We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs South
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

I was impressed with quite a few things at this property. First of all, each desk clerk that I dealt with was pleasant, engaging, and extremely helpful. This hotel has a 3-ring binder with pre-printed directions to all kinds of local destinations - not just tourist attactions but also nearby grocery stores, etc. What a fabulous idea! The rooms were spotless and oh my gosh, were the beds ever so comfortable. The only reason I dinged the room quality a little bit is because previous posters are correct - the ceilings do allow quite a bit of noise to come in from above. But that is absolutely the ONLY negative, and the positives outweight the negatives so greatly at this hotel that unless you're annoyed easily, that should not be a consideration. Breakfast was nice but not elaborate. The price is right for this place, and here was the clincher - my son left his cellphone in the room when we checked out. Within an hour we had a call from the hotel telling us it had been found by the housekeeping staff. I have forgot enough of items in hotels to know that whatever you leave is almost always never seen again; amazingly these items typically dissolve into thin air. We didn't even know my son's phone was missing when we got the call that it had been found at the hotel! The staff, in addition to the amazingly comfortable beds and other amenities, make this hotel a bargain. I recommend it to anyone except those easily irritated by possible thumping noises coming from the room above.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    23
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
7
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed here with our two kids, 9 months and 2 yrs, and found it to be pretty average with some warning signs that things might be on a downslide here.

The pro's are:
* Clean rooms, bathroom and kitchen!
* Nice floor plan of rooms (we had a two bedroom) with actual doors separating them from the living area and the general cleanliness of the room. Great if you want to get little kids to sleep.
* Nice staff
* quiet area of town (if you want quiet. Some reviewers wanted to be downtown, but we wanted out of the way.)

The cons are:
* Very thin ceiling - You can hear normal activity and foot steps above you quite clearly. We didn't hear that at the other Marriott property, Springhill Suites next door. I've heard footsteps at other low budget constructed hotels. It's shame to save $20K in construction costs and make guests suffer for the next 30 years. Stay on the 4th floor with no one above you.
* Parking lot is getting a bit sketch - I've been staying at the SpringHill Suites from time to time and so I've seen this parking lot starting to slide. On this stay, there was an apparently abandoned pickup with empty bottles laying around it and a flat tire parked in front of the hotel. Yoikes! Not sure who is in charge of marketing, but job #1 should be to immediately tow abandoned vehicles from the property. Their lack of acton makes me wonder if they're starting to tolerate a slow slide to a dangerous parking lot. Traveling with young kids we need a sense of security.

Overall, it was a fine stay and we were treated well, but with the cons I've mentioned I'd probably opt for the Springhill Suites next door or another nearby property. I think a Hilton property is near the airport as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Clean well kept hotel, friendly staff . Beds very comfortable-rooms were spacious. We had a 2 room suite with a kitchenette. Several restaurants located nearby. Loved the mini - mart in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelseymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Of the many hotels I've stayed in for business or leisure travel, this is one of the worst because of the location. It is far from everything (7miles to a decent restaurant) and has minimal facilities in the hotel. The fitness area is good, if small. The pool is just right for kids, but not big enough to get any real exercise. The breakfast area is awful. Since you have a stove, microwave, and fridge in the room, this is not a big deal if you are staying for awhile, but a short-stay travellor will be disappointed..
The rooms are small and you can hear everything that happens in the hallway. The bed is accceptable, but no more than that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikentexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Clean 4-floor property in the econo-box mode on southeast side of city with easy road access. Friendly staff. Recommend 4th floor since it's a stick-built structure used by groups and families, meaning lots of low frequency ceiling thumps from hallways and upper rooms on ceilings of lower floors. Some aircraft and traffic noise with open windows; AC noise otherwise. Small indoor pool, fitness room, good free WiFi, printer available. Typical continental breakfast also free; restaurants nearby and groceries a 5 minute drive. The big bonus is the kitchenettes which are decently equipped with large microwave, though no oven. Five minutes to Peterson AFB and adjacent to COS airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anemonefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

TownePlace Suites is a well kept suite hotel that actually is modeled more after an extended stay type of room. It is located in an industrial area, kind of strange to see it in the middle of a bunch of warehouses just south of the airport. There is another Marriott branded hotel next door. About 2 miles north there is all the shopping and eating you could hope for. Restaurants, retail stores, grocery stores, etc. The hotel does have a mini-mart inside of it.
The rooms have all the essentials: coffee maker, microwave, stove (no oven), refrigerator, cups cooking pots and pans and utensils. There is a 4 person dining table in the room as well. Oddly, there were no cups or glasses in the bathroom. Our room had a 25" TV and internet hookup. The beds are soft and comfortable. There is no temperature control. I tried to set it to a higher, and then lower temperature, and the wall mounted temperature control each time reverted back to 72*. Take it or leave it.
The disappointment came with their "free breakfast buffet". It was your standard fat/carb/sugar loaded foods. Cereal, Danish, bagels, and some cereal bars. No juice. The machine was there, but they said that they were out of juice (on a Sunday morning?). They offered us a free juice from the minimart, but there was no orange juide in there. No proteins except milk and yogurt. The fruit was some well aged bananas and some apples.
They did have an internet in the lobby that guests could use, along with a printer.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank at_the_track
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

Trip was a combination of family visit and business. Hotel is quite new and conveniently located to shopping plaza for groceries, etc. I stayed in a well-designed and quiet studio unit on the top floor; fit, fixtures, and finish were high quality (e.g. granite tub surround and countertops). Office area within the studio was comfortable and internet connection was easy, fast ,and reliable (although there was a charge for the service I selected). Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sterlingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
9.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs Garden of the Gods
TownePlace Suites Colorado Sprin...
#38 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colora...
#58 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#8 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Spr...
#54 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
11.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs North
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colora...
#12 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
10.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs South

Property: TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs South
Address: 1530 N Newport Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80916-2744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Colorado Springs South Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing