We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Forest Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This place is gorgeous. Our family had a great time. Nate & Kali chose the perfect spot to start their life.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Black Forest Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

The place is fairly nice but a little run down. Lots of weeds, one of the door locks didn't work, etc. We stayed in "The Ark" which is the ground floor of "The Barn". Lots of cutesy Noah's Ark decor. Bed was comfy and the place was clean.
Even though it was directly behind the main house, the barn was considered a "cabin" and so didn't qualify for any breakfast. I thought that was a little cheap given it was so close and the breakfast was only going to be muffins anyway.
We had a problem with the TV and called the owner's cell phone as directed, but she never returned our call in four days. Fortunately we were sight seeing and really only used the place for sleeping so it wasn't a big deal, but I'm glad we didn't have a bigger problem if there wasn't going to be any response.
We stayed there with a kgbdeal and so didn't pay full price. We got our money's worth, but would have been extremely disappointed if we had paid the full price of $200 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We had the His Room at the Blackforest Bed and Breakfast. The room was nice and cozy. Loved the snow and pine trees also. We had a very nice quiet evening. In the morning our breakfast was brought to us in the morning, by a every nice and polite young man. Thank You for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank underhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Owner was very friendly on the phone when we booked. Once we arrived it took us almost 15-20 minutes to even locate her to let her know we were there. She greeted us by hanging out the front door telling us where our room was. There were no keys, no local information, no info on where or when breakfast was, she made no attempt to welcome us.

When we arrived to our room there were about 50-60 dead flies on the floor and another 10 or so on each window sill. The fly problem was ongoing for our entire stay. The first day she sent someone in to vacuum because we requested this. Also we had to request light bulbs for some of the lamps...they were either missing or burnt out.

Although there were hotel size shampoos in the bathroom, they had no shampoo in them. The rooms we stayed in hadn't been dusted. Bed s were very comfortable.

We only saw the owner ( or anyone from the property) when we were trying to check in or when we needed help getting rid of the flies..

View in the distance is nice.

This isn't a bed and breakfast, it's an over priced rustic cabin in the woods. With no hospitality. Not at all a B& B experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlwaysTravlin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

The Black Forest Bed and Breakfast was a nice getaway in Colorado Springs. We took a group of youth up there for a weekend. I liked how I could almost always get in contact with the owner of the property beforehand and they were great about returning our calls. We went two places: the Homestead House and the Lodge. The Homestead house was nice and clean but there were a few problems: the heat worked really well in some areas and not at all in others- so some froze while others were nice and toasty. Overall, however, it was a nice place to stay.

The Lodge didn't look like it was cleaned. There was food in the microwave and several flies on the floor.

All in all, several members of our group said they liked where we stayed and would like to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beeper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We booked this B&B in Sep 2007 and paid our deposit unaware that the Cabin we reserved was on the market for sale.

We were contacted in Dec (owner left a voicemail) and notified that the property had been sold and our reservations were cancelled.

It took a week and a number of phone calls to get a deposit refund.

Apparently the owner was so distraught she waited to tell us...now we are scrambling to find other accomodations.


Terrible way to run a business!!!

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank John_Q_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synergywilson, Owner at Black Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

In my 24 years of running my B&B I have only once had to cancel a reservation and this was the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
13.0 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,316 reviews
12.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,107 reviews
7.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#53 of 105 in Colorado Springs
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Sprin...
#22 of 105 in Colorado Springs
605 reviews
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#42 of 105 in Colorado Springs
515 reviews
5.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11170 Black Forest Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80908-3986
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $108 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log Cabin B&B. Post and beam lodge ideal for weddings, family reunions and retreats. Family friendly cabins and guest houses, romantic suites with fireplaces and business friendly rooms on 10 acres of pines with panoramic mountain views only minutes to the city of Colorado Springs area business and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Forest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing