We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine way to start the weekend”
Review of Crescent Lily Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crescent Lily Inn
Swink, CO
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A fine way to start the weekend”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This weekend we went up to the Springs.

We visited the Asian Market on Platte on Friday afternoon.

Leece has been wanting to visit the Flea Market, also on Platte near the Asian Market, so we did that Saturday morning before our hike at Cheyenne Mountain State Park.

Friday evening we stayed at the Crescent Lily B&B. Holden House has been our favorite B&B in the Springs area, over near Old Colorado City, but Holden now requires at least a two night stay.

We had some doubts about this one initially, as the aerial shots on GoogleMaps seem to show it as being in a rather stark commercial area, but that wasn't the case. It's actually just behind Boulder Crescent Park, in a quiet, well-kept neighborhood.

We were cheerfully greeted by Lin, the hostess, given a good briefing on How Things Worked, and how to reach her upstairs if we needed anything. We were then left to our own devices. That's not a negative observation; we were attended to quite well; we just didn't have anyone bugging us.

The house was quiet. We didn't even know two other groups - a couple and a family - were in the place till next morning at breakfast.

Crescent Lily is quite tastefully appointed with the usual antiques you'd expect in a Victorian, but also lacked a lot of the clutter Victorians often present. According to the owner, the house was built in 1898, and rather unusually, the beautiful woodwork/trim had never been painted. We really liked the ceiling in the front parlor.

We didn't use TV's - I'm not even sure there was one in our room - and since it was a 'getaway' we did not use WiFi.

The place was extremely well-maintained, and quite clean. The owner has some of her weaving wares displayed and for sale. These are nicely crafted items and well worth checking out.

Breakfast was a simple presentation of scrambled eggs, potatoes au gratin, a nice fruit and nut bread, and ... Rocky Ford cantaloupe and kiwi fruit (not from Rocky Ford), all nicely plated. The dining room has individual tables rather than the typical large common table. It was a good start for the day.

There had been a spectacular thunderstorm as we were on our way to the B&B Friday evening, so much so that we had to pull over only a few blocks away to wait for the rains to abate. It wasn't till the next morning that we heard of the flooding, destruction and deaths over in Manitou Springs.

Yep, we'll stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Lily of the Valley room, which is on the ground floor, just off the dining room and back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stay at many B&Bs and we thought that we would try this one out for the first time. The inn is immacutely maintained and very clean and private; however, the amenities are bit overstated. The common area has just one TV w/ basic cable and there are no board games/other entertainment to speak of. We really wanted to kick back and watch a show after a long hard day of hiking, but someone had already laid claim to the TV, so that wasn't possible and w/out any TVs in the rooms, you really have no other options. Breakfasts were OK . . nothing really to speak of in terms of flavor/wow factor and portions were a bit small. Also, the "cereal bar" was just two containers of some rather stale cereal. Overall, we definitely were expecting more for breakfast in terms of flavor, amount, and variety, and were very disappointed. We actually had to go and supplement our breakfast we were still so hungry afterwards.

The rooms are very quiet and the inn is just a hop, skip, and jump from downtown, so it was very pleasant to walk to dinner in the evenings. The innkeeper was able to give us a great recommendation for a restaurant when we asked for a good Mexican or Italian place where we could eat outside.

It served as a good "base camp" for hiking in and south of the Colorado Springs area but when comparing it to other inns that we have stayed at for breakfast and amenities, it was definitely on the lighter/disappointing side of what we were used to and expecting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mtvbColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights in October 2012. The property was located so close to downtown that we could walk to local restaurants. The home and rooms were very tastefully furnished and exceeded our expectations. Our host made us feel like family at breakfast. The food was EXCEPTIONAL! We stayed two nights in this area while on vacation and hated to leave. We will definitely return to this property when we return to Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Don't stay they are creepy and dirty
The lady.owner is a Psycholgist, she tries to analize her quest. Her husband is creepy
Beds are dirty, over all terrible. Staff terrible terrible go stay somewhere else

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank creep3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steptoe, wa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. It was an amazing house, clean, keepers were great and breakfast was wonderful. Parking behind the house. The rooms are beautiful and it was very quiet. I stayed in the water lily room. It had a king bed, fireplace and a huge bathroom. Very quiet, it is on the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valoree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The home was very well kept and it was a good location for exploring downtown Colorado Springs. My room was very nice and the innkeeper was fine. Breakfast was a little skimpy and there was more of a separate feeling as each group had a separate table.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringo515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Crescent Lily Inn on a spur-of-the moment trip. The innkeeper had just two rooms still available and she was very gracious to us with the pricing as we were last-minute guests. Our rooms were on the second floor and both had jetted tubs. One room included a sitting area and a balcony; the other room had the larger bathroom with a beautiful huge garden-type tub. Both rooms were absolutely beautiful and very individual. Everything in 'the Springs' is a very short drive away (location is not particularly conducive to walking unfortunately). Breakfast was very good as well! The history of the house was very interesting, though everything has been updated for convenience but keeping the authenticity. The common rooms were quite comfortable as well. The porch was so relaxing for that first morning cup-of-coffee! I would highly recommend Crescent Lily Inn to anyone visiting Colorado Springs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#35 of 105 in Colorado Springs
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Hotel and Conference Cen...
#55 of 105 in Colorado Springs
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Downtown
Quality Suites Downtown
#54 of 105 in Colorado Springs
205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
#10 of 105 in Colorado Springs
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Lily Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Lily Inn

Property: Crescent Lily Inn
Address: 6 Boulder Crescent St, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-3318
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crescent Lily Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Crescent Lily Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing