in Pennsylvania and met friends here who drove up from New Mexico. The resort is very nice - a lot of beautiful areas outside to sit and relax. The room was clean, very nice and had a great view. The staff was excellent - anytime we needed help or anything, they were there to make our visit enjoyable. The gym is top notch. Breakfast in the main restaurant was excellent also.
In fact, my sister wanted a recommendation as to where they could vacation out west and I told her that the Cheyenne Mountain Resort and Colorado Springs would be perfect for their family - she has two children and I know they will love the splash pool area, the lake, movie night, and the smores. So, they are making plans to vacation here next month.
The only downside is that the air conditioner was a bit loud, but I am a light sleeper.
Awesome hiking is just a short drive away.

Room Tip: It was worth the minimal charge to upgrade to a resort view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiam08, Director or Rooms at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear bam23,

Thank you. I know that there are many places from which to choose when one is on vacation, so I truly appreciate your visiting us with your friends from New Mexico. Please let me know if I can help with any arrangements for your visit with your sister. You are very kind to give us such a glowing recommendation.

All the Best,

Scott Marble
Director of Rooms
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
7.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,087 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,886 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
817 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,352 reviews
8.9 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#27 of 105 in Colorado Springs
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheyenne Mountain Resort

Property: Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Address: 3225 Broadmoor Valley Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906-4494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#16 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#26 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheyenne Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the shadows of Colorado's Rocky Mountain Front Range lies Cheyenne Mountain Resort, Colorado Springs' premier four season escape. The resort's 316 finely appointed guest rooms and suites featuring comfortable Rocky Mountain-inspired decor are arranged in eight residential lodges across the grounds. A vast array of amenities include an 18-hole championship Pete Dye designed golf course, Spa & Wellness Retreat, five swimming pools, tennis courts, a health and fitness center, aquatics center and a 35-acre recreational lake complete with a beach and boating rentals. Known for its breathtaking mountain views, exceptional accommodations, fine dining, myriad of activities and comprehensive conference facilities, the AAA Four Diamond Cheyenne Mountain Resort offers the ultimate in Colorado vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheyenne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheyenne Mountain Hotel Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Resort Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Resort Colorado Springs Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing