We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy we stayed here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Happy we stayed here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Lucky enough to stay in the cottage for two nights.

First of all, this is not like a typical chain hotel/motel and after all the traveling we have done have come to appreciate something a bit different.

We were traveling with a 2 year old and really enjoyed the space and privacy of the two bedrooms. There was also a dining room, kitchen, living room and private laundry. Outside there was a private covered front porch and a less private sitting area and firepit in the back.

The back bedroom was quieter and had a bit more privacy. The front bedroom had loads of natural light with windows on 3 sides but less privacy due to a passthrough window to the kitchen.

Since this was an old home and the bathroom was probably installed at a later date so was small but did the trick for us since this wasn't a spa type trip for us. However I needed to be careful going in and out or I'd bump my head on the top door frame.

It is located on the main hwy from Old Colorado City to Manitou Springs and is a bit noisy but didn't bother us. At night is seemed to really quiet down.

There is not a 24 hour front desk so you need to make arrangements for off hours arrvial or departure.

They will not turn your room by default, you will need to request it. Makes sense to us since we are always using the do not disturb sign at other hotels.

Feel free to contact me with any specific questions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    40
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
55
73
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

The westsides best. Beautiful location, near all atractions such as Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Barr Trail and The Pikes Peak Incline. Suite has Jaccuzi, Nice hot tub, Awesome Rooms! Teller Cab is my reccomandation for a fast , cheap taxi service.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

This property is advertised as being this luxury boutique hotel with tons of amenities and low prices. Both are false. We ended up leaving before our stay was up and moved to another hotel in the Springs.

I was actually in shock when I stepped into the room. It was dark, dingy and depressing. The bed was hard as a rock with a filthy bedspread (they are clearly not washed after every guest).

There were two lights in the entire room. An overhead fan light & a teeny pin dot light at the nightstand. It was not pleasing. There were no decorations, etc., nothing on the concrete walls, no curtains to shut out the bright light in the morning.
There were 2 electrical outlets in the room, one behind the bed that was impossible to get at and 1 behind the armoire that was also impossible to get at. I had to charge my phone, etc in the bathroom with it sitting on the floor.

The first thing the owner should have done was replace the ancient windows with new soundproof ones. This hotel sits directly on Colorado Ave and it's like trying to sleep in the middle of a highway. It was so loud and distracting no wonder they give you a "sound machine" to use. Maybe they could replace the windows to block the sound instead. With the hard bed and traffic noise, there was no sleep to be had.

The website claims you get "spa quality bath amenities". The only thing you get is a bar of ivory soap. I actually laughed when I saw it.
The a/c was something ancient over the bed that never really cooled the room. It also claims cable tv. Guess what?? You get all of 18 channels. Local channels + pbs + foreign. No news, etc. Wifi knocked me off line consistently and was very slow.

Also, no deadbolts on the doors, only a single lock. It doesn't seem to be the most upstanding area of town either. There are no coffee pots or silverware (but there is a fridge and microwave) in the rooms, which forces you to go to Starbucks or Safeway to get an early morning drink. I do believe they have coffee in the office but they don't open until around 9am. By that time we have already started our day.

On that note, the office is only open limited hours during the day. You are out of luck to contact anyone if you need anything if it's not between the "bankers hours" they keep. When they did appear I personally felt the staff was condescending and watched my every move coming and going.

There is no maid service. What? For a $100/night. Really?

Their website claims "Be prepared to have your expectations surpassed". They never even met one expectation that they claimed I would have. What a colossal disappointment!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelingtheworld61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

this is a great little place, fantastic location, great view and the staff is super fantastic!! If your looking for a great deal with a down home feel, come stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mssixxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

I have stayed at the San Ayre on two occasions for a total of close to 3 months. Mike and Steve are very accommodating and knowledgeable about the area. All of the rooms are beautifully renovated and homey. I would not consider staying anywhere else when I'm in the Springs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbaker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

The cottage at Hotel San Ayre was just perfect. Beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Staff was extremely accomodating. We hope to return again and again. Thanks Steve!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

My family of 3 stayed in the Colorado Cottage for 2 nights, and we were very pleased. First impressions can be deceiving - it's a converted motel, and that's what it looks like from the outside.

But the owners obviously have a talent for decorating, and they put a lot of effort into making the Colorado Cottage a warm and welcoming place.

We got 2 bedrooms, a living room, and a kitchen for a very reasonable price. The location was also convenient for everything we wanted to do.

Other reviewers have complained about road noise, but it didn't bother us at all.

We will definitely consider staying again next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#43 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
#40 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mel-Haven Lodge
Mel-Haven Lodge
#46 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast

Property: Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast
Address: 3320 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1908
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between historic vacation and shopping districts, the Hotel San Ayre is a contemporary, boutique-inspired lodge located in the heart of Colorado Springs. Our cannabis-friendly property is outfitted with seven uniquely-styled Mountain Rooms, two Mountain Suites, and two Mountain Cottages, all surrounded by breathtaking views and within walking distance of Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon Park, and Old Colorado City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing