We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a nice quiet and cozy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Forest Bed and Breakfast
FOUNTAIN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“had a nice quiet and cozy room”
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We had the His Room at the Blackforest Bed and Breakfast. The room was nice and cozy. Loved the snow and pine trees also. We had a very nice quiet evening. In the morning our breakfast was brought to us in the morning, by a every nice and polite young man. Thank You for a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anytown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Owner was very friendly on the phone when we booked. Once we arrived it took us almost 15-20 minutes to even locate her to let her know we were there. She greeted us by hanging out the front door telling us where our room was. There were no keys, no local information, no info on where or when breakfast was, she made no attempt to welcome us.

When we arrived to our room there were about 50-60 dead flies on the floor and another 10 or so on each window sill. The fly problem was ongoing for our entire stay. The first day she sent someone in to vacuum because we requested this. Also we had to request light bulbs for some of the lamps...they were either missing or burnt out.

Although there were hotel size shampoos in the bathroom, they had no shampoo in them. The rooms we stayed in hadn't been dusted. Bed s were very comfortable.

We only saw the owner ( or anyone from the property) when we were trying to check in or when we needed help getting rid of the flies..

View in the distance is nice.

This isn't a bed and breakfast, it's an over priced rustic cabin in the woods. With no hospitality. Not at all a B& B experience.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — dead flies
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlwaysTravlin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeper7
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2008

The Black Forest Bed and Breakfast was a nice getaway in Colorado Springs. We took a group of youth up there for a weekend. I liked how I could almost always get in contact with the owner of the property beforehand and they were great about returning our calls. We went two places: the Homestead House and the Lodge. The Homestead house was nice and clean but there were a few problems: the heat worked really well in some areas and not at all in others- so some froze while others were nice and toasty. Overall, however, it was a nice place to stay.

The Lodge didn't look like it was cleaned. There was food in the microwave and several flies on the floor.

All in all, several members of our group said they liked where we stayed and would like to come back.

  • Liked — The location. the homey feel
  • Disliked — The lack of contact with the workers once we were there
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We booked this B&B in Sep 2007 and paid our deposit unaware that the Cabin we reserved was on the market for sale.

We were contacted in Dec (owner left a voicemail) and notified that the property had been sold and our reservations were cancelled.

It took a week and a number of phone calls to get a deposit refund.

Apparently the owner was so distraught she waited to tell us...now we are scrambling to find other accomodations.


Terrible way to run a business!!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank John_Q_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synergywilson, Owner at Black Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
In my 24 years of running my B&B I have only once had to cancel a reservation and this was the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
12.9 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,868 reviews
12.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,067 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
720 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,225 reviews
13.4 mi away
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
#1 of 16 in Colorado Springs
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Black Forest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11170 Black Forest Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80908-3986
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Forest Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log Cabin B&B. Post and beam lodge ideal for weddings, family reunions and retreats. Family friendly cabins and guest houses, romantic suites with fireplaces and business friendly rooms on 10 acres of pines with panoramic mountain views only minutes to the city of Colorado Springs area business and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Forest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing