We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must, in Colorado Springs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlos Miguels Mexican Bar

Carlos Miguels Mexican Bar
Ranked #193 of 1,402 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Must, in Colorado Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Carlos Miguel's Mexican Restaurant in the Broadmoor Country Club area is a lovely restaurant decorated with style; it is completely different than most Mexican restaurants that are filled with pottery, paintings, cheap decorations, etc. You know, the "typical" stereotype. The atmosphere is relaxed, elegant with outstanding service.

There are so many authentic dishes to select from, and yes, they have items you find in other restaurants, but there are other culinary delights that most people don't associate with Mexico, like their "Steak Chihuahua" which is a filet mignon served with a mixture of vegetables and a sauce that on the first bite gives you an explosion of incredible flavors! Their Catfish is excellent and I would highly recommend it as well. In short, whether you select a beef, poultry, fish or seafood entrée, you will be pleasantly surprised1

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patagonia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    31
    23
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great High End Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This one of our favorite Mexican places. They specialize in Seafood so I particularly like Seafood Chimi with Spicy Habanero Sauce or Grilled Shrimp with the same great sauce. They have a lower cost lunch menu that makes their meals competitive with all the other chain and lower cost Mexican places in the area. Particularly like Lunch Fajitas at $8.95.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I am sad to have to write this.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went to Carlos Miguels on Saturday for lunch. We had been there many times before. I had told my sisters how great and pretty it was and couldn't wait to show it to them. Several things happened that were very disappointing......there was a hair in the salsa; the margaritas had black floaty things in it, the manager yelled at the server in front of us for delivering said items, and then didn't offer to remove anything off our bill. Just kind of ignored us as we were walking out the door. It was extremely poor customer service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poobah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unobtrusive on the outside but cool inside...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This place is a little hard to fin. Its in a shoopping center on Cheyenne Mountain Boulevard. The outside is a little plain Jane but the inside is well decorated in a Southwestern motif.

We went there for lunch and it was crowded as it must be a popular place. The service was great and we didn't have long to wait. Once orders were taken we tried their chips and salsa as well there bean dip. All was delicious. No problem getting more.

The food arrived and was excellent. Very tasty and delicious. Portion sizes were good sized but not large. Prices off the lunch menu were under $10.

We actually went here because we found them advertised in our Entertainment book. When we went to pay, however, they would not honor the coupon for lunch dining. A bit of a bummer but the food was still worth it. I would eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good (in Spanish)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Service is always great and the food is consistently amazing. Nice little patio when the Colorado weather will allow it. We drive from across the city to come to this place! Well worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Miguels Mexican Bar also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Carlos Miguels Mexican Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing